August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Totem Wars

by PeaCe - Jam Entry

The game is about a magical war between two tribes. They use their totems to fight each other. We think the roots of "Rock, Paper, Scissors" are in this ancient competition! In every round of this war you have 10 seconds to plan and 10 seconds to fight.

-We recommend playing in multiplayer mode.
-Please give any feedback to @electricarenast on Twitter, thanks in advance.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#15Innovation(Jam)3.96
#73Graphics(Jam)4.15
#81Overall(Jam)3.60
#109Fun(Jam)3.40
#164Audio(Jam)3.21
#169Mood(Jam)3.24
#242Humor(Jam)2.61
#305Theme(Jam)3.04

Comments

BenWhi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Wow, super original idea! Is there a way to make the time pass quicker after the characters choose their totems? That's the only issue I had. Cool how you can control the outcome by jumping at the right time.

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Best game I've played so far. The most unique take on Rock Paper Scissors, great use of theme and beautiful pixel art and sounds.

Really superb.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Funny totems and dark Indians! Very pretty)

PeaCe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:27pm

@BenWhi: Thanks for playing our game. No there is no way, I'll think about to add such a thing after this jam.

PeaCe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28pm

@Borxxar: Thanks dude ; )

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Nice! Really clever twist on the original. At first I found it a little difficult to know what was going on (even after reading tutorial), and in the end I still wasn't sure what each 'item' did. But still really enjoyed it and thought the graphics were great too.

PeaCe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:25pm

@The Evil Cult, Thanks for playing, we were in a hurry and we couldn't complete the implementation of the item system. We will finish it ASAP.
Does anyone know, could we update our playable now?

iiechapman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Nice twist on the main game, was a little confused as to how it would work. It ended up feeling like a puzzle fighter game, which is neat. The art and music is wonderful!

teamenschede says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Great game. Overall it looks incredibly polished, I would never think think this was made over the course of a single weekend.

The game could use a description of the special items, it
isn't very clear what they do.

I like the switching mechanic a lot. Together with the timer and the ability to engage/disengage it adds a lot of depth. They are all clever ways to add complexity to what is otherwise a simple RPS game fun.

About balance, I think scissors is currently too powerful against the AI. Weighted abilities in RPS are generally fine, but the AI doesn't seem to understand. The general gameplay boils down to quickly figuring out who wins in combat, and attacking/evading the opponent. An AI could very easily play this game 'perfectly', so the depth is in actually seeing who wins or loses faster than the opponent. This works well with the timer and the 'scaling' complexity by adding more blocks on the totem.

Overall I like the game very much. Well done!

PeaCe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Thanks guys for feedback. : )

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Real great graphics and also a fun new take on a classic..

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:29am

Wow, I love the combination of rock-paper-scissors and fighting game. Lots of fun to play and funny graphics. I really like it!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:03am

A really cool idea. I adore the pixel art!

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:07am

Cool pixels, nice gameplay,nice animation, epic music. Like the characters :)

MidCry says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:15am

Nice job
good gameplay

check out our game please

Scythe says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:11am

Cool art and fun gameplay, like those characters, well done

saman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:39am

Fantastic game ever i`ve play

PeaCe says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:46am

Thanks guys : )

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Highly original idea, I like that. The music seems like it's taken from Zoo Tycoon? xP
Awesome game overall though.

lesterpig says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Nice audio and graphics !
But gameplay is maybe a bit too tricky.
Controls seem to be bugged in a french keybord :(

Nice work ;)

klianc09 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Really great take on Rock,Paper and Scissors

ddionisio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:47am

Awesome take on the rock-paper-scissors! You guys manage to add depth to it! Also, nice presentation. This game feels very complete! I love the art!

It took getting used to the controls, but it becomes more fun after a while.

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Interesting game. Took me a while to beat the first level due to misunderstanding part of how things worked, but otherwise it was great. Loved the graphics.

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:44am

I like what you did with cisors/rock/paper !

Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:10am

This is so much fun! Really cool concept!
What do the items do though? Would have been really nice to know.
Great job!

dook says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:15am

Original game, and awesome graphics :)

Zammy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:55am

Great game! Incredibly polished! Unbelievable for a weekends work!
Please add a way to skip the 10s timer after both players are ready.

PeaCe says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Thanks for feedback guys : )

PeaCe says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:22am

We found some time to work on Totem Wars now, so we will post a debugged version tonight, stay tuned! ;)

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:18am

A very clever little game. I wasn't sure why nothing happened in the first round, I didn't realize you had to jump your totem into theirs. Good stuff.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Great art and style! I really like the base mechanic and ideas here, however the tutorial might have made it seem a little more complex than it is. I really thing you have a great start here and can see a lot of potential in this game! Great job!

ratalaika says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Nice game, quite funny to play!!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]