August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Lost Fleet (Every Second Counts)

by alangamebot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A puzzle game set in deep space. Created in GameMaker studio. Help the fleet navigate hostile space back to their home planet. You have 10 seconds to spend. Set wait times at wait points so that the ships in your fleet will pause and avoid being destroyed by enemy laser fire.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#502Audio2.64
#556Innovation2.96
#846Graphics2.40
#848Mood2.33
#873Overall2.72
#879Fun2.52
#890Theme2.76
#962Humor1.40
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

pbdiode says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Dropbox link to web version didn't like to the html file, it just linked to the folder .

Lo-X says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Nice concept, it's hard to plan something since events arent maped to the launch button so each try is different and you need to have some luck, even if you try so hard to press the button each time at the same moment.
Works with wine on linux

alangamebot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Yeah, I was having an issue submitting the web version. I just pulled the link since it won't work properly. Sorry about that. I credit this to me being an ld noob.

Szedouu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:42pm

nice entry and good job. I enjoyed your game.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Love your music and sound effects!

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:22pm

really nice little game! AWESOME!

CogComp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Really liked this! Found it really satisfying adjusting the timings until I got it right. Great work!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Interesting idea. It's VERY difficult, because as it turns out humans are not good ad turning time into numbers. funny, I was just having a conversation about this :P

The concept has promise, good work!

Joxno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Quite a nice concept,
however it's very hard to execute your delayed moves when the simulation keeps changing and doesn't reset to a basepoint.

drilltail says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:04am

Awesome idea!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:49pm

It would have the numbers from the last attempt carry over. Sometimes you die because you clicked Engage at the wrong time. Intersting concept, nice execution!

Larzan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:43am

Installer are a bad idea, sorry, not going to install it...

Marcellus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:46am

awesome idea, as almost everyone said, it's sad that the events doesn't reset while pressing the launch button.
nice graphics and music also

Vaalen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:19am

Really good job. It one of my favourite games among all I already try. Very smart game.

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:41pm

nice game liked the sound

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:16am

Aw, I can't play windows games.

Diptoman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Yeah, like most other players said, luck associated with puzzles isn't too compatible, the whole 10 seconds didn't even have to be used. Anyways, the idea was innovative, and great soundtrack!

Linusson says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Interesting idea which could be really fun with some more tweaking. For example, it would be nice if it remembers the time settings between each round. :)

alangamebot says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Yes. Saving the numbers has been the number one piece of feedback so far. I had a bunch of my students play it and they all felt the same way. Maybe I I had 2 more hours :)

Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:52am

Really nice puzzle game. Love it. I featured this game in my LD27 compilation video, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/jm5J5gdV81o

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:10pm

I remembered my childhood)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]