August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

LevelUp!

by m110 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Completed my first game at LD! I could spend just one day working on it, so it's rather simple.

I've used Unity3D free and Orthello plugin (it's free aswell) for 2D support. Assets were created with bfxr and GIMP.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#432Fun3.07
#538Overall3.07
#729Audio2.22
#781Mood2.45
#792Theme2.90
#832Graphics2.43
#940Innovation2.41

Comments

orangepascal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:22am

not all graphics show up correctly on my Mac (looks like all font related stuff isn't rendered correctly) couldn't really find the 10-seconds twist on it, but it plays just fine! :)

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Good game, it's very difficult! oO
I always die when I'm level 3 or 4...

anjack says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:33pm

It worked well for me in Chrome on Windows 7. Fun game!

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:39pm

dude your game is amazing, i am a sucker for game mechanics that are challenging and fun.

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Awesome!

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Nice! But pretty hard to survive a bit longer. Also, given that all enemy trajectories are linear towards you, I wonder what bullet speed is good for?

m110 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30pm

@timtipgames yeah, I think it's pretty useless right now, my first idea of this game was slightly different. :) The key to win at higher levels is to use the Up/Down arrows to rotate the player by 180 degrees. I know it's still too hard though. :D

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:26pm

I like the simple graphic style.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:25pm

heh, nice game! simple yet satisfying.

daOyster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Fun game, simple concept, amazing result. 9/10 would play again.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Got a score of 96! Level like 20 or something.

Very good and basic concept that was executed well.

The sounds were terrible though. Sounds like they were made with BFGR (nothing wrong with that), so next time spend a few more minutes finding sounds that AREN'T incredibly obnoxious.

Good fun stuff besides!

Tifu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Nice, pretty fair and challenging. Not bad for a day's work.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:59am

Decent game. The upgrades seems a bit weak.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Neat little tower defense game

zzForrest says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Really fun! Pretty addictive! I liked how limited you feel at the beginning of it. It would have been nice to see a more obvious display of how long till you level up. Also, bullet speed is a useless upgrade, because it doesn't help you in any way. You could have made larger bullets, or maybe multi bullets instead.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:22pm

This game is very fun! Super job for 48 hours!

cwkx says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:40am

Stunning little entry - I loved the progression, simplicity, and unique control mechanic - congrats on pulling this off!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]