August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Grind: 10 Seconds at a Time

by allenfreese - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First LD attempt. Classic NES/Gameboy RPG stylings.

The three meters in the upper corner of the screen need to be kept up, by pressing SPACE_BAR next to the items with the bubbles. Every 10 seconds a device comes from the back room's conveyer system that needs to be removed by pressing SPACE_BAR, as well (there was additional gameplay here, but I ran out of time).

See how long you can last before you miss a device, or die from boredom, hunger, or lack of potty breaks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#101Graphics3.87
#1672Coolness26%

Comments

jennyludum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:22am

I vote for you!

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Why only OSX version :/ Art looks great from the screenshot though.

allenfreese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:32pm

I've updated the link to the Mac version since it wasn't downloading properly.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:25am

I managed to play it on my friend's MAC :) Only because 1: I only have PCs, and 2: this game looked very fun :)

very nice :D

-ENDESGA

tamy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:27am

Cool visual style,can´t play it tho.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:44am

I like the graphics. You should've do that game on Windows too, Windows is a main OS for games now unfortunately.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:11am

It looks nice from the screenshot and I'd love to give it a try, and I do use a Mac, but when I opened the .zip I got a .cpgz file and I'm not sure how to use it. Is there an app I need to get to open it? I'll check back later :)

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:28am

Mac exclusive game? You are my hero! Thank you! We should have more of these. I liked the sprite of the character and the fact that it's monochrome :-)

sev_inf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:31am

H bar can be bit slower, but it cool game anyway. Pity its mac only, more people should see it.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:38am

Yay, a mac game:D good to see one of these:)
I love the art, and the gameplay feels really smooth. But for a while I was a little confused, a bit of background would be nice.

But overall, good game:)

avh4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:44am

Man, that little (gender-neutral) dude is hungry!

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:06am

I like the idea and it looks and feels good. A bit more play testing might have helped to notice that the hunger bar is way to fast. I had to stand at the table most of the time, eating the food as soon as it refreshed, and still, the hunger bar went down. But still a nice entry!

HD408 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Can't play, don't have OS/X. Looks nice anyway, congratulations on your first attempt!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:12am

Amusing! I liked it

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:28pm

That looks very good, I can't play it :( (because of my PC of course)

laserbeam says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:55am

Cute game, but nothing much to it, just a bit of grind here and there. But, I guess this is by design ;). Anyway, I don't see what you can do to make it better or play with the idea, other than making a minimal sims.

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:18pm

incredible

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]