August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Game of Throttles

by Moosefly - Jam Entry

This is the product of our first Ludum Dare. It seems we (I, the coder) spent too much time making all the "extras" because I couldn't finish the collision system and had to leave it out changing the game mechanics drastically.
Well, atleast enjoy the story, music and the pretty pictures!
All music in the game is "placeholder" until our main composer becomes a non-imaginary person..

If the game is too hard (might be since we had to remove collisions and everything went BOOM) here is the level code list https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/122189724/LEVEL%20CODES.txt

Download link fixed!

The link has now been replaced by the post jam version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#45Humor(Jam)3.69
#103Audio(Jam)3.45
#144Mood(Jam)3.32
#155Fun(Jam)3.27
#183Overall(Jam)3.36
#226Theme(Jam)3.24
#234Graphics(Jam)3.49
#280Innovation(Jam)3.00

Comments

Fireblend says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:11am

Loved the intro and narration! Unfortunately, my car deccelerated pretty often and I couldn't for the life of me figure out why it was happening =/ ended up being last in the first race.

anmorales says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:13am

I loved the intro, nice work!!

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:52am

The intro was so hil... hilar... hm, very funny!

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:54am

Nicely done! You guys did well for the first LD :) A Lot better than i did on my first that is :D

Mekuri says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:54am

Very funny intro. I really liked how the music accompanied the various styles of the different locations. The idea of having to come in 2nd was quite nice as well. The game itself was not very fun though. If you had to stand a chance of keeping up with the other cars, you need to go full speed (most of the time anyways), which gives you next to no chance to dodge the oil and jelly patches on the ground. I liked the detail of the backgrounds, especially the desert, some nice... intergalactic details ;-)
All in all I liked the style, but the gameplay not so much.

Jools64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:59am

This is a really cool looking and sounding game but I found it very difficult to dodge anything considering the small area that is on screen in front of the car.
I did really love the car customization though, my banana car with pokeball wheels looked excellent!

Good job guys.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Thanks for the comments guys! If you can't stomach the gameplay atleast check the outro using the code "THERECANBEONLY1", that way you'll get the full story!

It's really a shame I couldn't make the game play how I wanted and had to change the gameplay in the last hour. It was still a GREAT learning experience and we're looking forward to our next LD!

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38pm

The art style is absolutely fantastic.

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:36pm

I liked the car design, but i found it extremely difficult because I couldn't react in time to move out of the way of the raspberry jam, and I thought the car hitbox was slightly too big also, but just minor things, It was a good submission ;)

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:52pm

I like it. Nice job for a first time in LD :)

TobiasW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:26pm

The intro... oh god, wow, it's hilarious. Narration- and plotwise, mind you. I LOVE the reason why I want to get in second. And the vehicle customization is a pretty nice touch. As are the moose, haha.

I love the graphics!

The placeholder music is hilarious. Please leave it in! :D

I am not too content with the gameplay. It never seem to be in the right lane, and I see those raspberry jam spots too late to evade them.

The ten-second timer seems pretty meaningless. Why does it matter; I have to come in second above all, don't I?

Why doesn't a race end when I can't place second anymore? I don't want to finish it if it I have no chance of winning.

The gameplay isn't too hot, but everything else about the game is extremly funny, and so I still enjoyed it a lot! Good job there! And congratulations on your first LD entry!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Not in here Mister, this is a Mercedes...

I love everything about this aside from playing it (and I know that you know why that is). The engine sound is great, the cars are great, the dumb names are great, the story is great, the VOs are great, it's just great.

Not fun to play.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:07am

nice one, really amazing how many backgrounds you've made. splotches on the road suck though. it's not clear enough where they end and when you drive over them it feels like crap.

Sanguine says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:16am

The intro was very cool. The collision could be worked on though.

dylanigan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:49pm

I get a 404 Not Found when i click on the link.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Download link fixed! Sorry about that ;_;

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Gotta love the idea, and the nice use of the theme. Nice humor also. It's pretty damn impossible to avoid the red things on the road at that speed so it was a bit frustrating, but it was very original that you had to finish 2nd to "win". Nice job.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:32pm

I love this childish graphics..

crueltear says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:59pm

50 megs in 3 days, pretty impressive d;
Steering seems to lag sometimes. Graphics look fine - it's nothing great, but doesn't make your eyes bleed.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 22, 2013 @ 9:25pm

A late thank you to everyone who played our game. Now we'll definitely have to participate in the next LD too!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]