August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Five By Five

by cy4n - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare Entry! Get through all 30 5x5 mazes (in random order) in 10 seconds! Time carries over, but each floor you clear you get some extra time. It's not as easy as it sounds; in fact, it's pretty hard! ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#277Graphics3.37
#440Theme3.29
#459Overall3.15
#559Mood2.72
#587Innovation2.91
#674Audio2.32
#708Fun2.74
#857Humor1.73

Comments

lcass says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49am

cool graphics!

Waave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54am

Fun

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55am

The tile/art style makes it very difficult to tell what's going on sometimes. I guess that's on purpose maybe. Pretty cool game though!

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56am

Awesome game! Super difficult >.< and frustrating, but addicting to keep at it lol.

Croze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56am

Although the graphics looked nice at first, the walls are awkwardly layed out, it's hard to know where you are going, but overall the game was good

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57am

The idea is fun and the graphics look cool though most of the time I feel like I'm just spamming random directions. Then again I may just be bad at mazes since I have no clue how you are supposed to finish all thirty floors. I got through six at the most. Its fun though.

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:59am

Nice graphics, I like the knight. It was very hard. I think my record was 4 floors.

Armix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:00am

I liked the art style, even though its intention is to make it difficult to understand what is going on. Nice game nonetheless, felt kinda balanced.

Meep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:07am

Fun little game that fits the theme. The lack of visibility made it really difficult, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. :P Good work!

cy4n says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:10am

Tried to make the distinction between the walls and floor more obvious. Didn't try hard enough I guess DX

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:39am

Loved the graphics, I found this very challenging though, which for me is both frustrating and motivating at the same time. Very nifty little game.

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:40am

Pretty good game! Nice graphics :D

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:41am

Holy sheet of paper was that difficult. The graphical style I didn't dig, cause it made it hard to see what was going on. Anyway, fun for a while then really frustrating.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:00am

Difficult but very fun game

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Pretty clever little game, but it was insane trying to do some of those levels in 10 seconds.

coeoliver says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30pm

I can sit here all day...LOVE IT

EmptyFlash says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:01am

Pretty neat game. Couldn't always tell what was going on, but I enjoyed the moments that I could!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:25am

Nice game, my arm started to hurt a bit by the end. You should be able to hold buttons to make it less stressful. Like the game overall.

Ossi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:25am

Tough game! Having the limited vision really added to the challenge but like some other people said the tiles could be a bit more clear. I found myself getting confused on where I could walk. Well done!

mklee says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:31am

As other people have said, the walls are very difficult to make out against the floors in the maze. I thought the presentation is really interesting, but only being able to see 2 squares max might be a tad too limiting. I have to say there are some really interesting design decisions here and with a little more polish this could be really cool.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:34am

Reminds me of Legend of Yore and the rogue likes

Quite a good first entry! KEep up the good work!

cy4n says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Made some small changes. I found out that the times goes faster on other computers compared to mine, so I tweaked it a bit. Should be a lot easier to play depending on your computer. ;)

dook says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:00am

Great game. And tough! I couldn't get very far :/

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:09am

That would have been so much better with any animation. It was extremely disorienting, which would have been ok were it not for the time limit. I wanted to like it, but it was just too confusing.

foumart says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:14am

Ouch, there are traps too! Will need more effort to save her :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]