August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Vacuous

by Rhinoceros - 48 Hour Compo Entry

!!Press escape to unpause at the beginning, allowing the game to start.

You are a spaceship!

Shoot down all orange objects for maximum point scorage. New enemies come every 10 seconds. Upon death, you will be given 5 seconds of shields. This will block bullets and normal enemies, but don't go hug any bosses.

Pick up powerups to be better at shooting orange objects. Bombs will destroy all orange on the screen (except bosses, but they'll take a lot of damage from it). You can have 3 powerups (not including additional bombs), picking up more powerups will replace the oldest one with the one you just picked up.

Powerups:
speed - makes you and your bullets faster
big bullets - makes your bullets bigger. Bigger bullets do more damage to bosses.
firing speed - increases firing speed
more bullets - makes you shoot more bullets. More bullets do not do more damage to bosses.
bomb - gives you another bomb.

Controls:

WASD/arrow keys/PoV hat/joystick 1 - movement
O/button 2 - shoot
P/button 3 - bomb
escape/button 10 - pause
C - configure controller
spacebar - skip reconfiguring button in controller setup

Addenda:
-If it starts complaining about controller configuration, go to %appdata%/roaming/LOVE/RTDSE/config and delete it.
-Joysticks won't work unless they're plugged in when the program starts.
-See if you can find the hidden pun relating to the theme.
-The "(almost) entirely" is meant to refer to the fact I didn't make HardonCollider or LOVE. Hah. Didn't make LOVE.
Huh. Had to remove the umlauts. Guess this box doesn't like UTF-8 or something.
-The .love is an archive, so you can unpack it to look at the source. It's alllll in main.lua because I'm lazy. Don't look at it if you've had a large lunch. It's... not pretty. It's not very optimized and barely legible. The legibility issue is partly because I almost never comment my code. Which is a habit I should probably break (right now, when I DO comment, it usually gets ridiculous. Go look at the first 5-6 lines of love.draw()).

V1.1 - renamed a variable, fixing occasional crashes on boss #3.

The post mortem is over here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/28/vacuous-post-mortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#572Fun2.91
#676Graphics2.70
#718Audio2.23
#771Overall2.85
#841Mood2.35
#906Humor1.59
#1110Theme2.25
#1188Innovation1.65

Comments

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:15am

Nice clean graphics, solid gameplay, great controls
It was very to the point and was executed perfectly.

The powerups didn't really seem to change anything though?

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17am

The gameplay is pretty standard but I liked the vector-style graphics, and the powerups were a nice addition.

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:24am

Nice solid enjoyable shooter. Very replayable. I need to beet boss 2! I like the graphical style as well.

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:25am

er ... beat not beet :)

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30am

Huh... I could not start the game :-( I see the title screen, but the game won't respond to me pressing keys or clicking.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:50am

I like the Vectrex style. Unfortunately got an error after defeating the level three boss:

main.lua:905: attempt to perform arithmetric on global 'num' (a null value)

Traceback

main.lua:905: in function 'activephase'
main.lua:1530: in function 'update'
[C]: in function 'xpcall'

Rhinoceros says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:09am

1) Ah, god damnit, I thought I renamed all those variables.

-Should- be fixed now. had to rename num2 to num on 903 & 907.

2) yeah, to start the game you need to unpause it (escape). I probably should have made that more clear.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:39am

I love the art style. Nice simplistic shooter!

Conflei says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:39am

Shooter yes!

leafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:50am

Pretty nice. You've got a good amount of levels which is not an easy feat.

poohshoes says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:14am

The windows version crashes whey I try to load it up.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:07am

Very nice, lots of levels!

Rhinoceros says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:11pm

@poohshoes, could you give a more detailed crash report? Does it crash before opening the window, does it open the game, but the window turns blue and gives while text and tracebacks and main.lua?

Otherwise, I'm really relieved that 3 planned levels was enough. I'd originally planned to do 5, but couldn't even start doing the last two because polishing was more important to me.
Still never did add in an animation for bombs, though that was something I'd thought about doing for about half the I was coding.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Nice work on the vector-art, it looked great! The pacing is a little slow for a shoot-em-up though. Needs more things to come at the screen and shoot at you. But those bosses are freaking hard! The boss fights are the fun parts.

FireZenk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:19am

Really nice game! A lot of bullets on screen at the same time!
But on OSX: bombs doesn't show and the keys "O" and "P" are inverted :S

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Nice vector art.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Nice game! (and it works well with an Xbox 360 gamepad (on Linux))

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:35am

Nice shooter a bit too much waiting.

alts says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:12am

Wow, this feels really polished. Made it to wave 56 with 5 lives left before I quit. I feel like it could use a bit more challenge or a faster pace to keep me really interested. One other recommendation is having a dedicated HUD area. Having enemies and bullets behind text is kind of upset.

Other than that, this is a really well executed game. Good job. Really impressed with the bullet patterns too.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:55am

i like the graphics, gameplay, but no theme here, good sounds. Very funny.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Like a rudimentary bullet hell shmup, not to hard, fun, and good although repetitive boss battles. The button-layout felt very natural, and controls were responsive. Took me a while to get used to the hit box, but i'm not sure if i really want it to be smaller. Managed to get to wave 80 and got a score of 12640; i like that the game continues with random waves, cause i didn't want it to spot after those three stages. Good work!

anotheryeti says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:05am

Felt super clean and complete. Nice job!

GVmakesGames says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:58am

Nice graphics, very very simple. I don't know what the powerups do (but I downloaded only the .love and edited it, so I think I've destroyed something). I'll download the original again, and see what do they do.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:04pm

I didn't get the power up effect =/

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]