August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


Back to Browse Entries

10 seconds to Disaster

by Senevri - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Every ten seconds, a portal opens. From open portals come wandering monsters.

You can shoot fire and do spinny-magic-thingies.

It's playable, and there's a lose condition. You can consider access to the red portal to be the win, but I didn't have time to implement the boss battle.

Needs optimization, and there's some leakiness there, and I didn't have time to implement the snazzy graphics I wanted. Most of the time was spent writing the engine in XNA/Monogame.

May require XNA redistributable, I'm not sure.
Uses one library - tiled-xna to read Tiled map files. Rest is just xna monogame.

Surprisingly fun, although too easy right now. I've beaten the game a couple of times - only red and black monsters are dangerous.

*edit* Since people are having trouble, I'll try to compile a pure XNA (no monogame) version of this. Will take a long while, since my standard XNA seems broken somehow....

The Linux version might work on windows, too, but it has been succesfully compiled and run on a debian-based distro.

Windows postcompo version has been updated to be near what my original goals were.

XNA if needed:
.NET if needed:

Downloads and Links




lcass says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:12am


jprogman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19am

I'm having problems running the game. When I try to open it, I get a message saying it stopped working. I got XNA Distributable installed, do I need something else too?

My computer: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

Senevri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26am

Shouldn't need anything else. the 5 DLLs are in the zip, and it runs fine in and out of avast sandbox on my 64bit windows 7 machine.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:33am

I think some bad guys got lost behind the wall.
controls and balance could use a little work. speed is fast but firing is meh.

I liked the handdrawn style for graphics

andreyin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:36am

Couldn't get it to work, it closes instantly when I try to open it. I'm on Win 8 x64 and I have XNA 4.0 installed.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:38am

I was confused about what I was supposed to do. The graphics are pretty quirky as they are, pretty neat.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:58am

I like the control explanation page.

Baknik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:04am

Good job on the animations

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:07am

Worked fine. That being said. I was never sure if I was doing things correctly as I played. I'd attack, and things sometimes vanished or just seemed to crash into me and vanish? I don't think its a graphics issue, but rather a player feedback issue.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:30am

I don't understand what was happening at the 10 second marks. There was very little in the way of feedback, the controls were unresponsive and the collision detection caused me to get stuck on walls constantly making navigation difficult.

JQCoding says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:33am

Wouldn't work for me.

Senevri says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:32am

At 10 second marks, a portal opens and monsters come through. For people who couldn't get it to work, are you running 32 or 64 bit OSes? Environment was VS2012+MonoGame on a 64-bit Win7 machine.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:06am

It wouldnt work :/

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Somehow innovating. It is different but the good way ;) Liked it!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Not bad, could have benefited from more time :)

jprogman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:48am

Ok, tried it on Windows 8 64-bit and it's working. Still needed XNA Redistributable.
I like how you have to negate through a maze to investigate areas where there could be enemies. Of course, some of the enemies just go towards me, heh.

Senevri says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Issue with default installed .Net redist?
The enemies could be more dangerous, but the reds and blacks can kill you quite fast if you're not careful.

My original design had civilians the monsters would go after, but time limit -> <snip>. Also, the monster attacking could use more work, definitely.

Taiters says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Pretty fun game. I think some of the enemies didn't spawn properly, but it played well apart from that

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:53pm

I didn't really get the 10 seconds counter =/

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:02am

Found it a bit glitchy but it is a great attempt and the graphics are pretty cute :3 I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation video series, if youd like to check it out :)

Senevri says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:04am

Thanks for the inclusion :) It's definitely glitchy - less so in the latest version, but still.... :/

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:54am

Can't play windows... any chance we can get a web ver?

Senevri says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Hmm. Maybe. Apparently Supergiant Games has a NaCl version of MonoGame, I could look into that.

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]