August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Food Court Hell

by Cosrnos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Food Court Hell is a top down shooter where your keyboard and clicking skills are challenged! Start off killing one enemy at a time and soon you'll be fighting off hundreds of robots!

Controls:
WASD: Movement
Click: Shoot Bullet
F: Heal yourself (at a rate of 1 HP per 2 mana)
SPACE: Trigger next wave
SHIFT: Kill all enemies for a cost of 50 Mana. Enemies will not drop anything but you will still get the score bonus for the kills.
Y: Pause game

Thank you to everyone who has provided their input thus far! I love to know what you liked and didn't like and how other people would do things. I now realize the importance of art in a game and plan on adding better art in a post-compo version of the game.

Post Mortem: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/26/ld27-post-mortem-3/

I took the theme of "10 Seconds" and decided each wave would come after 10 seconds. Additionally, I added a powerup to delay the next wave even further, allowing the player to handle the higher levels.

Currently, the only Boss exists at Level 50. However, reaching a high score of 5000 points unlocks insane mode, which is a lot tougher. Try all modes for the full experience!

Food Court Hell features 4 Difficulties, many powerups, and somewhat addictive gameplay.
------------------------------------
I'm really proud of this as it's the first game I actually created without help, which is a pretty big accomplishment. I plan on releasing future versions separate from the compo edition as I've got plenty of ideas to improve the game c:
------------------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#352Fun3.18
#808Humor1.82
#814Overall2.79
#925Theme2.70
#989Innovation2.31
#996Mood2.04
#1082Graphics1.94

Comments

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55am

Got to lvl 26 before getting bored, like your idea of power-ups making the game "easier" while difficult

siat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:58am

Fun to play. Could use some backgrounds.

nikkesen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05am

Fun. Seems a touch laggy, maybe it's the server.

Dotanukii says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:07am

I like the gameplay a lot and you did a lot to keep the game interesting with the different enemies and the mana - pressing spacebar over and over again is also fun. Overall it does a good job at keeping me interested, it could use some art and some more obvious cues of your stats but the gameplay is spot on and fun to play, great job!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:38am

Would have liked to see a background or something food court related... game functioned well, needs balancing but I understand the time constraints. Overall good work.

Loren says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:59am

nice job! I liked the power ups on drop, cool idea

Conflei says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:07am

SO ADDICTIVE, GOOD ONE.

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09am

Fun game. Too easy though. I really liked the upgrades

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:14am

This is nice and simple. The main thing that I think you could improve is the way the information is conveyed to the player. For example, it's not immediately clear when I'm taking damage (without watching the health meter way up in the left). I also didn't notice much effect from a lot of the pickups, because they seemed to be pretty mild modifiers. If all of the changes were more discrete, things would be a little clearer.

zillix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:15am

nicely done! made it past the boss. the field got really cluttered at the end with powerups that I couldn't use because I had maxed the stat; it probably wouldn't hurt to just hide them automatically

Budda says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:27am

Very easy, would've been a bit better with some harder enemies that came along as you picked up upgrades.
Got to the level 50 boss and killed him long ebfore he could get to me.

Pebsie says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Really fun, I love it! :D

Erifdex says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Really addicting! Died at level 113 on easy after spamming the space bar. Not sure what the whole "food court" thing is about though!

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Got to the point where I was just spamming the space bar. Was disappointed when after I saw the boss, I never saw him again. I died at 121 while kiting a HUGE mob of creeps.

Pretty neat game, think it might be a bit more challenging if powerups were tradeoffs and disappeared after they'd been on screen for too long.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:23am

Fun game. Easy though

food court?

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:43am

Heh, gameplay is very similair to on that my entry has. Pretty hard even on the medium difficulty

Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Good work getting something submitted, the first LD is always tough. Nice to see lots of power-ups and stats.

shard123 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Addicting and fun, I loved the powerups. With some polish it could be really good!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]