August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Viral

by Kaldrick - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game took me... I don't know, somewhere around 15 to 20 hours? I've been working around house a lot, so I wasn't able to focus only on the game. I guess it can be seen in crappy art and even worse music (my first track ever - I'm terribly sorry for it ;P I wanted it to sound like heart beating, but I failed).

Game is about a virus that is going to infect a body of a little girl. You kill leukocytes and mutate to be stronger, up until the moment, when... You'll find out (eventually).

WSAD to move the virus.
LMB to kill leukocytes when you are close enough - and by that I mean right next to them ;).

I was going to add more things - weapons, more stats, different enemies - but I had no time and I'm tired as hell.. So I guess it has to suffice ;)

M to mute music. Possibly the most important part ;P

Things used:
UNITY and C#
GIMP + Inkscape
Inudge + Audacity

This awesome tutorial (heavily modified): http://wiki.unity3d.com/index.php?title=GridMove

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#573Humor2.20
#734Audio2.21
#778Innovation2.68
#869Mood2.31
#961Graphics2.19
#1060Theme2.44
#1079Overall2.41
#1111Fun2.00

Comments

Zelosfan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:51am

Can't run on Windows 7:
"There should be 'LDWinBuild_Data'
folder next to the executable"

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:53am

Mission failed (phew)
Why do the seconds left count up? :P
Interesting game though, good job.

Baburo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:56am

The overall experience was a bit confusing. :P I can see you've had a good idea behind the concept, but I guess you didn't have enough time to create it properly.
I wasn't sure when I was able to attack and when not, etc. Maybe you should try adding something more clear to indicate that?
I liked the music track though. :) It fitted the mood nicely.

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:47am

@Baburo
Yeah, if I had a little bit more time I'd put together some sort of tutorial or what-not. Also i think it bugs every once in a while, when you try to attack the leukocytes.
@Zelosfan
I'll check it out after work, thanks for the comment ;)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:51am

Not bad, I like the idea, but the game freezes a little bit

paraple-geek says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:16am

I like the idea but the game phase laked of clarity, i didn't know when i was supposed to move or not. Interesting idea aniway good job.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:44am

Mute the music? No way - nice track! I was getting crashes during the game play though (Mac/Chrome).

Rave Radbury says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:44am

The game seems a bit rough and unpolished, some aspects of the HUD were confusing and the gameplay felt choppy. However, I really enjoyed the mechanics and setting (evolving biology is always cool).

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:53am

Game lacks polish, which is sad because the concept is attractive, and made me frustrated not to be able to play it properly.
Make a version 2.0 after ludum dare end, it will be a nice game.

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:38am

Good idea but I think full mouse control may be better.
I'd like to see the virus evolve (bigger size, change color) when level up.

as3boyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:55am

It's hard to get into game.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Interesting concept

josefnpat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:44pm

The web player doesn't work on linux, please release a linux binary!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:38am

It should be fastened up and should be fully mouse driven. Aside from that it's a nice game and an interesting concept :)

Kragnir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:36am

Like the idea but there seems to be a lot of issues. Sometimes you can attack during the opponents turns, sometimes they can attack during your turn, sometimes you can attack more than 3 times, sometimes they can move during your turn. Sometimes you can't attack an enemy, sometimes the health bar floats away from enemies.

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:22am

The premise is nice and cool, but controlling the game is quite hard and annoying. Also graphics could use a little bit more touch.

supermaximo93 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Interesting idea. I liked how the turn structure was "do as much as you can in 10 seconds". Although the attacking felt inconsistent, and when I died I wasn't quite sure why or how it happened.

Ossi says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:28am

Neat concept. I liked the grid based system and the upgrades for your virus. I could see where you were going with the art style and the music, so I wouldn't say it's that bad. Would have been nice if some of the UI elements were bigger and more clear to read against the background. Good job!

myachin says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Link is broken^ http://www.chainreaction.p.ht/Unity/LDBuild.html

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]