August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

CHRGNG PLS W8

by bonsairobo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Trapped in a room filled with zombies, your weapon may only fire every 10 seconds.

If you want to change the resolution, it's in config/window.cfg. On the 2nd line, 0 for windowed, 1 for fullscreen.

You might need this Visual C++ 2012 redist: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679

Also, this game requires an OpenGL 3.0 compatible graphics card.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#479Audio2.69
#531Humor2.26
#576Graphics2.85
#688Overall2.94
#712Mood2.52
#752Theme2.94
#752Fun2.69
#989Innovation2.31

Comments

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:07am

I get an error. "The program couldn't start because MSVCP110.dll is missing". I'm on Win7.

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:11am

You need this: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679

Radnen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:15am

Fun game, but the controls are too ambidextrous for me.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28am

Dear god those zombies are fast. Neat game.

Zelosfan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:10am

The floor graphics messed a little bit with me but overall simple and fun game :D

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:12am

Programmer art :/

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30am

Did not start under Linux Mint 15 64bit.

T1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:36am

Hello! The idea sounds nice, but i can't get the game to work. I installed the redistributable you provided, but when i run the program the following happens:
Windowed mode: the screen opens for a split second and immediately closes.
Fullscreen mode: the screen turns black and flickers a few times between the desktop and the black screen,then program closes.

Markavian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:39am

I am dead. Liked the bounce mechanic, was able to harvest lots of zombies by hovering in my bullet. Felt like 10 secs was a long time to be doing nothing while I waited for the zombies to catch up and eat me, I think that took away from the fun.

RandomM00 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:45am

Fails to start on 32 bit Windows XP: not a valid win32 application.
Ouch :(

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:47am

The only reason that would happen is if you are missing one of the resource files. On linux, I could tell you to run the game from the console to see which file you are missing, but SDL on Windows does not allow console output (to my knowledge).

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:53am

And to RandomMOO, VC++ 2012 apps won't run on Windows XP. Blame Microsoft, or me for using Visual Studio.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Having a hard time getting this to work. I keep getting the missing dll error, even after I used the link you provided to install it. :/

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Which DLL?

juaxix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:49pm

I envy you, the balance of this game make it perfect for fun :)
add a flocking technique and you'll have a crack!

ddionisio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Fun game! The most fun is when you get the bounce power-up and just raking up kills as you herd all the zombies. I like the lighting effect and nice music.

Joxno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:32pm

27,300 score ^_^, pretty neat concept, well done!

Game booted up in a borderless window in a wonky resolution, but it was playable.

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:17pm

I just re-uploaded with a default resolution of 800 x 400. I tell you how to change it in the description, but hopefully that is a better default for people who don't read it.

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:40pm

I couldnt play it. It starts but glitches everywhere :/

Vaughn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Overall a good experience. It loses steam after awhile, but was fun while it lasted. Bouncing triple shot for the win!

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:38am

I cant run the game, same problem as first comment.
If I can rate the graphics though, they are a bit dodgy, the colors are not picked very well but for compo I think its good.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:40am

I just can't help myself, wherever I see pixelart - I give 10/10))

Zombies keep coming, bullets keep falling, life keep fading)

Great job, thank you for this experience!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Can't seem to get the download to start, might have to try again later, the screenshots look good though

GNecro1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Realy cool game :D

Boodog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Nice game!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:15am

Game doesn't seem to get harder.

The 10 seconds charging is too slow. When you get the bounce weapon the game get more interesting since then you can finally do something while your weapon is charging.

Also for those who wonder you can pick up both triple and bounce and it is exactly as good as you would think.

wilbefast says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 11:53am

On Arch Linux 64 bit I'm getting an "error while loading shared libraries: libSDL2-2.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory".

"pacman -S sdl
warning: sdl-1.2.15-3 is up to date -- reinstalling"
I've worked with the unstable SDL libraries before, not too keen on installing them again :-S

Pickens Inc. says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:21pm

I don't really like installing things, but I think was pretty neat! I also quite like your programmer art (I like anything
- have you seen mine?!) :D , so well done.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]