August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

TimeTester

by UnixXNova - Jam Entry

TimeTesters is a puzzle game where must avoid the hazards such
as lava and turrets and get to the other side of the level
Update:
Fixed bug on second level which didn't let you go to the third level.
added checkpoints
decreased difficulty

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#443Audio(Jam)2.21
#474Humor(Jam)1.57
#475Theme(Jam)2.66
#495Mood(Jam)2.25
#509Graphics(Jam)2.47
#530Fun(Jam)2.24
#547Overall(Jam)2.50
#584Innovation(Jam)2.00

Comments

lightsoda says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Seemed like the difficulty ramped up fast, or maybe I'm just bad.

GarethIW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Going from a run down a corridor with a single sentry gun to having to hop across platforms on top of lava whilst two sentry guns fired at me did seem like a bit of a difficulty curve.

Once I had got the hang of the gravity and found a good method for getting over the lava, it seemed that the goal area would always kick me back to the first level (I checked the guns weren't killing me before landing).

Is there only two levels?

UnixXNova says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:23am

Hey thanks for the feedback i just updated the game
Apparently the second level wasn't loading the third
i decreased the difficulty and rearanged the levels

gikdew says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:32am

Nice game, you should higher the friction in the third level, jumping is difficult, but when I slide out of the floor and touch the lava I feel stupid, MORE FRICTION!

Nice simple game, I really like it

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:03am

I got into it, solid entry!

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:12am

Nice challenges. I think, I made it through. I was sent back to the first level. A bit more friction would be good. The lava levels felt more like I had luck not to jump into the lava. Maybe add some levels at the start where you only have to jump platforms, to let the player learn the character physics?

truiton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:49am

The floor is lava! O_O

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:49am

I think it's a little difficult for me. Nice work, though!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Great game! I would like more levels! And less to jump into the lava;)

TijmenTio says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Nice game, was able to complete all levels. I have to say you could've tweaked the controls more, since it felt really floaty and slippery.

asc3nsion says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Cool game overall. Would've liked to have seen some nicer visuals. The lava kinda reminded me of a cheese pizza! :)

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Was pretty cool, I liked the fast-paced feel of it, no time to break, just gotta finish dem levels. Really nice, short simple and fun to play. Good job, expand on it, more levels.

Pitzik4 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:29am

Unfortunately, both WinRAR and 7-Zip reached an unexpected EOF, so I couldn't try it. :(

Antidote says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:03am

Nice and quick :) Jumping felt a bit awkward for me. Think there could be some visual feedback when you fail, with a confirm button or something to try again, felt weird to just go back to the action, especially when I just had 10 seconds to do the run, ended up wasting a few seconds.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:17am

beautiful game and gameplay gets challenging pretty fast. good jam guys

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]