August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Up

by RobDangerous - Jam Entry

Strategy, Action, Adventure!

You control four highly-trained specialists, the world's top investigation team:

- An agent, who uses a gun to greet his enemies and a grappling hook to reach faraway places. His name is confidential. Very confidential.

- A mechanic, who can repair stuff and performs a very distracting dance. Never trust a woman who can't handle a wrench.

- A scientist, who can hack into computers, and uses a time gun to turn back time. It's all relative.

- A rowdy, who can punch and lift objects. He pities the fools.

Fresh from their secret laboratory our team makes use of the newest and most powerful energy drink ever conceived: 10 Up
There is just one catch: Emptying a can of 10 Up will make you fall asleep after 10 seconds. It's just that powerful, mankind cannot handle so much energy for long.

Control with cursor keys or wasd (left, right, jump) and mouse.
Space bar pauses the game and lets you choose another team member.
Mac user: If you are missing a right mouse button, use Ctrl + left mouse button.
Use the pause button often and wisely to switch characters, plan ahead and make the most of your precious time. Watch our introductory video at http://10up.robdangero.us/video/game-mechanics.html and show the foes who's boss.

The native versions and the HTML5 version contain some small bug fixes compared to the original Flash version, see http://10up.robdangero.us/changelog.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#205Humor(Jam)2.78
#265Graphics(Jam)3.38
#296Innovation(Jam)2.98
#334Theme(Jam)2.98
#464Mood(Jam)2.41
#466Overall(Jam)2.70
#467Audio(Jam)1.97
#491Fun(Jam)2.38

Comments

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:38am

Doing things was hard then lots of people died.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Need a little help here! What's goin' on?! Can we get a bit of a description - that would help a lot!

RobDangerous says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:07pm

We put up a little more text and an introductory video at the game's site. Hope it helps.

joekinglake says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Very confusing, i kind of understand but it's all a bit confusing. The graphics are quite nice and the mood is feels very consistent, reminds me a lot of the old gameboy games.

MrBlade says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Good job! I loved the animations, and the character select was a nice touch. There is no way to switch characters if you kill Mr T, then you just stuck with the machinic girl. Keep on making stuff!

RobDangerous says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Characters can be switched freely as long as they don't fall asleep. Everybody please watch the video to get a grasp of the mechanics.

Jyrkface says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Nice concept, probably a little big to tackle for the Dare tho!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:46pm

my agend is sticking in the wall. i have no idea what to do ;_;.

great heart and nice idea though.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Very creative game :D nice work ! :D loved the idea!!! :D

nixeldev says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:04pm

I love the art, fun stuff :)

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:05pm

i experienced some strange slow-downs, but that might be on my end. it took a few tries but i think i got it in the end. a nice idea.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:30am

Nice idea and art, enjoyed it!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:30am

took a while to get, lots of dead in the process.

interesting approach

I like the art!

J-d-H says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:55am

We had to rush things a bit for release. Some changes we made in last minute do not perform well on flash platform.

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:29am

Yep, good concept, seems like it could be a lot more fun if you tweaked the difficulty ramp, but as it is, impressive for a weekend project!

RobDangerous says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:49am

We added Windows and HTML5 versions. Should you run into performance problems with the original Flash version, try those.

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:37pm

It's a nice idea but the controls were confusing at first. I didn't know what's going on either.

Other than those, the art was pretty good.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:39am

Great idea and graphic! Pixel-art look fantastic! I like it!

dekart says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Not really sure how to play this game, but I do like the art

graytest says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:04pm

I was excited about trying this when seeing the screenshot, but I just couldn't figure it out.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]