August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Maurading Guy

by sthreet - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I didn't get it as smooth as I wanted to, the collision detection sucks and whatnot, but its what I could come up with.
Also their is a fairly large difficult curve at 10 seconds in with the infantry.

Controls: Arrow keys, ADF for switching weapons. Spear should kill cavelry, sword should kill infantry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1029Mood1.89
#1148Fun1.86
#1154Theme1.90
#1154Innovation1.86
#1176Graphics1.52
#1178Overall1.95
#1500Coolness35%

Comments

Reevezy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54am

A bit hard but it was pretty fun. Well done.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57am

An interesting mechanic with the rock/paper/scissors type battling. With some more polish I feel like this could go somewhere. It would probably help a lot to have a key reset the game instead of moving the mouse over.

sthreet says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:00am

I will definitely add that in a future version dvc. I'm already working on a non-ludum dare one, now that I got this idea. Thanks Reeveyzy.

raincole says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:07am

way too hard... i can't even keep alive for 10 sec

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:09am

=/ Sorry, I guess I didn't quite get it. Do you give the controls anywhere?

sthreet says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18am

Arrow keys, ADF for switching weapons. Spear should kill cavelry, sword should kill infantry.
From Kongregates controls tab, Probably should have stuck it in the description.
rain: It is intended to be hard in that version, if you do stay alive 10 seconds it becomes much harder.

Stryphe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:19am

Steep learning curve but it was fun.

sthreet says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:36am

Thanks Stryphe.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:28am

Challenging and amusing

Diventurer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Really hard, and controls are weird.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]