August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Prelude of the Vorpal Blade

by oxysoft - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my entry for Ludum Dare. The engine is pretty much completed but the game itself is far from complete :(

Volume of sounds are a little weird because I put everything audio related during the last 20 or so minutes of the marathon.

I recommend you read the rest of this description so you know wtf is going on and how it's supposed to work.



- Story -
You play as the hero Clarence who has fell in this giant vicious volcano. Clarence's Vorpal blade, which name's Ginger, get stuck in the vicious volcano from the fall.

Ginger is a self aware Sword, but it requires souls to operate. The fall has took all of the souls it had stored. It's wedged so hard in stone that only it could pull itself out of the crack.

Weaponless, Clarence dances his way through enemies to amasse souls for Ginger.

The weapon now has enough souls.

(Screen fades to black)

"One two! One two! And through! And through!" says Clarence and Ginger together.

The Vorpal sword goes snicker-snack

Ginger: "I is free!"



- How it would be supposed to work -

* Every 10 seconds, mobs come swarming at you from cool dark floating vortex things in the sky. (No sprite made, didn't have time)

* Altairs that are near by these vortexes will throw stat orbs that will boost the stats of our hero Clarence when picked up

* The Blade has a soul meter. When monsters die, their souls are sent to Ginger in a very nice interpolated manner, thanks to my great easing library

* The player must stay alive until Ginger is back to free


- Controls -

Arrow keys: Move around in the world
X key: Dance attack / Mental retardation attack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#224Graphics3.51
#309Audio2.97
#503Humor2.30
#662Mood2.59
#997Theme2.58
#1030Innovation2.22
#1096Fun2.06
#1097Overall2.36

Comments

Reevezy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:20am

Love it, I'll have to look at the source code later.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:22am

This looks like a solid engine. You should definitely keep deving on this. The game you described sounds fun. Nice work for 48 hours!

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:44pm

awesome visuals and mood!

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Lovely graphics! Hope you get to develop it further.

olafurw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:51am

Like the art style, a lot more can be done with this!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:13am

Gorgeous pixel art. :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:17am

Really like the graphics and music. You should definitely keep working on this and make a post-compo version!

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:20am

Wasn't much to do. The art and sound fx were good.

ix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:24am

Fails to start for me on Windows 8, 64-bit.

shohs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:47am

I couldn't get it to run on my computer, which is too bad because it looks interesting

shohs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:45am

I'm also running Windows 8 (sorry for the double post)

Generalgore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:33am

good art, definitely make a post-compo. good job. :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:02am

Points in humor for mental retardation attack :]
Too bad you didn't finish it in time.. For a post compo version, what if instead of fighting for the sword to come out, you actually use the oversized sword to fight enemies?
The moment I started the game and saw the sword, I imagined I could do something it.
Kind of like Chekhov's Gun. If something appears, it better be useable at some point!

anjack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Definitely a very good game engine! I hope you make this into a full game.

myachin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:29pm

the game didn't start on my win7(

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:53pm

@myachin Did you read the troubleshoot txt I included? It's most likely one of the two issues listed there. I don't know how to compile my monogame projects for other OSes unfortunately. If someone could send me a message explaining how I would be grateful. (I find nothing about it on google for some reasons)

MvdLaar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:17pm

An overall good start, but there's a lot missing. I liked the graphical style of the character, although it's all a bit standard.

Watch out with the camera smoothing you applied; when moving fast in the vertical direction, the camera offset might become too big.

Great effort!

hbocao says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:21am

I didn't see any mobs. Only the orbs. Is that it? I kept running like crazy to CATCH THEM ALL! haha Too bad you didn't finished :(

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:39am

The pixel art is very nice, as is the music. A shame the game isn't complete.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:20am

Would deifnitely like to see where you go with this one. That's a great start you've made there.

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:22am

Nice graphics :)

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:07am

I assume you didn't include the monster mob mechanics because the monster sprites weren't made. I collected all those orbs like crazy, and then realized the monsters were never going to come. It'd be cool if you could mention that in the description as well.

Good game engine overall. :)

oxysoft says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Haha yeah the monsters aren't really implemented.

Delca says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:16pm

This sounds like it could become a nice game with more time. Continue the good work!

D-e-X says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:35pm

This doesn't run for me, Win8 64bit. :(

lucc1111 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:31pm

hope you finish it!! i love the graphics!

X-0r says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 8:49am

Running perfectly on Win7 x64. Not much to do here, but yeah, it's an engine ^_^
Probably should have gone for a jam entry, maybe?
Watched your timelapse, and I must say, your pixel art is mint! Didn't see any DAW or other means to create sound though :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]