August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Burger Odyssey

by Blupsy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to Burger Odyssey! It's a short and sweet game based around flipping burgers. The main mechanic can be a little spotty at times, but it's really rewarding once you start flipping in style.

W/A/S/D for moving around
Shift and Space for height control.
Q/E for side flipping, (great for sticky burgers)
LMB for flipping the burger.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#207Innovation3.50
#282Humor2.77
#797Audio2.04
#800Theme2.89
#842Fun2.57
#906Mood2.24
#947Graphics2.21
#1027Overall2.50
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:37am

Oh yes, first-person burger-flipping action :)

Tinard says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:02pm

No wonder im not a chef! Fun game on the theme!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Needs seasoning.

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:12pm

This reminds me of surgeon simulator and that's a good thing.

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Cool idea. Feels really odd how the turner can go trough the stove though

Friday says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Fun idea, but quite buggy. You got 5 stars on innovation though ;)

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:27am

I like your concept. The controls were a bit difficult, I ended up pressing space bar and it made me fly into space. Maybe you could post a demo vid. Cool stuff tho!

tylerb1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:27am

I like the concept of this game very much. If you were to add some sort of back story or something, like the name of the restaurant you're working at or something, and then be working in there would be a bit better. The biggest problem I have with the game is that you can just sort of no-clip around, and the fact that you can do that makes the game feel very cheap.

But, if I do look past that, I feel like you could use some music as well. It's a really good start to the game, though. I would love to see you keep working on it, it has lots of room for improvement.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Your windows download is missing the gamedata folder.

larb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Super funny idea. Really hard to get flips. It is rewarding when you get a good flip though.

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:27am

Hah, that was fun, but uber hard to control, i couldnt even get the positive score. Exploding burgers were cool :)

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:39am

Oh boy, my hamburger keeps exploding.
...
...
...
...
Like in real life :-(

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:04am

This game was pretty hard to play, but I liked it for what it was. Just needs more game.

blackotus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:01pm

This is pretty funny!

It really reminds me of Surgeon Simulator, which is a nice thing!

You could expand this game beyond Ludum Dare! Don't stop working on it! :)

danhett says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:22pm

I managed to flip a ton of burgers onto the floor, and got one stuck to the spatula. Awesome! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]