August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Glitch

by Sam Oates Games - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Glitch is a 2d platform game.
The idea is to escape from under the regime of the 'Master System'.
The player can heed their escape by 'Glitching' the system, revealing different parts of their environment.
However, glitches can only last so long as the Master System will patch the glitch within 10 seconds.

Entering portals allows the player to switch to a different component withing the Master System.
Be wary of water and fire, they are not your friends.

-- Controls --

A - Move Left
D - Move Right
W - Jump
S - Glitch (You must jump first)

::Xbox controller is also supported in game, but can not be used to navigate the menu system.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#254Humor2.84
#316Innovation3.31
#436Audio2.75
#465Mood2.84
#641Graphics2.75
#732Overall2.89
#800Theme2.89
#858Fun2.55
#1129Coolness49%

Comments

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:43am

I liked the glitchy effect but the character seemed to get stuck to the walls a lot. But still I like the concept and all the hidden easter eggs. lol

ben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:17am

Really neat concept. I found the controls were really difficult to use well though.

pyromatical says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:50am

I like the glitch effect but the controls make it quite difficult to maneuver through the map. Good work tho ;)

Metal Axe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:53am

I like the concept and the death screen! Controls are quite hard to use. Once you build up too much momentum it's either going to result in death, or hitting a wall. I enjoyed it though. Although part of me wishes the high score was actually in hex. :)

Malor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:55am

Great idea, but realy prevents stucking in the walls.

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:37am

I don't think the controls could have been worse. It took me several minutes to get past the first level, and I didn't have the patience to finish the second.

That said, it was a neat idea.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:00am

Controls and collisions are not really good, I got stuck with walls all the time and the control would try to jump many times after I already stoped pushing buttons.

Like the glitch effect

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:03am

Great idea! But controls are too tough!

siat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05am

Interesting mechanic. Jumping controls a bit finicky.

gravyhands says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:00am

That jump sound was fantastic. haha

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:59am

Spongy controls, dude gets stuck against the wall a lot. However, cool idea!

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:29am

The idea is good, but controls are just unbearable. And graphics are a little bit dull.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:57am

Looks like you were rooting for a different theme XD
Nice work, though as others have mentioned, controls are a bit difficult to get the hang of.

jammy12789 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:55am

Good game but I found it a little hard to "Glitch" at first!

gre says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:25am

I bet you wanted "Glitch" to be the theme :-) Nice take on the 10 seconds anyway :)
the player was a bit hard to control (especially jump & the slide effect)

Sounds was fun :)

Just Tom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:17pm

For all the jokes about programmer art, the graphic style lends itself really well here (particularly in the glitching effect). The Glitch theme permeates the game well.

That being said, the only criticism I hold against this are the controls, which could stand to be tighter, and the lives system, which I would leave up to you to decide the best course. Going back to the first level in a puzzler feels counter-intuitive, but I appreciate the tension lives build. Perhaps a more forgiving death system?

None the less, the mood is well set and glitching is cool. Hazards are apparent and challenge is interesting. By far though, the themeing is the coolest part of this game. Having the score display as a pointer address, having bits of menu glitch out, very cool.

Hoytman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:21pm

great idea, but the execution could be better. Getting out of the first area is far too confusing to hold my interest.

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Its original, i like it!

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20pm

I really like the idea and the glith effect! Nice work

NuSan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Cool idea, i like that the glitching modify the level design. Controls are a bit difficult, but i managed to go to the end ^^. The glitch special effect is a bit killing to my eyes with all my sleepeness ...

tinfoilboy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Very nice game, the glitch mechanic was really cool as well as the bsod effect(hl3.exe has stopped working). The ambiance sounds were cool, one thing I don't like though is that the character slides so jumping is difficult. Overall really good.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Nice idea, the execution however needs some work. As most people have stated, I get stuck in the walls loads, and find that the controls are a bit difficult. It also took me a while to figure out how to go through the portal (or that it was a portal to the next level)

tamirespp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Nice try, but the controls do not feel right (I got stuck in between walls all the time and it was annoying), I like how you got the visual art to be a joke about programmer art, so that was nice. Again, you used the 10 seconds as a timer, which imo is very obvious, you couldve done that part better

Zelun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:55pm

The concept is good and the death screen is funny. HL3CONFIRMED

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Nice idea with the glitch effect, nice grafix, but found it a bit difficult to navigate the character...

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:44pm

cntrols seems to be a little to sensitive. But I like the concept and the idea of the glitches ^^

Erkberg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Nice game, cool idea, but getting this guy to jump the way I want him to is a pain.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Hello! I am making a sort of compilation of all the games I can. Your game is featured in this video! http://youtu.be/jImRVKjejj4

Hitonagashi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Neat idea, but I did get stuck to the walls a lot :)

sebb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:23pm

I really like the idea, movement is very glitchy', intentionally i believe, but also a bit annoying at times :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Had trouble getting past the first area as you can only glitch mid air. Once I got the hang of it though this game is pretty fun!

xrm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:35am

The concept is good. Nich glitch effect.
Trying to jump standing besides a wall doesnt work
I feel frustrated by character's inertia.
And it would be nice to have a way to restart the game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]