August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 seconds to die

by mrcdk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello there!
In my first entry in Ludum Dare I present you "10 seconds to die" a platformer game where the objective is to... die.

The game is made in Haxe with HaxeFlixel as an engine.
Sadly, I've had no much time this weekend to work in the game so it's only 5 levels long :( Also I had some ideas that, at the end, couldn't get into the game. Anyway, I've enjoyed the competition and making a game in 48 hours was quite a challenge :)

The controls and the history are in the entry, check them out and enjoy the game! Good luck!

*** NOTE: The instructions in the intro screen are a bit messy, read the text under the game ***

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#66Humor3.65
#94Theme3.76
#152Fun3.49
#282Overall3.35
#341Mood3.03
#343Innovation3.27
#384Audio2.84
#474Graphics3.02

Comments

shockedfrog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:34am

Fun game, funny instructions. :) I quite liked the music despite its repetitiveness.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:56am

I am highly impressed, especially if you had limited time for this. You should put this on Kongregate after polishing some. It is SOLID.

Xotraz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Really good game !!

Pebsie says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:06pm

That was _really_ fun!
I actually played that for almost 20 minutes. Wow.
Nice work!

EvilObjective says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:37pm

I really enjoyed it! Great take on the theme.

FireZenk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Fun game! :D

NateAGeek says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:14am

Fun game!!!!

Entity2D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:11am

Pretty hard game, but fun!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Will post video review when ready.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:14pm

really good game keep up the good work

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:55am

Really hard and really tricky. Interesting mechanics though. Good job.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:09am

Live review available here: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2830906

cafeine says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Gah. Very good, very funny but I can't believe how much I suck, never made it past level 2 :D

mrcdk says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:22pm

@dcolgan, thank you good sir, I will try to develop more the concept and make a better SOLID game XD
@N0_Named_Guy, thanks for the video review :D
@cafeine Haha, it's a bit tricky but beatable! keep trying!

And for all of you, thanks for playing! It's means a lot for me :D

SneManden says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Wow, really hard game! Took me a long time to really grasp the concept - but really a solid game! Fine game mechanics and gameplay; nice touch with the censored bad girl ;).

The music was a bit annoying though.

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:23pm

"I don't care, I'm just going to have sex with ALL THE GIRLS."

(Also, damn fake ninjas.)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Beat the game! I am so much better at this game than nddrylliog you don't even know.

I liked it! I wish the wall jumping was easier, it's quite a tough mechanic to get just right! Polish this up and put it up somewhere, you've got a winner :D

Zap says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:34am

Great concept! I admit, I never got past level 2 either, it's quite difficult :/

antonijn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Despite there only being five levels a pretty fun game overall. Good job on this! I know your first LD in one hell of an accomplishment.

canvapps says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Quite difficult to get the grip of the game, but nice idea and great execution. Loved the censored image ^_^

N427 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Very fun! Nice mix of puzzling, platforming, and action. Got stuck on the one level where you had to jump over the disguised girl though, couldn't jump over her correctly.

dkilford says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:32am

You succeeded at making the most frustrating games I have played. Every element of the game feels like it is designed to make you frustrated. The controls are frustrating, with common fps drops that lower your character speed but keep the timer constant. Disguising bad girls as ninjas. Ninjas that randomly don't work for no given reason. Also elements that pop out of the ground with no given warning that kill you.

The controls felt really stiff, the music got very repetitive quickly, and after I forced myself to play through the thing I was greeted with a blank white screen.

In terms of theme, because of how you designed the mechanics it really doesn't feel like you're trying to die in the game, falling on spikes apparently isn't good enough for example, you still need to get to the end, after collecting enough coins like most platformers.

Erhune says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:19am

I'm coming for you, bad giii~irl!! (what, I've misunderstood the goal of the game? :p)

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Interesting idea. Couldn't get past the first level.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:19pm

I'm not a fan of that *cough*Thing... that happens with the girl, but it still fit the theme :D (Couldn't get past the first level o.e)

robertcalvert says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:56pm

I really like this, its funny and fun. The mechanics remind me of super meat boy which is a really good thing. Great!

Sep 11, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Awesome game, really enjoyed it. The concept is very cool and funny, controls and presentation are good. You seem to have made some interesting experiences with girls.. and also with girls disguised as ninjas, apparently.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Found this game funny, fun, but a but... I couldnt get past level 1... I featured this game in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tvnhwc_j5Mo

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]