August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Seconds-Guess

by plancien - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple game about time perception.

Can you have a perfect timing ? even while the game is messing with you ?

For now, only for desktop recent versions of Firefox / Chrome.

Technical details : all in HTML / JavaScript / CSS3
I tried to work a lot on the code structure, to experiment new ways of organizing code. Not clean yet, but almost entirely event oriented.

All musics composed and recorded on Reaper / Ableton Live

External libs used :
- underscore
- requirejs
- jquery
- howler
- impress

External asset used (those are allowed in rules) :
- google font Kranky
- google font Henny Penny

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#6Theme4.38
#7Audio4.13
#58Innovation3.89
#63Overall3.79
#90Mood3.55
#136Fun3.52
#253Graphics3.44
#268Humor2.80

Comments

greysphere says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30am

This was really fun. I ended up closing my eyes for the last couple, is that cheating? ;)

disease says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:33am

This is really amazing for something done in HTML/CSS/JavaScript.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12am

Yep, that's totally great. Brilliant idea, beautifully executed. I'm intimidated.

Hugeen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:32am

Nicely done.

Nizan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:30am

Reeaaaaalllly nicely executed. Good work. It was so... classy! And fun to boot! xD

Paraknight says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:31am

Brilliant game! I wouldn't be surprised at all if it won!

Jhelle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:34am

Nice use of the various js libraries. Didn't really enjoy the game myself but I can see it's very well made. Good job!

Nitrodeus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:37am

Wow, I really need to re-learn HTML/CSS/Javascript !

as3boyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:26am

UI is really cool! Sound is really good! It was not easy for me to get into, anyway game is very good!

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:48am

Beautiful use of transformations and style - and the concept of the game itself - fabulous. Really fabulous. I got about 3500 drift over the levels :)

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Great game, and very cleverly fitting to the theme :)

Delca says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Very unexpected, and a pleasant surprise. I do not know much JavaScript, but the end result is something great.
One question though : is it possible to score 1000 points on a test (personal best was 998-1ms too late) ?

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Thanks for the kind comments. Some replies :

@greysphere "I ended up closing my eyes for the last couple, is that cheating? ;)"

hmmmm let me see.... YES !!!! ;-)



@Jhelle "Didn't really enjoy the game myself"

Yes, same here. It's not really what we could call a fun game. I wanted to explore on perception, because one of these days I'll try to launch mini games on this theme. This first attempt here makes me see that the player is too passive. Something is missing.



@Delca "is it possible to score 1000 points on a test (personal best was 998-1ms too late) ?"

Technically yes, if you achieve 0 ms. But it will be by pure luck, because your browser does not listen on keyboard or mouse events every millisecond.

davisan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Very nice! I liked the idea and the aesthetics.

Reyn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Nice, you had the same idea as us! Looks polished, well done.

Tinard says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Fun game!

SneManden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Quite nice game. Really liked the music and very cool use of the transition effects between levels.

grayhaze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:22pm

A really good reactions game. I like how you used the music to mess with my timing.

Meep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Was nice how many little variants/levels you were able to make from the general idea/mechanic. :) Great work!

h8urf8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Awesome idea. Awesome game.

Just sometimes the level had a delay between the instructions and the go.

mobyvb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:27pm

really cool. Got 4439 as my score. I didn't think it would be as fun as it was

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Great! Like a science fiction story from the childhood. About two children which learned sequences.

Thanks!

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Fantastically excecuted, brilliant design, superb audio work.

Sure, one could argue it is not "gamey" enough, but that doesnt change the fact i am very impressed what a polished product you were able to offer. Seeing how i know absolutely nothing about HTML/CSS the smooth fadeouts and transitions are even cooler.

Great job.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:58am

Very slick, beautifully done. I'm terrible at it!

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Awesome game. I love the concept, I love the music, I love the fluidity of the scene changes. Great work.

dekart says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:56pm

I like it, pretty simple but challenging game. Visual effects are perfect too!

Sestren says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:31am

Really innovative take on the theme, and well-executed. Pretty fun for a game all about counting to ten. :)

jackyjjc says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:38am

Great idea and nice graphics!

Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:15am

Well made game, a little bit always the same but nice !

lesterpig says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:25am

Awesome for a javascript engine ! Good work ! :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:10am

What a nice game. I loved the transitions between the "levels" and the music was great. Loved how it fucked with my mind :)

urth says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Very innovative!

graytest says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:13am

This was a lot of fun!

DuFF says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:36am

High score :) Great entry. Graphics and audio are very good.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]