August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Viral Attack

by mikegbrown - Jam Entry

You play as a Virus, your goal is to attack and kill the Host Cell. You must attack the host cell for a total of 10 seconds to subdue it, but watch out white blood cells swarm during an attack. Use you repel ability to create space and make another attack.

Update: Re-uploaded web version as it was missing results screen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#77Mood(Jam)3.57
#138Innovation(Jam)3.34
#210Audio(Jam)3.06
#236Fun(Jam)3.06
#261Graphics(Jam)3.39
#298Overall(Jam)3.11
#353Theme(Jam)2.94
#440Humor(Jam)1.78

Comments

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Atmospheric and good-looking game, only the controls are frustrating. Sometimes nothing happens when I attack the red cell.

gravyhands says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:51am

Personally, I thought the controls were pretty cool. Although I had the difficulty on 1 and still got killed a fair amount. But maybe I'm just terrible.

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:53am

I like the graphics but the controls are very hard to get used to and the game is a little boring overall

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:05am

Viral Attack captures the mood and is fun to play. I enjoy this dark theme, and nice representation of your health & mana. Being able to use tactics with the stun ability is a plus! Good work :)

xrm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Good game, controls are a bit hard though

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Really enjoyed the mood of this one.

dkilford says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Cool idea, but weighed down by clunky controls. I wouldn't recommend playing this in the web version because it's easy to click outside of the window.

Beavl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:00pm

It shares some elements with Osmos. Nice use of the repelling system. We like it!

Zerot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Nice game. Had to play around with the controls a bit to get used to them, but after that it was quite a nice game to play.

xk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Took some time to take a grip on controls, but after that game is quite fun! Loved the mood and sound effects, graphics is good too.

Genista says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:35pm

it Doesn't work in my browsers mozilla or chrome I have an:
Linux 3.5.0-28-generic #48-Ubuntu SMP
i686 GNU/Linux.

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Cool concept, takes a while to find out whats going on, but then it's fun and challenging :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Yeah I got a bit of an Osmos vibe from this as well. Took me a sec to figure it out, but cool game.

mutuware says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:00pm

That 'clink' sounds metallic.
But quite moody atmosphere.

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:01pm

graphics are really nice cool mood and i liked the controls

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Took me a bit to figure out. I had fun.

Acr1m says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:28pm

First of all, thanks for checking out my game earlier :)

Nicely done. I actually like the menu. Work on menus sadly is under-rated.

I would like to see a higher res version of the menu to match the level of resolution in the actual game.

Cheers

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:02am

The web player barely fit in my window. The game has a real steep difficulty curve. Also I found that the attack command wasn't always responsive. Sometimes it got interrupted and the reason for that wasn't really clear. Rate me back! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=5288

zillix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:34am

great presentation and concept!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:12am

Very fun game. The controls are pretty good, after you get used to it.

Had to download the executable file, the game got so intense after some time that I always accidentally clicked on other tabs, or the Unity dropdown menu showed up :)

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:51am

I liked the controls actually. It just took me a second to learn them.

I enjoyed this entry thoroughly. It was pretty good.

Zathalos says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:23am

Interesting gameplay. It was kind of cool to stun the white blood cells and then ram into them to kill them. If you add some more abilities, it would be even better. Good job.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Nice little game!

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Often couldn't attack the red cell, controls seemed unresponsive. I like the movement though

whiteravens says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:50am

Could have been a great game if the controls weren't clunky. I don't know if I'm attacking or not as well. Still, one of the most innovative I played so far though.

Per says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 9:45am

Very nice game!
I like the game mechanics, graphics, music and sound.
Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]