August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Moment Before (crash)

by jordans - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Much to my surprise I completed a game on my first LD.

Little to my surprise, I was very lazy with it. There is no sound and the art is... (insert adjective denoting low quality here).

I accidentally misposted this earlier. This is my proper entry (AFAIK).

I hope someone enjoys this, even a little bit. Scroll up to go back. Click to advance text.


With love, Jordan S.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1056Innovation2.18
#1141Fun1.88
#1150Graphics1.69
#1161Overall2.06
#1613Coolness30%

Comments

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:50pm

The game ends after I swerve left/right. Was this intentional?

Jools64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:52pm

This is a nice engine for a digital novel kinda game. The game it's self however didn't seem to have much content at all. Maybe I'm missing something but I only got to make one choice and the game ended directly after regardless of which one I picked.

None the less, a very solid engine. I'd like to see a full game build with it.

loxo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Interesting story, but sadly there is only one decision to make. So more content and more interaction would be nice.

bufbot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54pm

It's good beginning. I am curious

Lo-X says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:24pm

With some more graphisms and choices it would be great !

5outh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:06am

Great start! I like the art and the way everything moves along, haha. Would be nice if it was longer, but maybe the point was that it was just 10 seconds in the life of this guy?

doonay21 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:09am

Interesting idea. Good job!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:34am

Reminded me of Chronicles of Amber for some reason. Actually, I know why it did, because it's exactly the same story :o

SkyTheCoder says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:27am

I'm sorry, but I have to point out that I see no reason for a saving/loading feature as if you click rapidly you can complete the game in literally under ten seconds.

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:32am

surreal and engaging.

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 8:54am

I love the precarious castle. :D The game was kinda disappointing, though. I know Ren'Py does a lot of the work for you, so unless this is your first time making a video game at all, it would have nice to see more come out of this. That said, if it IS your first time coding then bravo.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]