August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds To Live

by eskivor - Jam Entry

Hello everyone, I'm eskivor, from France.

Originally, 10 Seconds To Live was a comtemplative "game" about how life can be short (1 life = 10 seconds) and how the player has to interact with other people to make children to continue to live through the next generation. Finally, some features have been killed (specially other people in this world).

You can see here how is the result.
I hope you'll have fun and like it ! :)

Controls : Arrow Keys to Move, and if you can't move, don't panic, just left click on the game screen first.

Music : Chopin - Nocturne #1

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#97Theme(Jam)3.53
#221Audio(Jam)3.03
#335Graphics(Jam)3.10
#337Mood(Jam)2.79
#376Humor(Jam)2.08
#412Innovation(Jam)2.67
#587Overall(Jam)2.27
#601Fun(Jam)1.70

Comments

nikkesen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:57am

Good concept but not much point.

skullbonejp says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:00am

I liked the idea, art and audio. I just needed an objective to make this a good game. Now it is a good something xD

nicotr014 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:06am

I don't think there's much to do other than die, right? Either way, I like the overall "flow"... It's very much like "rogue legacy"which is cool. I think its cool when death is an inevitable part of a game.

Blupsy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:12am

I love me some experimental games, great job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:42am

really cool concept -- but not much else there -- gret job on the graphics -- i loved the transition

roaet says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:42am

I really like the concept and the way the people age. Needs an objective.

Pitzik4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:44am

The idea and the visuals are nice, but in the end it seems like all there is to do is walk around and die. This seems like a good candidate for further work, though.

LittleThor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:23am

Good idea but need an objective or a more philosophical thing to do than walking.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:03pm

I quite like the contemplative side of it.

pereubu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:39pm

like the "transition-between-ages" idea :3

MisterDerek2 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Cool idea. Rogue Legacy meets an experimental art project. Would like to have seen some sort of interaction that made the death more significant. Kinda depressing, but funny.

Photon says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Some of the graphics look nice and the music is good... but of course, it doesn't mean that much without an objective.

Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:19am

As others have said it just needs an objective, once you have that it could be a very good game.

wademcgillis says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 1:34pm

The goal is to see how many gravestones are created before the player quits, right?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]