August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time is On Your Side (TOYS)

by Zealot - Jam Entry

"Hello, is this the game you are looking for?"
-Lionel Richie

Controls:
W OR UP = MOVE FORWARD
S OR DOWN = MOVE BACKWARD
LEFT = ROTATE LEFT
RIGHT = ROTATE RIGHT
A = STRAFE LEFT
D = STRAFE RIGHT
SPACE = USE WEAPON
R = FREEZE TIME (IF YOU HAVE A SECOND)
ESCAPE = PAUSE

Collect all ten seconds to unlock the boss room on the 5th floor. Red chests contain health, gray chests give you a weapon upgrade, and brown chests contain seconds. There are 5 levels excluding the boss with 2 seconds per level. There are 2 weapon upgrades scattered throughout the floors. If you use a second to freeze time it will still allow you to enter the boss room if you collect the other nine. Each weapon has a range, damage amount, and speed:
Knife(Start Weapon) - Range = .5 Damage = 1 Speed = 1;
Cane - Range = .75 Damage = 1 Speed = 2;
Sword - Range = .75 Damage = 2 Speed = 2;

*BE SURE TO EXPLORE TO FIND THE WEAPONS AND EXTRA HEALTH*

Thanks for playing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#201Mood(Jam)3.16
#282Overall(Jam)3.14
#339Fun(Jam)2.81
#350Audio(Jam)2.62
#416Graphics(Jam)2.82
#434Innovation(Jam)2.59
#484Theme(Jam)2.64
#1500Coolness35%

Comments

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Good game! Really loved the art style, but combat was pretty difficult and I could never kill more than 2 enemies.

f345an says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Decent game, loved the raycasting and the art style was cute, although the combat was really difficult (as Bmanrules said).

Zealot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:53am

Sorry about the combat. I know its not the best. I've play tested it all the way through several times and its not a game you can just rush at enemies. The knife has a small range so you have to be close to the enemy and you especially need to backup so you don't get hit.

01101101 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:48am

Took some tries to find out the correct range for knife attack but once you get it it's all right. Didn't get to the boss though ^^ Nice job anyway :)

manabreak says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:53am

Nifty :) Couldn't find more than one clock, though... I got lost. :(

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:55am

This was really fun. A bit too hard for me, but then again I suck at navigating mazes. I really liked the second-powerup idea, kind of like a bullet-time mechanism. Excellent!

Zealot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:29am

I probably should have pointed out that the colored pads on the ground teleport you between levels where you can find more clocks

SamC says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:16pm

nice classic style

ravine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:17pm

I really like the use of the theme. The music was a little annoying after awhile.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Very hard to get the melee range, I always got hit before I manage to kill a mob.

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Nice! Got killed on level 3, but I'll surely play this again ;-)

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:39am

Managed to beat the 2 first mob after the 7th try, just to become the third encounter's food...
I like the pixelish graphics!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]