August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

RocketCar Rampage!

by cjordan1683 - Jam Entry

This Jam entry, entitled 'RocketCar Rampage' involves the player needing to get through every checkpoint, granting an additional 10 seconds every time in order to get to the finish line.
Controls:
W or (Up Arrow) = Acceleration
S or (Down Arrow) = Reverse
A or (Left Arrow) = Left
D or (Right Arrow) = Right
Shift = Rocket Boost
Spacebar = Hand Brake
Esc = Pause Menu

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#124Graphics(Jam)3.90
#191Audio(Jam)3.13
#277Fun(Jam)2.97
#314Overall(Jam)3.06
#414Theme(Jam)2.84
#457Humor(Jam)1.69
#459Mood(Jam)2.43
#591Innovation(Jam)1.93

Comments

lightsoda says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Looks and sounds great. Good job.

Komradus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:31am

Oh man that was so fun, love the music. The camera could be positioned higher above the car, as it's quite difficult to see what's in front of you and I smashed into quite a few turns.

xndr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:04am

Cool. Nice job.

CuberToy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:09am

The idea is pretty simple (chekpoint lap mecanics) but it's pretty weel executed. As Komradus point out, the camera could be higher. Control are a bit weird too (maybe to sensitive) especially when you go in reverse and go back to normal. Nice job overall.

Blupsy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:10am

Very fun! The car handling was a bit shaky at times but it was a blast to race around the track.

cjordan1683 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:40am

Completely agreed about the camera, and the car handling could be improved. I'm looking forward to working on this game beyond Ludum Dare and just making a lot of upgrades/features and levels with my teammate.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:42am

Feels like an arcade NOS/Need For Speed game =]

Stryphe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47am

Nice game!

REIN1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:56am

It's using too much unity3D offical race car game resource,please show us more original game arts made by yourself.

cjordan1683 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:26pm

@REIN1 WOW! Do you get paid by the hour to be a hypocrite or does it just come naturally to you? You should ponder your words more carefully and think about your own recent submission before making comments like that.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:50am

Ahahah awesome! Was very fun, great graphics and audio too. Solid entry!

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:56am

Nice one, too bad I'm pretty bad at driving :D

Broxxar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:57am

As REIN1 mentions, there are just too few unique assets. This is mostly a prebuilt sample project with a bit of crude GUI you made and the themed timing mechanic.

cjordan1683 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:28am

@Broxxar No, wrong actually. More work and addons to this project than you're obviously seeing. Although congrats on successfully making yourself look just as bad as REIN1. Thanks for your comment, I definitely made sure to rate your game by the way.

Broxxar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:49am

You would really go and give someone else negative ratings because you didn't like their comment?

That's a really poor choice. The Ludum Dare community is a great community and it doesn't need negativity like that. Giving someone a bunch of 1 stars certainly because you disagree with them is certainly not in the spirit of the competition.

Shame on you. I hope other people who take the time to play your game recognize your poor attitude and let it affect how they score your submission.

Don't be so immature.

cjordan1683 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:12am

You're a total hypocrite, and how can you expect anything less? You can make negative comments on other people's entries but no one had better do the same to you? You knew exactly what you were doing with your first comment on my entry. Yeah, you're mother raised a hypocrite and an asshole.

Broxxar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:23am

I haven't really said anything negative. I originally offered my honest opinion about your game. It bares striking similarities to http://www.unityracingkit.com/.

If I'm mistaken, and you modelled the car yourself and programmed the racing physics than I truly am sorry.

But still, your insults are unwarranted and not in the spirit of Ludum Dare. I try to make informed criticisms on other people submissions (and more often compliments as well), not this ad-hominem insulting you've been throwing about.

I'll be messaging a moderator about your behaviour and blatant disregard for the community.

cjordan1683 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:30am

you're not only a hypocrite, but also a manipulative liar. You go ahead and contact the moderator, I would love to let them know about you.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:17am

cjordan, I can see how broxxar is behaving on your entry, but try and ignore him if you can. He clearly has no respect for the community and is obviously not worth your time.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:21am

Nice game, I'm terrible at it but it was still very amusing!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:26am

I am amazed to see such a great looking 3d game in the jam!!
Great!

Oxygamer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:35am

I don't belive that this was created in 3 days. Maybe you are wirking in EA Games ?:) The lanscapes is very similar to Need For Speed !

Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Eeeeeehoooo!!! Such coool car I drive! It is craZzy! It the same what I will dream about! Effects is awsome! Thank a lot !

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:43pm

The graphics and concept are all very fine and it's overall a very cool game but the collisions are a bit odd and annoying, when I hit laterally the car spins and gets perpendicular to the barrier which is a bother to put it back on the race.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]