August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

YHTSTFO

by skarab - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You Have Ten Seconds To Figure Out.

First Ludum Dare, first game-like entry done with Coffee, lot of work and bugs discovered. Glad to participate.

The game is a little fps-platformer (mouse - right button+keyboard arrows or WSAD), which lets you 10s to reach the exit (cubish rotating grap) at each level.

No restart, frustrating, isn't it ?

There is nearly one tricky thing per level...
Put your headphones please :)
There are only 6 levels.

It restarts to the beginning when the time is over.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#427Graphics3.09
#566Mood2.71
#588Audio2.48
#645Humor2.08
#851Theme2.82
#906Innovation2.47
#1046Overall2.47
#1047Fun2.21

Comments

skarab says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 12:15pm

(end of level 3 crash, will update before compo end)

skarab says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Fixed. And now it doesn't quit when the count end. Not sure if I modify the graphics style a bit...

skarab says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 7:04pm

New version with splash screen and glitches fixes

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Hm.. I just keep falling through some big white blocks. Nice and simple graphic though!

Zelun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Well... i did not figured out. The controls i figured out at least

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43pm

This was a nice little game.
The controls are a bit weird. They're not very 'traditional'.
Anyway, that aside, this game has some good looking and simple graphics. I had fun running through the levels.

Todnut says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Chrome didn't want me to install Coffee because it "wasn't commonly used". Hmm. Is the install link to someplace weird or is Coffee really that rare?

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45pm

The Good: The levels not auto-restarting makes the time limit relevant. The graphics look very stark and neat. The VO is entertaining.

The Bad: The levels not auto restarting is infuriating, to the point where I don't want to play it. Known collision glitches. What was wrong with standard fps controls?

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:48pm

The game doesn't restart the level after I lost a level so I need to refresh the page all the time :/
Also the whole thing that a lot of stuff that you can't odd on just feels odd.. and there is way too long levels for a 10s game as I only beat the two first levels by luck.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:48pm

I feel that your game would benefit greatly from a restart button. I kept losing and I had to open the game again from the zip file and it became quite tedious.

eolhing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:48pm

The game looks cool but it has too much bugs to be really enjoyable. I like the synthesized voice :D

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Thanks! Note that white isn't collidable, you need to walk on red things (and black sometimes). Please report bugs, the only one I have here is moving the box at level 3 which is tricky. I guess its stressing, most levels are reacheable in 9/10s ;) Will try to release another version this week to fix things.

Todnut: its rare, nearly "pre-release" thing, should work nearly as good as Unity webplayer, but on Windows only for now.

..going back to play all those awesome games you know ;)

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54pm

..oh, level 4 isnt a bug, put your headspeakers on :)

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34pm

so fun, there are some bugs but the mood is reeally awewsome!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Can't play, requires exe to run.

link2x101 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Please, WASD + Space Bar and R (or falling off of the map) to restart.

The game has a nice atmosphere but is absurdly maddening due to the nonsensical controls.

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:12pm

5 stars on mood. Great audio

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:21pm

SpiralCodeStudio: will try to support Linux as soon as possible. Not Mac, I hate mac.
link2x101: ok, didn't know WASD was a standard, I suck at gameplay, will had it in next version as well. Thanks! (I know why because I just played lot of game with only WASD on french keyboard.. LOL)
Thanks Kunzbe, hopped to do an ambiant music as well, will add some in "out-of-compo" release.

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Good idea but the count down is way too fast.

skarab says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:43am

New version is out:
- fixed critical bugs
- slowed timer a bit (maybe too easy now ?)
- added WSAD :)
- added collision on white blocks since it doesn't change anything on the game.

Final version here, I'll update it out of compo later on.

EmptyFlash says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:59am

Really fun game. I liked how fast paced it was, but the physics were a little wonky on the 3rd level. Would have loved to see more, and maybe not go all the way to the start. Otherwise awesome though!

Infernal says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:01am

I don't know what is up, the game spins like crazy and I can't control it at all except to try changing view up or down. win7 x64

zillix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:12am

what a strange game. what a fantastic atmosphere. great job!

Optimus6128 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:35am

Nice one! With good rendered graphics.

drilltail says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:19am

Cool game! I really like games that make me panic.

I like the idea of a verbal 10-second timer; I haven't seen (seen?) one of those yet.

The only issue is that, particularly for the completely black level (while I could vaguely tell the direction it was mostly trial and error for me), I wish I didn't have to restart the entire game.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:03am

Pretty neat
Quick game!@

I love the audio of the guy saying 'you have 10 seconds to figure out'

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Five, four, three, two, one, over... Very much fun, completed it and didn't go insane! :D Nice stylish graphics, but your backbuffer size doesn't match the size of redering window (it's a little smaller than whole window) on desktop version. Also, I got stuck and couldn't move in 2nd level.

Sep 14, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Mission complete! \o/

Some levels were tricky, but I liked that each level had it's own gimmick.

I found this game very fun to play! (even if a bit frustrating at times)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]