August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Seconds

by motty - Jam Entry

It's not great, but it's a game, I made it, and I'm very grateful for Ludum Dare for giving me the impetus to do so. Next one will be better. I promise. See you in a few months.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#183Theme(Jam)3.35
#188Humor(Jam)2.82
#196Innovation(Jam)3.20
#456Fun(Jam)2.49
#460Audio(Jam)2.05
#527Mood(Jam)2.09
#559Overall(Jam)2.47
#601Graphics(Jam)1.67

Comments

RandomM00 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:39am

What?
I have no idea what to do, pressing keys has no effect after the game starts!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:43am

Good god, my brain does not work that fast! Good (if not wicked ;p)entry. Looking forward to seeing you at the next LD.

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:43am

Dont you understand?! Its a "10 second" game! Hehe, get it? "10 second"

adekto says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:47am

im stuck at 6 not sure how to do that, or is it the end of the game?

motty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:09pm

RandomM00 - pressing keys after the game starts should have an effect, but you have to be quick. You've got about a second to figure it out.

adekto - '6' isn't the end of the game, it's just when the game starts taking the gloves off a bit.

rustybroomhandle - cheers, and likewise :)

adekto says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:16pm

had to look true code since 6 dint make sense, probably since i never use kiss in the first place, 3 makes no sense ether and the ones you commented where actually pretty good

cwkx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:51pm

A little cryptic after 6 (I admit looking at the source to finish the last two!)

Gremlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:27am

That's hard. And confusing. But it's definitely a game.

Spotline says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:59am

Very hard, but brilliant ideas there :)

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Nice use of the theme, very difficult though.

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Errrrr, don't get it, just a countdown after pressing a key for 10 and 9?

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Took me a while to figure this one out, but turned out to be somewhat interesting. Very basic idea but tricky. Cool stuff.

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Very original I must say, at least among the slew of 10-seconds-to-finish-level platformers xD

Found it very hard, but pretty cool at the same time, good job!

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Fun game. Took me a while to conquer.

BUT CONQUER I DID. And how dare you suggest that I used Google to figure out the last clue?!?

One of my favorites so far for sure. It's like my fingers were doing a panicky little dance on the keyboard.

Starspell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Like everybody else I was really confused at first. And I also had to look at the source code *shame* to get an idea of it. Clever little clues in the hints. Very cute little game.

Beerman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:01pm

That's just plain evil. Yeah, I cheated, very clever puzzles :)

timujin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Hehe. Clever.

GarethIW says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:17am

Got stuck at 4! Neat idea :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:11pm

So hard Oo But very fun and clever use of the theme! Well done!

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Ooo very tricky! Had fun trying to figure it out, eventually had to check the source :) Cool to see a fellow mefi on here (saw the metatalk post (im meta87 on there)) Hope you do more ludums!

Meedoc says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:40am

I love the sadistic idea but some input seems to be a bit buggy :\ couldn't press zero twice in a row as the game ask for instance :\

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:51am

Lol, very hard game, had to check the source when "Give a kiss" came

motty says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Meedoc, the game may well have unsquashed bugs I haven't found yet but without being too spoilery I can assure you that the matter you mention is absolutely 100% definitely not a bug. You certainly can press zero twice in a row, if you like, but the way that is handled - as you describe it - results in entirely intended behaviour ;)

MrBlade says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Hm? This game is okay, seems a bit bland. Nice sound effects!

Darthone says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:44am

I didn't really understand this game until I looked at the source, but after reading I played through it and I liked it!

urth says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:40am

I thought 3 was S not the large key at the bottom of the keyboard.

Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:52pm

I never would have figured this out without looking at the source code, and most people will probably not give it a chance but for those who figured it out I bet it was very satisfying, like solving a riddle. Really cool idea.

Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:48am

Hahaha awesome, it's very simple but very effective use of the theme and cleverly challenging.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:28am

redefines the gaming genre

MrBlade says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:40am

I wanted to say sorry, you wrote such a nice and long review of my game and I pretty much gave you rubbish. Sorry Motty.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]