August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pressurized

by Pickens Inc. - Jam Entry


*Updated so file size has been vastly reduced from 110 MB to 16MB*

Thanks to LightMare Studios for the help on optimization. Check out their entry!

*Updated win condition*

Sorry for the vomit-inducing graphics. I am so, so sorry. In time, I will have them replaced by my Sprite artist buddy.

A game where oxygen must be replenished while mining frantically to find the exit. Locate the end or simply play for points!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#40Fun(Jam)3.65
#253Humor(Jam)2.54
#255Audio(Jam)2.95
#256Innovation(Jam)3.05
#273Mood(Jam)2.97
#282Overall(Jam)3.14
#290Theme(Jam)3.07
#522Graphics(Jam)2.39

Comments

Sherun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:51pm

The digging is motivating to play again

Drachlen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:13pm

I love the mining / oxygen concept. I think if you add more variety to levels, more stuff to dig up, maybe even some upgrades, you could really expand this into something great.

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:07am

Very nice and fun. The controls and music are good. I survived until the sudden death.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:19am

Thank you so much to everyone who played, and thanks for the praise :D - It's great to hear I made a game that was fun, and will definitely take into account the suggestions people have made :)

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:19am

Nice little gem, too hard for me though. :)

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:26am

@Tanser
Thanks so much :D

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Very nice! and my comments are pretty much what everyone else already said so far :) No additional complaints/comments ^_^

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:52pm

@Foxtacy Thanks as well :D really appreciate it!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Very satisfying gameplay. The music was nice too. Only question is why is the .exe so freakishly big?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Played and rated, good game!

dom2d says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Surprisingly fun to blast through, probably because finding bubbles is so rewarding!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Quite fun and engaging, mining is always great.

Clodial says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:46pm

That was really really fun XD
Though, I never reached a sudden death or anything. I'm definitely going to continue playing this little game!

Fede3751 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Fun game and cool idea! :D

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Gameplay was really cool, could've used better visuals though. But otherwise, really good!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Thanks to everyone! :D You all have made my summer, letting me know I made something fun :)

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:44pm

@almightyzentaco Thanks :), I don't know why its so large. I'm going to develop it more, and give it better visuals, and I will definitely do my best to optimise it!

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Simple, fun and addictive. Good work!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:18pm

@designatius Thank you :D

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Really cool and got me playing for a while, nice!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:41pm

@Joxno Thanks :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:09am

Fun game! The main menu could be controlled with the keyboard as well, otherwise the flow (from the menu to the game... and then back to the menu) breaks in the transition.

Regarding the exe file it's definitely not normal for a game so short to be that "big". I can totally see the file size being a deal-breaker for some potential players so here's my advice; Ensure you are not compiling your project with "include debug information" (A "build for release" option/profile should be available in most dev environments) and also see if your IDE/toolchain offers the option to "strip" unneded/unused symbols when compiling. That usually removes any portion of code that your game is not ACTUALLY using (sometimes your game gets compiled together with the FULL runtime and libraries you are using even when you call a function or two from them).

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:11am

Funny and stressful game, maybe a bit too hard.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:46am

@ConflictiveLabs Thank you for your feedback, I really do appreciate it, and will look into this right now :D)

@iterative deepening heh, thank you, It is quite hard.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Maybe the graphic for bomb and air bubble should be different colors or shapes or something

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:16pm

@wally2069 Thanks for the feedback. Don't worry, when my sprite artist turns up, the game will get a complete graphical overhaul! :D

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Ha ha, fun little game! I like it, you immediately grasp the interest and it's good to run. Reminds me of Boulder Dash for some reason, although it's actually quite different. Nice entry!

BTW I'll check this page often to see if you have uploaded source. I'll take a look at why it is so big a file as you requested on the blog :)

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:38pm

@Lightmare Studio Thank you for your kind words :) I will upload the source right now, check back in about five minutes :D - and thank you! :D

jay griffin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:37am

Cool game, really enjoyed it. Regarding the file size, uncompressed audio files are usually the culprit for that sort of thing. Hope you can get it sorted out, this one deserves to have more people check it out :)

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:45am

@jay griffin :D Thanks for the praise and advice! You made The
Duellists! I really enjoyed your game :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Well yep, no mystery here! You have ~3Mb of sound effects, and 110Mb of music! 3'30" is awfully long for an uncompressed .wav. I'm pretty sure GM8 accepts MP3, so you should definitely go for it when it comes to BGMs. You can keep .wav for SFX, though.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:26pm

@Lightmare Studio Really? MP3 is better for bgm's than wav? Okay, thanks so much for your help!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Oh my God! Thanks to Lightmare Studios, the file size has reduced from 110 mb to just 16! Freaking amazing!

klianc09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:28pm

When I try to download it from the google-drive, I get a 404 Error. That's really sad, because the game seems to be fun.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Are you sure?
Ill try re-uploading.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Try again now.

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Make holes in the ground is really fun for a bit.
You can add some more stuff and make a really interesting game. :)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:44am

Cool survival concept! The music fit well with the gameplay.
Great job!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:55am

@Pickens Inc. > No problem! Yeah MP3 is a compressed format while WAV is lossless. You seldom need lossless sound, believe me :)

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:09pm

A smart little game with a nice mechanic. Maybe a little more variety would be nice but I enjoyed playing this.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:25pm

@panurge Thank you! I am planning, once I've had the graphical overhaul, to add a tonne of content :D

klianc09 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Wow, this was actually MORE fun than I expected :D
The music is really great, and I like just running around and spamming those gravity-defying bombs.
Then suddenly an alarm rang and the music changed, and I was like "WTF!" and then it rained giant drills. Really cool.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:20pm

@kilanc09 Thanks :D I am most proud of my Sudden Death :)

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:29pm

The explosions made it worth playing again :)

hbocao says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:20am

This is so addictive! I just wished I could get some power ups to increase the oxygen. Gotta love the digging. Add more power ups, more terrain and random items to find and I could spend hours playing.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:26am

@hbocao Thanks for the kind words! You are (and I am) in luck, I was planning to do just that! Just as I give this game a graphical overhaul.

Antidote says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Good game ^^ Wish it was easier to download (Please add another download link that just works xD Dropbox maybe?)

Pickens Inc. says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:38am

Wow not had a play in a very long time D:

Sep 13, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Ahh this is super fun. I really love the music too! Great stuff!

01rafael says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 2:21pm

nice game with great graphics,
but gameplay is bored

MrBlade says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Very nice work! Cute little destruction game. I don't really think the the theme was designed for building and or destruction games, but you made it work! Nice sounds, good graphics. Alright animations. 8/10

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:16pm

good work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]