August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Angry Guards

by Diptoman - Jam Entry

The aim in the game is to coordinate a prison break by controlling characters for 10 seconds each.

Every level consists of 3 stages:
>Selecting phase: Click on characters in the order in which you wish to control them. You can control 4 characters max.
>Character control phase: You have 10 seconds with each character you've selected to do stuff. Use the arrow keys to move around, and Ctrl to interact with objects. All other characters will be in a dazed state at this point, so they won't react to your actions.
>Final control phase: All characters will become aware and act accordingly (Eg. If a guard sees a prisoner free, they will fight and knock each other out). There is no time limit in this phase, and you're free to move our hero to the exit.

Apologies for the rushed up instructions, did not have enough time to create a proper tutorial, with college and all.

All assets were made in these 72 hours. The team behind this consists of myself (programming/lead), Pranjal Bisht (art), Rahul Salim Narayanan (art), Bikramaditya Ghosh Dastidar (audio), Vivek Kurup (design), Tejaswini Joglekar (design).

Any and all feedback is welcome! And oh, all the best with your entries guys!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#53Innovation(Jam)3.70
#132Overall(Jam)3.47
#150Audio(Jam)3.26
#183Theme(Jam)3.35
#193Graphics(Jam)3.63
#197Fun(Jam)3.15
#219Humor(Jam)2.72
#228Mood(Jam)3.10

Comments

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:54am

Great concept, nice art style! Pretty fun, but it threw up this error while playing:

ERROR in
action number 2
of Step Event
for object obj_prisoner:

Error in code at line 2:
if obj_main.active=0
^
at position 14: Unknown variable active

Ah Game Maker! If you could try my game two I'd be very appeeciative :)

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Thanks a lot! Will definitely check out your game.

And oh, updated the file with the crash fix.

syner_d says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:31pm

great art! =)

immanuela says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Great game, love the idea!

zanzindorf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:25pm

I'm stuck in the first room. I'm pressing ctrl on everything but nothing seems to be interactive. I can't go through any of the doors, and I can't walk off the edges of the screen. I don't know what to do.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Thanks everyone!

(Spoiler)
@zanzindorf: The objects that can be interacted with are highlighted when you get near them. You have to use the guard to open the door below, and then commit suicide so he doesn't raise an alarm. Then climb down with the main character and go through the door.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:31pm

looks fun and the music is good!

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Amazing art style!

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Wow! fantastic game, really enjoyed those puzzles! You say that all of the art and assets were made in the given time? I take it that doesn't include code then? Still really impressive and I thoroughly enjoyed it, definitely take it further! I also thought the prisoners and guards fighting was hilarious :P

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Thank you!

@Ciaran54
Yeah we made it all during the jam. Power in numbers haha!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:57pm

@Ciaran54
I'm glad you enjoyed the game. Yeah we had a lot of jokes about the fighting animation. :P
Thanks for playing

(Sorry for the double post)

meszka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Very nice concept, the controlling of other characters reminded me a bit of Abe's Oddysee. I didn't read the text about the picklock prisoners properly and didn't figure out what they do, but I managed to beat the game anyway :P The overall mood is very nice and I liked the ending :)

gmaker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:11pm

nice art!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Fun but complex and a bit confusing. Love the cutscene style

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Definitely needed a proper tutorial

X-0r says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Awesome game! I totally like the innovation on that one =)
I'm not sure, how this mind-control thing is working, but wielding this power is just awesome. *another guard jumps down the ledge* Mwahahaha!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:26am

Thanks everyone!

@Mezka: I'm glad you enjoyed the game. I haven't heard of Abe's Odyssey. I'll surely check it out! :)

@wally2069: Yeah, I apologize for that. Unfortunately, we didn't have time to put up an elaborate tutorial. But if it helps, there are instructions here, in the description as well as in the game. Hope it helps!

@X-Or: Haha yeah! Throwing them off the ledge is a fun thing to do! >:)

Avichal says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:35am

Great concept ! very nice art and music ! :D

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:18am

Great music, fun mechanics!

AlvaroH says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:40am

Well done!!

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:38am

Good work. It was difficult to figure out what to do, but it's a nice game overall.

NiallM says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:48am

This is a really nice idea. It makes for really interesting puzzles with multiple solutions too, which is cool.

truiton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:00am

Hey! If you continue to develop this game, I will love to see it. Great retro feel and nice music, the gameplay is very fun :)
(I'm stuck with a bug in level 3 when I descend the ladder, I can't move right or left.)

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:27am

Thanks folks!

@truiton: We may in the future (we have other different ongoing projects atm, including another WIP from a previous jam :S ). And I didn't come across any such bug (tried just now), so it may have just been you running out of time with that particular character and losing control of him?

@NiallM: Most of the multiple solutions here weren't intended tbh (like you don't need to use a lockpicker at all). That's what you get for pretty much no time to playtest. XD

@Ciaran54: We didn't use any existing code, if that's what you meant. :S

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:39am

good music, good concept, i like graphics. good job!!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:03am

Best game I've played yet. Good job.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:13pm

It was kinda easy to finish but visually very appealing. On strange thing although: Why do guards raise the alarm when they see you, but fight to the death with other prisoners?

And sometimes I had a bug where I got stuck at the bottom of the ladder and couldn't move left and right anymore.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Wow the graphic are very nice ! I love the gameplay ! I didnt got any error while playing. A little bit easy but this game have potential !

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Thanks guys!

@klianc09: Because it won't matter if they fight to death with you, 'cuz if you die that's pointless anyway? xD Idk, we were short on time and this was all that we could think up!

Also, I've never personally encountered that bug, but a friend of mine did, and he says you can fix it by climbing up and then down again. I'll try to fix it post-Jam.

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:30pm

It's like my game :D Good.

kannas says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Beautiful game. the problem is that the controls aren't quite comfortable, and the tutorial lacks of clearance. i think that fixing that should be a high priority task . neverthless, great job ;)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:26pm

good job

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:43pm

GREAT puzzle game. I got a bit lost at first, but when I got hang of it, my mind blew.

Very creative use of the theme.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Appreciate the comments guys.

@kannas: I don't think adding a proper tutorial now is allowed as per the rules. That's clearly adding new features, I think.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:27pm

I love the art and sprites, there's a nice charm to it. It gives that 90's vibe as well. Music is great, it definitely got me in the mood.

Really good concept, I enjoyed playing it...once I understood what I was suppose to do. Would be nice to be able to reselect the order during select phase or go back to a previous phase.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:39am

Great job! very fun and good level design =]

jay griffin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:59am

This is great stuff. An interesting mechanic executed with a lot of skill and polish. It takes a little while to get your head around the basic rules and controls of the game, but it's worth the effort for sure. nicely done!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:41am

This game is interesting, and a bit hard. I did really like the concept!! I featured it in my video compilation of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/J-5j5_FYNQI

Diptoman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Thanks fellas!
It's great that you're creating videos of the jam entries @Jupiter, great initiative! :)

It really seems like we needed to make some proper tutorial for this though. XD If only I had a few more hours. >_<

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Hmm, the concept is very cool but the game still needs some more development, the levels are too simple and easy but the concept sure has potential.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Great game loved the puzzle idea and the graphics one thing though before the screen black our after being seen you can still go through the door to the next level but other than that no problems. :)

dook says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Great fun! It shows a lot of promise and could definitely be expanded to a much longer puzzle game :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Quite fun game, and very original way of taking the theme. Also sweet pixel art and decent music.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:13am

This is one of the most innovative games I've seen this Ludum!
An imprisoned mind-controlling super genius anti-hero is about the coolest concept to wrap a game around, and the graphics and music just hammers in the nail for me.
Awesome job!

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:13am

Great concept! I couldn't get very far in it though. Not sure what I was supposed to do on the first screen...I guess I should try again later.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:47am

Hm, what I could tell you? It's... amazing work. The game is very solid, has addictive gameplay and pleasant for the ear music. I think that some of the elements were very complex to implement and you spent a lot of time with coding it :) I really like this game and I admire your work! :) High five!
BTW If you still want play in my game I added resizable window launcher to my zip pack, so you can try it ;)

Diptoman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Thanks guys!

@Zer0Kelvin: You have to use the guard to open the door below, and then commit suicide so he doesn't raise an alarm. Then climb down with the main character and go through the door.

@MuciojadPL: Heh, thanks a lot! And sure, I'll check it out!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Good, but I didn't really get it... When that happens, the game is not fool proof... because i'm a fool, get it ?!?
Hah, anyway, the rest was cool, good entry! :)

BenWhi says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:19am

Clever and well-executed game! 5 for innovation!

GigaBass says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:01am

Very well executed game... good puzzling. Good graphics. Very fitting music. It's a top.

manofdoom says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:16am

Really enjoyed this, great puzzle concept and super fun planning that prison break.

Delca says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:39pm

An excellent puzzle platformer, the game mechanic is working very well. Even if more levels would be welcome, the game was nicely polished, and both the audio and graphics are good. Good job!

ZYXer says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:57am

Great puzzle game. Music and art create a nice atmosphere. Love it!

Almax27 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Nice idea, bit confusing at the beginning but enjoyable once you understand the mechanics :)

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:13pm

your comment on gamejolt really helped me with the first level, and from that one on it was a blast. great game: clever, fantastic music and mood, good graphics and balanced difficulty curve.

Mlle Eole says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:16am

Well... I'm a little bit sad to have to sacrifice and kill everybody for my escape. So i wonder, is it possible to finish the whole game without killing anybody ? :)

But still, it's a nice game, nice idea, nice puzzles. :)

Diptoman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:24am

Thanks all! :D

@Mlle Eole: The guards and prisoners just knock each other out, you don't have to consider that killing. XD
Other than that, yes it IS possible to complete without directly making any guard commit suicide, would require patience and luck as well. :P

Mlle Eole says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Oh yeah, from *this* point of view.. That's okay. :D

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Innovative idea.. and the graphics looks a bit like Commodore 64

crueltear says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Nice logic game. Apparently, if you jump before climbing a ladder you get stuck in floor.

Gear says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:06pm

The ending made me laugh.

mollymus says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Very neat concept! I wish the tutorial text was a bit more friendly to my eyes, but I quickly forgot about that once I got to play the game! Great job!

jprogman says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:17am

It took some time to get the idea of the game with a lot of text to read. Very good work! Love the music!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Interesting puzzle mechanic!

blackotus says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:59pm

The concept is very neat, the puzzles and level design are well done and well thoughout, too!

Very nice entry and puzzle game! Keep working on it, it can grow beyond Ludum Dare :)

Mironix says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:19pm

splendid game, x-com prison :)

Boneloaf says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:12pm

We like the concept, it reminded us of the mind control in Abe's Odyssey. We tried numerous times but couldn't interact with the environment with the ctrl key or any of the other modifier keys.

Diptoman says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Thank you everyone! :D

@Boneloaf: The game shows which things you can interact with when you're near them, I can't really say why it didn't work for you since it worked fine with others. @_@

@Gear: That was the point. :P

Optimus6128 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:36pm

I liked the music.
This seemed interesting at first but I still don't get the concept. I have a single prisoner and don't know if I should spawn others, no key seems to work, ctrl doesn't open door, etc.

Diptoman says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 6:45am

You needed to select (click) and use the guard first. :S

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]