August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

t.i.m.e

by Asar Dhandala - Jam Entry

Collect 10 seconds ; Overlook 7 minutes ; avoid 5 hours.

Use control keys to move character.

Recommended browser : Internet Explorer (HTML 5)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#143Theme(Jam)3.43
#358Innovation(Jam)2.80
#370Mood(Jam)2.68
#406Humor(Jam)1.94
#435Audio(Jam)2.26
#466Overall(Jam)2.70
#469Graphics(Jam)2.63
#485Fun(Jam)2.40

Comments

VagabondEx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:41pm

If this is a rar file on dropbox, why is it marked as Web?

Spencer Alves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:43pm

"Uncaught Error: SecurityError: DOM Exception 18" in Chromium

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:43pm

I don't think a 'rar' is a web playable format now, is it?

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:45pm

The .rar file has the html file along with the assets.
Internet Explorer is recommended.

Anoarith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Nice approach of the Theme.

For the web version, you can paste a link of your index.html with dropbox so we can play directly without to have to download it ;)

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Thank you Anoarith. Will do as you recommended. :)

Recid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:50pm

I can't load the game

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Recid, try using Internet Explorer. (Click 'Allow' when prompted of using Scripts)

fdevant says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:00pm

I guess because it was a javascript html thingy

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:26pm

This worked fine on Mac/Safari. I wasn't sure of the 7/5 distinction on minutes and hours; the slow clocks (hours) reset the level and the middle clocks (minutes) seem to ignore you. Once you realize the 10 fast (seconds) clocks are the only ones not moving the game gets easier.

coeoliver says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:26pm

me like a lot :) nice nice use if the theme

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:37pm

can't play the game

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:04am

Yay! You made it, scriptorum! :)

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:05am

Thank you aquilicoco :) I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:06am

Thank you coeoliver :) I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:06am

aquilicoco, try using Internet Explorer.

GagaPete says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:31am

What is the issue with chrome? DOMException 18 sounds like you access canvas pixeldata after drawing external (local) images onto it. Hosting the files directly on dropbox or any server should fix this bug and make this game playable for all those who are interessted. Had the same problem in my LD #25 game. Some can not use Internet Explorer (Linux) :)

AIalumni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:51am

This was fun! It took me a little while to collect the clocks that I needed to win. I kept getting frustrated when I had one more clock to collect and then I get a hit by another that came from the side! lol. idk, maybe have the sides closed off and have the clocks bumping off the walls?

It was fun though, good job!

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:20pm

GagaPete, thank you for your suggestion.
I apologize everyone for the inconvenience as it's my first Ludum Dare Jam so had to figure out how everything works.

Web link works for every browser! Have fun!

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:21pm

AIalumni, I'm glad you enjoyed the game! :)

nikkesen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:36pm

AAHHH! So many clocks! So much ticking! Interesting little game though.

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:37pm

I loved the graphics.
Good job.

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Nice take on the theme! And pretty good for a 3-hr game. :) I got smashed by a lot of clocks, but eventually overcame.

iiechapman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:38pm

At first I was wondering what I was looking for , I liked having to figure out what I had to avoid. This is a very interesting concept, I enjoyed the idea. Graphically it set a good tone. The time ticking made it seem depressing lol

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Great job on this! The ticking sound is a very nice touch :D
I found it a bit hard to maneuver around the clocks with the momentum though. But it adds to the skill required.
Its amazing to know that you made this all on your own!

lazyeels says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Works fine in Chromium (on Linux). I did feel quite chuffed with myself once I worked out the riddle to the clocks, although I might just be a bit slow on the uptake. Nice painterly graphics and overall mood. :-)

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Thank you everyone!
I'm glad that everyone is actually taking time and solving the riddle at first :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:55pm

good job

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Unique idea! I felt like I was learning stuff! Good job. :)

GagaPete says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Now I could actually play and it is really funny. Good job, especially the art is pretty cool.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Good use of theme and a good idea. I like the graphics too they work really well with it.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Very good theme and funny, this one caught me by surprise!

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:54am

Impressive game for 3 hours of work. Nice level of difficulty as well. Took a few attempts, but didn't make me want to break things.

Siddharth says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:09am

Innovative and fun... great for a relaxation... and hats off to u as u did dis awesome job in mere 3 hours... keep up the great work bro...

Pyrofoux says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Very innovative, good job !

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:05am

Thank you everyone! :)

mklee says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:27am

I don't know if it's intentional or not, but the way the ticking sounds build on top of each other after every restart really makes the game for me. Each death feels like it adds that much more tension with just sound. Really excellent choice of sound effects for the game!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:29am

Interesting concept.

all that ticking! SMEE!!! Someone stop that ticking!!

:D Good job!

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:08am

Thank you mklee. Yeah, it was intentional. ;)

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:09am

Glad you loved the concept, namrog84 :)

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:14pm

I liked it, good use of theme. The ticking made it feel more hectic. Good work especially for 3 hours

Asar Dhandala says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Thank you :)

Zap says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:09am

The controls were too slippery for me. I like the concept, and it looks like the beginning of an interesting art style.
The ticking sounds make it :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]