August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hackfield

by Katamori - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hackfield is a hacker-simulator game, influenced by Deus Ex and Uplink. It takes place on an imaginery future, where Internet has restricted and traced way to use and an open-source professional hacker program was made for people to prevent it.

The question is that: what can you find in the deepest memory blocks?

Features:
- 50 levels, each with procedurally generated maps
- ridiculously simple game mechanics
- 10 difficulty levels
- procedurally generated name for all the computers (it has some silly combinations, though, but hey, what do you expect in 48 hours?)
- minimaldesign for graphics

Game language: LUA
Special libs: LOVE
Graphics: Paint.NET
Sounds: SFXR
Font: Silkscreen Expanded (not my own stuff)

Source contains every files that is used in the game, and even some that isn't.

Trivia: my original idea for LD#27 was dropped, so it was made in ~26 hours only.

Important informations:
- Gameplay is explained in messages at the bottom of the screen while playing on levels.
- Game was finished in hurry, so expect bugs. You have been warned.
- Game is essentially(!) designed for 1280x1024 screen resolution. If you monitor doesn't support this resolution, you won't be able to play Hackfield. I'm sorry.

Known bugs:
- pressing WASD too quickly may make you enter into solid objects
- standing on exit while not all the terminals are visited makes second counter get negative value (in this case levels are not regenerated anymore, which makes some maps impossible to beat)
- awful grammar mistakes. Seriously. Trust me, I know about them.

EDIT 23:31 08/26/2013
Download links updated!
- small tileset colour changes have happened (easier to distinguish elements)
- "second counter goes to negative" bug has fixed (at least it happens in only one noticed circumstance)
- text appearances at terminal is changed to make it more obvious
- somewhere there was an unfinished line. fixed

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#227Mood3.23
#343Innovation3.27
#459Theme3.28
#466Humor2.40
#569Overall3.04
#626Graphics2.77
#666Audio2.33
#879Fun2.52

Comments

nitrocrime says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10am

.... Chrome says it wasn't completely downloaded and could be dangerous..

Got it to finish downloading and I didn't really understand the gameplay. I was somehow teleported to a new area for no real reason..

Katamori says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:59am

@nitrocrime: everything is eplain in messages on the bottom of the screen. Go to next level to get new messages and know more. The further you go, the more you are taught.

Katamori says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:01pm

*explained

Damnit, I can't write properly.

small trouble says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:08pm

I couldn't get past the tutorial of the game, I get that you had to get access to terminals to get to new levels but I didn't see anything that looked like a terminal or reacted when I pushed space.

The concept of it is good and adds to the mood but the gameplay problems take away from it.

XmmmX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Yay, I made it up to level 18.

Since you put so much effort in writing a comment to explain your rating on my game I am going to do the same for you. :)

Overall: Stable game, good concept.

Innovation: I have never played anything like this before so it actually is very innovative. ^^

Fun: It gets a little bit monotonous after awhile but it was still fun.

Theme: 10 seconds are included so it fits. :D

Graphics: It was sometimes hard to distinguish the tiles from another since they almost look alike. But I think that is supposed to since this is a haking game and haking is difficult. :P

Audio: Nothing special, but nothing bad :)

Humor: I don't know if it's supposed to be but I think the story was kind of hilarious. xD

Mood: I liked the main menu and the loading sequence. They created a lot of atmosphere.

All in all: Good Entry! :)

Katamori says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:42pm

@small trouble: in the description I menioned even for nitrocrime, I attached pictures about the tiles the tutorial is talking about - exactly for being able to recognise them. If you can't find, then wait - even though map is resorting, you don't have to hurry.

@XmmmX: oh, hello Mr. "2d sprites in 3d world"! :D thanks for the reply! About innovation and mood: Uplink have done almost the same things, and that game inspired me, so...I don't know...maybe Hackfield is just a cheap ripoff of Uplink.

Either way, it was worth to create.

Katamori says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:48pm

@small trouble: by waiting, I obviously mean to search certain elements. After some levels, you should be able to distinguish them.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:24pm

I cant seem to open your game, sorry :C The worst part is that it doesn't even show any errors. It just does nothing when i try to run the .exe file.
I downloaded, installed LOVE and tried to run your game from source as described in here: http://love2d.org/wiki/Getting_Started , but i still got nothing... :C

Katamori says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46pm

I have no idea, Mr. "Clonogram"...LOVE often has issues with executables. Even when I ran it on my computer, once it worked well, once it didn't.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:13pm

I've downloaded it but nothing is happening when I click the exe file.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Ok, managed to run it on a different machine, so here we go:
- Innovation: i can see how you drew a lot of inspiration from Uplink, but this game on its own has a pretty nice concept.
- Fun: kept me playing for quite a while, definitely will come back and try to finish this game.
- Theme: yep... 10 seconds. nuff said.
- Graphics: nice and simplistic. And it really fits this kind of game, more detailed graphics could have made a mess out of this.
- Audio: same here, I think. Nothing special, but really fitting the general tone of the game.
- Humor: well, this game doesn't try to be funny.
- Mood: the loading sequence made me think i'm really hacking something, so i think you achieved what you wanted here.
- Overall: solid game. Like Uplink, made me feel like i'm hacking some high secured data. That is an awesome feeling.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Hum - the gameplay is hard to get into. It took me a while to figure out the different tiles at the beginning (and I still don't have any idea what it means for me to be logged). I finally learnt how to go to the next level, but terminals later on were a problem - any time I accessed one, it just says that my log is cleared, but the number of needed terminals doesn't go up?

It might be just a bit buggy though; sometimes I had "2 of 0 terminals needed" or "-x seconds left before the modification".

I really wish the login sequence wouldn't take so long or could be skipped.

I like the graphics and idea though - and making a game in 26 hours is always impressive. Congratulations on finishing your first LD entry!

apaneske says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:42pm

I like the concept and the setting for the game.

Katamori says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:53pm

@epicSpeedTurtle: thanks for the review! Glad to see another Uplink enthusiatic.

@TobiasW: I tried to do what I could for giving an exact description about game mechanics. I definitely wanted to avoid adding a regular "PLAZ HALP MEH!" menu, so I built it into the story. However, if you get into the game, doesn't matter how hard is it. Or am I wrong? Did if decrease the fun-factor?

The number of logs about your activity shows, how the number of antivirus scanfields increase at the next time when the map is regenerated. It doesn't affect the gameplay seriously, since you get 576 tiles and maximum 200 logpoints can be appeared on the screen.

To make the number of reached terminal go up, you have to go through them. Standing on them isn't enough, you have take another step. It's because of the way as the script is triggered. You may notice that exit works on totally the same way.

I know about bugs too; sadly, there's no way for me to fix the "seconds" bug; it works badly only in the executable. I couldn't even encounter any "2 of 0 terminals needed" bugs. Also, at the end I was in hurry, and I became strongly stressful because of issues about intro triggering and setting "seconds" to zero. At last, I made a quick solution, that seemed to be perfect after compiling.

Anyway, I think I'm gonna ask about these malfunction on LOVE forums.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:23pm

I'll have to try this on my laptop as it doesn't scale right on my desktop and I can't see anything properly :( looks cool in the screenshots though

Katamori says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Attention! For those who have tried the game!

Some changes have fixed! Refresh your download! (if you didn't delete my game right after first try :D)

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Very nice tone and mood.

You can also advertise this for Mac/Linux if you change the name of the Source.zip file to .love (.love files are just zip files that can be run by people who have the LOVE engine downloaded)

I would release a windowed version, as running it on my dual monitor setup screwed up my display settings (LOVE doesn't seem to handle that situation very well).

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Very confusing, especially at first. I'm guessing I was meant to collect those smaller bricks, and not run into the large bricks? It was somewhat enjoyable once I figured that out.

The tutorial doesn't give you time to read the instructions. Also, I recommend not making players sit through that very long bootup sequence every time they want to restart.

Katamori says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:49am

@MarekkPie: Thanks! LOVE link is added. Can't promise windowed version, though.

@BlackBulletIV: you always have time to read the tutorial. The fact that level is changing, doesn't affect you chances to win. Also, map1 tutorial shows the main purpose, map2 the details, map3 too, and so on. What's the problem with it?

Scripting intro was a complete nightmare, there's no way for me to make it skippable. I'm terribly sorry, I know that it can be annoying.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Tried it two times and didn't get anywhere. :/ I reached that terminal (I guess? the only block that looked different than the rest) and nothing happened anymore, pressing space brought me back to the main menu and I had to start over. I did read the tutorial text, but it didn't really help. :|
From what I can tell it seems quite promising and well thought out though.

Katamori says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:06pm

ShellfishGames: okay, it's almost like X-files for me.

- terminals appear only after level 10. Impossible to encounter them before that.
- the only action I added to spacebar is going to the next level, when you are standing on the exit. Impossible to go to main menu by pressing spacebar. Only W,A,S and D allow that, only if you lose.

Most certainly you went to the antivirus field that drops you back to the main menu, since thats counted as "game over".

The exit is a small monitor, that's even brighter than the surrounded blocks. It is showed in the tutorial of the first map

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Boy, Chrome did NOT like this EXE. Managed to pick it up with IE. Very outside-the-box concept, and..while I didn't get too far, I enjoyed what I played.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:55pm

I'm not sure that I understand the mechanics. The goal appears to be to collect the little squares, and to press space on the computers. I'm not really sure what end this serves though.

I like the look of it. I think my colourblindness might hamper my ability to see the playfield.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:03pm

This was actually a really great game, once you read the wall of text.

If you can get past the tutorial (and the tutorial should be shorter and clearer) it's very fun! Also, a better variety of tiles would make it clearer to understand.

Katamori says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:08pm

But...I fdon't get why everyone wants to collect those blocks! :D I mean, none of the ingame texts talk about collecting small shiny things :D

Kragnir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:50pm

It seems like nothing in the game really make any difference. Essentially you are just going to the terminals and then to the computer. The timing make no difference, logging seem to do nothing.

Starting at security level 6 the game get really slow since almost every time you will just be stuck and can't go anywhere. But really the game was the same all the time. The only thing you do is wait.

The idea was kind of nice but it focused too much on the theme and turned into a overly complicated waiting game.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:11pm

I love hacking games! Really fun this one too :D

alts says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:42am

Game doesn't work for me. The problem seems to be that 1280x1024 is not a valid resolution for my screen, and Love aborts after failing to find a screen mode. I changed the conf file to not render fullscreen, and finally I was able to get into the game, but because of the forced 1024 lines of vertical resolution, I couldn't play (buttons are beyond the end of my screen).

Katamori says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:30am

I didn't expect for that many issues with the screen resolution...

X-0r says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:07pm

I totally fail to start the game, the executable won't even show in the task-manager. I'm using win7 x64... If any of the .dll's are in another folder, I recieve a warning about missing libraries, if all are within the same folder, there's no warning, not even anything happening at all...

Are there any prerequisites to run this game on my machine?

Katamori says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:41pm

I have no idea. I'm sorry.

It was tested on my Windows XP 32-bit, and needs 1280x1024 resolution. That's all I can tell. :/

Skye says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:15pm

a bit hard to get into

hbocao says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:08am

Very cool idea, but it's very confusing at the beginning. Is there always a visible exit? Very often I didn't get one. So I just stood there until one popped up. Love the minimalist graphics and sounds. Yeah, I know it took I lot of work for you to do the intro, but it's just annoying after every retry. Solid entry, man.

loxo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:18am

Couldn't run the game neither. I'm on a Mac with 1366x768 screen resolution.

anotheryeti says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:52am

Couldn't get it running on Mac either. Tried running with Löve 0.8.0 and Mountain Lion.

lalanl says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 5:16am

The wide caps text was kind of hard to read, and it was a little stressful to try to read the instructions with the timer beeping, but the concept was really interesting and the game was pretty.

I didn't understand if I was doing well or not at first, but I wanted to keep playing anyway.

Binary Gambit says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:12am

Fantastic game! Only i suggest you make the "exit" green so people can see it easier, and then make it more blue as the levels go on. I liked that the background got more complex so you cant see where you are going. 5/5

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:00am

Wow a lot of data everywhere.
I got really lost during the first tries, then I learnt because every info are here, just have to read, and I had fun.
It was nice to look for a path in those levels, well done btw for the procedural generation.
I didn't have the courage to finished it. But I enjoyed how you build a entire universe around this simple gameplay.

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:39pm

I couldn't actually get the game to start. I got the .love, as I am on Mac OSX Mountain Lion, but the mouseovers for the start menu weren't really working right. Couldn't click the run option.

someone says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Nice concept. It does get a bit dull after a while though, it often takes too long to get to the next advancement.
I stopped level 30. Security levels 6 and 7 were just waiting ages for it to be possible...
Nice graphics, though more distinction would have been nice. Sometimes spent the whole 10 seconds just looking for the target.

Katamori says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:13am

@someone: You seriously stopped after going through the (way too annoying, I can see now) security level 6? The sudden change is just coming there! :D just joking, of course; thanks for playing so long!

Delca says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:37pm

An enjoyable game, with a simple yet fun to play game mechanic. Some kind of 8bit music would have been a nice addition, but the game as it is is already good.

nthird says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:46pm

One more in the category of couldn't play due to having an old monitor that won't support the resolution. Looks like a really cool concept though.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Hi Katamori, I would like to play and rate your game but both my notebooks (MacBook and HP with WinXP) have display with resolution 1280x800. It is not working.

Katamori says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Sadly, the game is essentially designed for 1280x1024 resolution. Even if it'd be windowed, you wouldn't be able to see the lower part of the window, which is kinda important.

01rafael says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Great concept! I like thouse random worlds, generated by the program. infinity of combinstions. plus timelimit. game was surprised me!

Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:37am

Hi Katamori, there is still 16 hours for playing and rating. It's enough time for finding and visiting somebody with HD monitor for Mac. I will try it! ;-)

Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Hi Katamori, I visited my friend this evening and played your game on his computer. It is an interesting concept. Game is nice and polished. Good job!

Katamori says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Thanks for paying attention to my game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]