August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

speedy sloth

by nilo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a sloth that just discovered a bomb detonating in 10 seconds. Run away from it as fast as you can, but watch out, there are rabies badgers hiding on your path. Shoot some adrenalin to speed up your movement and see time go slower.

CONTROLS:
LEFT: Move left
RIGHT: Move right
SPACE: Jump

UPDATE: Added missing CSS prefixes so it should now work in most browsers.

Tools used:
Photoshop
Illustrator
Sublime Text

Frameworks/boilerplate used
HTML5Boilerplate
rng-js

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#389Humor2.57
#840Theme2.84
#971Graphics2.16
#1015Fun2.29
#1021Mood1.93
#1104Innovation2.05
#1104Overall2.34

Comments

lesterpig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:41pm

A very ... fast game, and quickly boring... Good idea, however ;)

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:42pm

This is very abstract visually but interesting nonetheless, well done! :D

eolhing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:42pm

nice game, nice graphics. I like the shape of the ground

BenWhi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Best game about sloths and syringes I've ever played :D Props for making an HTML5 game!

loxo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Nice game with an interesting idea. It's a bit hard though. Sound effects would be nice.

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:25pm

It's too fast for my old nerves :)

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:04pm

THAT POOR SLOTH

Blooperly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:06pm

I wish you didn't restart at the first level every time you died. Otherwise pretty cool.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:09pm

That is a really fast moving sloth! Some sounds and music would be nice. It's also a little frustrating to start again from level 1 everytime you die. Apart from that, nice game.

Adjotur says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Nice game

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Look how speedy it is. o___o Seriously, that sloth is too fast for me. Couldn't even get to the third level. :(

nilo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:53pm

@ShellfishGames, That's when you try again =) I love the kind of games when you have to grind it over and over again and do it perfect to complete the entire thing =)

Zener says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Speedy! I like the idea, I can die 10 times per second :D

zatyka says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:48pm

My reaction time is not good enough for this game. I couldn't make it very far. I think slowing things down, or giving the player some more room to see what's ahead would make the game a bit more fun. I do like to silliness of it all though.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:42am

That was fast. Though I don't like when you're dead you'll go back from the start of the game xD ... Good game.

fferro234 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:07am

When I read that this was about a sloth that was running away from a bomb I was very excited. Especially when I get to take drugs as a sloth. I was confused why the sloth moves so fast though. Bumping down the movement speed and maybe moving the camera a little closer (or a little bit up so we don't see so much dirt) would help. Great job for an html5 game though.

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:41pm

It is every sloth's dream to be this fast!

manuq says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:47pm

The speed of this game doesn't work well with the controls, the sloth gets very difficult to control and dying on the first thing that appears is frustrating. I like the irregular floor.

davidwparker says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:09pm

I never realized how fast sloths were... :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]