August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Don't let Them Hug you!

by Jicken - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first ever real game, and I'm pretty proud of it.
The basis of the game is to not let any of the people hug you. "How?" I can totally hear you asking: You stop them from hugging you by shooting them, like any normal person would!
New crazy-people-who-want-to-hug-you spawn every 10 seconds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#120Humor3.32
#544Mood2.74
#563Audio2.54
#685Fun2.77
#954Innovation2.39
#956Overall2.62
#964Graphics2.18
#1154Theme1.90

Comments

frankbsad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:22am

It's pretty silly but I had fun with it. Also i crashed my computer. There were too many "huggers" and yeah, it crashed.

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:24am

Congratulations on finishing your game! It's terrifying :P. The hugging-person model is beautiful in its simplicity.

Waave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33am

This game made me laugh!

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:34am

Congratulations on your first game!! I've only been doing game programming for a little over 2 years now. This is fantastic for one of your first. Keep up the good work and you'll be surprised how quickly you'll be a pro veteran!

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:35am

Lol loved your game, I would have added winning/losing conditions and at the art part would give a face to all those faceless huggers!

Verrazano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:37am

All I can say is holy crap. That was amazing and scary at the same time. I wish there was more of a goal. But it was awesome, You start out and you are like hmm... whats going on... and you shoot the guy and your like "yea suck it" and then they start having babies and your like uhm... crap
can't click fast enough. And then there's so many the game freezes.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38am

You should really cap the limit of huggers, it can seriously lag computers when it gets too high.

TaleLore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:39am

Yeah crashed for me too.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40am

The music needs to be downmixed to mono, and the mouse controls feel a bit weird. I liked the chaos near the end.

Jicken says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43am

There IS a restart button, if it gets too chaotic

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44am

At one point I turned and screamed because I was being molested. Now everyone can know the anxiety I feel in a crowd of people XD

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45am

Should hide and lock the mouse cursor while playing!

vanderZwan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46am

Jezus Christ this game is terrifying in its abstraction. Great entry!

Armix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47am

It's a silly concept but that's pretty cool. The aesthetic of the hugger models really sold the game, however I'm not really sure how you lose because my "Hug Count" continues to rise but my character feels no hinderance to anything. And yeah, perhaps instead of spawning too many "huggers" just make them run faster. My computer started lagging after a while. Overall, funny game, keep it up.

Ramon Imbao says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:50am

Game became unplayable after 2 minutes. But congrats on your first -real- game! Here's to hopefully many more! *clink*

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52am

What an odd little game! There's no punishment for getting hugged and it seems to be impossible to avoid altogether.

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54am

huggers sometimes go crazy and ignore gravity!
fun game, and silly

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54am

I didn't experience a crash, like other people mentioned, but that may be because I stopped it once the frame rate bogged down. If you plan on working on it more for either the jam or beyond, some crosshairs would help, and maybe some faster movement speed.

jwolf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57am

Heh, this one's pretty amusing. I like how the mobs, err...jump.

Congratulations on your first entry!

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:13am

I think I found the people exploding out of other people when spawning to be the most entertaining. The game did eventually crash, but it was just hilarious to see piles of people hugging me.

Filth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31am

The theme could have been represented more strongly but not bad for your first try.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:03am

kinda creepy and fun when they move in on you! sometimes it seemed to throw off the AI when i shot them and htey just kind of floated away. still great job!

loolpolo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:48am

wow, that was something, although it's pretty simple it is fun! you should try put the "huggers" velocity higher, so we are forced to shoot them.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16am

Great work Jicken, funny stuff :)

borden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:20am

Pretty simplistic, but still more fun than you'd expect. Gets pretty crazy pretty quick.

The music and the flashlight add to the hectic feeling.
Could use some kind of end game.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:44am

Need WEB version, Mac doesn't run.

djdduty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:34am

Haha, I love how they just explode into doubles and come flying at you, a few times when it first started I would be shooting at the double and then turn around just to find the other one FULLSCREEN in my face :D good job!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:12pm

I like playing your game! Nice work!

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Haha this game is funny P: Liked the fact that it is simple yet pretty funny to play

Gus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:52pm

"You stop them from hugging you by shooting them, like any normal person would!"
Well, that synopsis made my day, really xD
Jicken, your game is playable, but I wouldn't say "real". It misses some basic concepts and this bothers me a little.
First, I got nothing against endless games, on the contrary, I pretty much like them, but reading one comment and another makes me conclude that your game runs until the computer can't even process it anymore, some level design or "wave" planning would've helped. Also, a miss a crosshair or anything that gives me a reference on where the hell i'm shooting at. Another thing, your game is not losable, kind of misses that feeling of challenge, since nothing "punishes" you for being hugged or whatever you are trying running of from.
I liked music though, it's pretty cool.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:50pm

I was a bit surprised when it never ended and it just got laggier and laggier. Within the hour there will be 2Googol crazy hug people. There is no escape.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Hahaha, that was funny and kind of creepy in some way. When there were so many huggers that they closed up on me, it was really scary. :D You should really make some kind of ending though.

munchor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34pm

1/5 on the theme. No crashes, ran just fine on Linux though.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Some kind of cursor would be nice to have, I kept shooting slightly to the left. Also my PC couldn't quite handle the number of huggers. Maybe it's a better idea to add a fixed number of huggers every 10 seconds, rather than doubling them.

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Simple, fun, and hilarious! Nice game.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09pm

You should add locking cursor and add "quit" to the menu. Pretty funny game. That zombies are little bugged when moving but otherwise really nice concept!

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:01am

That was cool, I liked the style of the enemies, they almost seemed cute. The multiplying got ridiculous and they hugged my frame rate to death. Nice one!

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Never felt so popular my entire life!

Jicken says ...
Sep 22, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Thank you all for playing my pretty terrible game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]