August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Crazy Teleporter: Zombie Edition

by doctorscientist - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Explaination:

Crazy Teleporter was made with Unity 3d, Qubicle Constructor, Paint.NET and contains no base libraries. It has no sound at this time.

The Download:

The download is a Unity webplayer build. Double click on the html document to start it up. If you have Unity I have noticed that having it open can interfere with the webplayer sometimes so I would recommend closing and instances of unity before playing.

Control:

WASD + Mouse controls, left mouse shoots, right mouse drops science potions(these do nothing but look cool). Rotate the mouse wheel to change your firing angles. You fire where your little arms point.

Game Play:

The game takes place on a 5/5 grid of teleporters that teleport you around every 10 seconds. Shoot the current active(the glowing ones) teleporter to stop a jump and reset the clock. When the count down reaches 3 of 10 seconds I deliberately slow the game down to help the user make a last second decision. Every 10 SECONDS you teleport to a random position.

When you kill Zombies collect their skulls(they drop them sometimes.

Have fun because you cant die or take damage in the build I submitted:

awesome times :DD.



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#148Graphics3.69
#730Theme2.97
#762Humor1.92
#769Innovation2.69
#819Mood2.39
#863Fun2.54
#915Overall2.67
#937Audio1.44

Comments

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:58am

The "Web" version doesn't work on the web. It takes me to a download link for a .zip file.

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:03am

I enjoyed the concept and the art style, got kinda boring after I realized I couldn't die though. Still looks nice though :)

raincole says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:04am

In fact, all of your four links point to the same URL.

Bactopiad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:04am

Your "web" link goes to a zip. :(

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:15am

I have not figured out that fancy dropbox link that people have created. When you unzip the folder you find a Unity web player build.

JAH2488 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:26am

Really enjoyed the art style. Voxels are always fun.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:29am

Neat game! I love the graphics. It was a little hard to hit anything not on a 45 degree angle.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:35am

For the ununzippers I have posted the very same build on my website. Now web is web.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:50am

I love the graphic style!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:13pm

I like the art, It would be nice if you could die hehe

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Yeah at the last minute I was working through all of the bugs and the whole death thing was pretty painful to leave in.

Clurect says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:04pm

I really like the graphics and I think that it will be fun with sound and maybe a bit of explanation why the game slows down.

juaxix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:12pm

I love the voxels models and slowed time :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Well teleporting slows causes a rift in subspace which we experience as time slowing down. But its just an illusion because we can't exist in subspace.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:02am

Your voxel work is nice! Especially the teleport effect.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:23am

Thanks everyone. I'm looking forward to LD 28.

evilDan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:17am

LOVE the aesthetic of this game but really wish it had sound. Also LOVE the scroll wheel affecting the angle of your shot - that makes it feel very badass.

Wish that the baddies were more evenly scattered - sometimes it would take a while to find guys to shoot at.

Very VERY cool!!!

hypp says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Interesting idea and nice graphics. I found it a bit hard to aim.

iiechapman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Love the voxel look! I did not hear any sound, I wonder if there is sound at all? BTW I checked out your voxel LTTP, I LOVE IT!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:50pm

iiechapman: Indeed there is no sound. I did not budget my time very well :D. The LTTP post was a ton of work! thanks for taking time to look at that.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:32pm

This is pretty cool, it suffers from slow down for me but I enjoy the voxel style.

atgaubatz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:09am

Great visuals!

Orni says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:56am

I think the controls would be more fluid if you ditch the mouse controls entirely, just use the space bar for shooting.
(since the firing angle is fixed to the movement)

the game is great though - loved the graphical style and killing zombies is always fun. good job :)

this might become great on mobile devices if you develop it further

ben says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Great look and feel! I agree it might have been interesting to try it without mouse controls. I had no issues with the mouse though. I think it would've been great with gamepad as well.

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:10pm

dem voxels give me voxels

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:28pm

The blocky graphics were pretty cool.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]