August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Happy Edii

by HoWseR - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is Happy Edii, a game about a small little fellow who like to jump on walls and bend time.

I have a timelapse video on the way which i will post here as well.

This game requires .NET and openAL(installer included) to run

**Fixed the bug which would cause people to crash when they hit the ceiling while walljumping**

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#295Humor2.74
#319Fun3.23
#394Audio2.82
#483Overall3.13
#528Mood2.76
#584Graphics2.83
#646Theme3.08
#1011Innovation2.26

Comments

Zelosfan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:58am

Hey Simon,
while it's a pretty simple concept youre graphics and sfx add a lovely touch to it ^_^ Also: walljump rocks :D

donan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:06am

Nice platform game :D
Sfx and graphics are nice ^^, only disliked the backgrounds :)

teddy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:08am

WEEEE WEEE WEEEE! fun :)

Anoarith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:11am

Wiiiiii !

Nice game, I liked the concept.

Controls were very disturbing, I prefer Space for Jump when there's a walljump (yeah it's because of Super Meat Boy).

Mntndew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:41am

Fun game to speed run through :) nice sound FX

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:43am

Charming little platformer with a cute, likeable style. I'm another one who prefers space to jump, but I still got along well with this one all the game. Enjoyed the very silly sound fx work too :)

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:56am

Very cute! :D The controls were pretty tight. The death sequence made me baww.

Octopuns says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:09am

Quite difficult but holy jesus that jump sound effect is the best thing in the world. Nice work.

XmmmX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:13am

Hey, we almost had the same idea.^^
But my storyline is completly different.
Anyway nice game. I like the jump sound effect.

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:17am

My machine wouldn't run this for some reason. :/ I installed the package included in the folder, but still wouldn't start for me.

HoWseR says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:22am

if you don't have .NET 4 installed, you will probably need that as well i believe

nikneym says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:28am

Sweet graphics.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:43am

Nice work, lovely graphics!

Elrobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:45am

Cute game, nice platforming.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:07pm

I liked this game, the sound effects are hilarous. The only problem is that the game crashed when I hit the ceiling on the level with the wall jumps...

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Very cute graphics and sound!

Mechanic wise it's a platformer with a timer.

Gyncoca says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Really fun, but the game stop when i hit the top of the level :/
I love that jump sound effect.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:21am

HAHA! Edii was not happy landing on the spike ;) Love the concept!

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:24am

I have .net 4 installed and used the openAL installer but still crashes on start.

tlasol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:25am

Very cuuuuuute!
Nyanyanya! Wiiiii!

No, really, liked it a much.

Disliked the background, found a bug :c Game hanged on level with first walljump, when I reached the ceiling.

dkilford says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:29am

Overall nice and simple platformer. The time pausing mechanic was interesting but you could have focused on it more rather than some of the more generic platformer levels near the start. I liked the sound and humour of the game. The controls felt a little stiff, particularly around jumping in general. Overall good attempt!

MrRoboman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:35am

Love the sound effects! The gameplay reminds me of Super Meat Boy

myachin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:35am

game crashes(( dont know why...
win7 .NET + openAL installed...

chippers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:42am

Loved this game, probably my favorite that I've played so far. Controls worked well, graphics looked nice, loved the wall jumping. One thing i didn't like though was the fact that you had to wait 3 seconds to load the next level, or when you died. I don't understand why it's needed, every platform i've played if i stuff up i wanna retry it right away, not wait 3 seconds to. Still an awesome game though!

HoWseR says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:43am

I know about the wierd crash bug when you hit the celing, am working on fixing it and hopefully it wont bother anyone else in the future, thinking also about porting to android just for fun..

euske says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:04pm

I liked the sound effects.

ix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:42am

The jump mechanics felt pretty good.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:55am

I enjoyed the character and style quite a bit. Gameplay was satisfying enough for me to finish it. Good job!

jprogman says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:16am

Some levels were hard until I realized I could press SPACE to freeze time for a few seconds. Nice work on the game!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:13am

weeee!

Walljump <3
sound effects <3 <3
all awesome

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:06am

Simple and fun, well executed. Mine crashed after I got stuck in a wall.

01rafael says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 11:01am

lovely game )
nice level design. but phisics are bugy. when I jump on the corner of the blocks, each time I'd stack on the corner. Thats why I can't done the last level. and on the top of that my computer was froze)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]