August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Astenroids

by GuillaumeGwi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a game like asteroids except in here there are no asteroids, only you... and your past clones...

Every now and then a clone of you is created replicated your old movement and actions... you must stay alive but it's an easy easy game.

You can rewind time at any time, even if you loose !

The goal is to make the maximum score, even if it's illimited game... You gain score by keeping you alive every seconds and you can gain points when killing an old you (no space time continuum breaking concerns for now !)

If you want you can personalize difficulty just open level1.xml in the folder media and change the values in the Difficulty tag (move speed, rotation speed, fire interval, spawn interval and fire move speed).

This is my first LD, i didn't have time to make sound or graphics... :(

Controls:

Arrows key : move your ship (squary thingy like)
Ctrl : shoot a magnific projectile (one shot kill no kidding)
Shift : rewind time
Shift + Up or Down : change rewind speed
P : pause
Escape : Quit
Enter : Start

It was done with SFML and tinyxml2.

Enjoy and rate please !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#277Innovation3.37
#378Theme3.35
#449Overall3.16
#476Fun3.00
#959Mood2.13
#1097Graphics1.90
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:56am

Great minds think alike.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Oh yeah,you're right. We came up with a very similar idea executed in very different ways.

nandor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Nice, although I found it quite difficult to move around.

NuSan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Really great game. At first it seems difficult but in fact when you understand what you do, it's cool. I like the rewind idea.

yetatore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:51am

*Woppity* (expression of surprise), I dont expect that game really. The mechanics are really well putted in the game, are twice challenging and controllable... I like too much.
Lacks of audio, 8-bit music and sfx might be great.
I have fun with your game. Congratz and happy Ludum Dare!

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:54am

Great! Love how you create your own level by your actions,
also fun to see how all rewinds...

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:26am

how the hell do you code a rewind time function, i enjoyed it because i was completely intrigued, awesome mechanic! simple but fun!

stenol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:59am

Great little game !

dkilford says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Overall solid game. Interesting concept (even though I've seen it done before in previous 48h comps). Really good first ludum dare attempt.

oajfh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Interesting idea. The character doesn't seem to slow down though.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:18pm

That was actually quite cool! 8500 score haha! Fun game, and SFML 2 - yey!

Gremlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:13pm

I managed to get up to 530 points. Very clever time-travel mechanics.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:16am

Extremely interesting concept. I liked it a lot!

some sound of when the clone was coming or a more obvious timer, so that it doesnt spawn inside of me would have been nice.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:48am

great work. really enjoyed this one.

psc1997 says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 6:31am

Woooow! Really Great Game :)
Rewind Time is very good and surprising idea ;)

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:19pm

it is a good idea

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]