August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mashals of Knaveland

by Jorqell - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mashals of Knaveland is an ascii-based real-time stealth game with a deep plot, advanced AI, wonderful sounds and lots of features. Well, not really.

Made entirely with QB64 in 6 hours.

Edit: added fullscreen option.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#62Humor3.67
#351Mood3.00
#392Theme3.33
#459Overall3.15
#476Fun3.00
#690Audio2.30
#757Graphics2.57
#851Innovation2.56

Comments

Fanvadar says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 10:03am

not even bad

Drakonid says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 11:29am

It's pretty cool, it took me a few seconds to realize that the yellow A where the armors and I was the white @(didn't quite see it at first).

Kapitany says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Cool roguelike game :-)

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:44am

Simple but definitely playable ;)

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:51am

This was actually pretty fun. I enjoyed the intro dialog, and when it says "You took over 10 seconds and that is bad." The controls seemed a bit too sensitive to me, but I got used to it after a little.

kidder says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:52am

Loved the humor. I think the game could have benefited without the timer - but it didn't seem to have much of a consequence anyway.

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:53am

no Linux version :(

Layl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:50am

'had fun, cool game :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:04pm

The description of the king was just amazing. :P As for the rest, I did enjoy it, even if just for the humor.

Riley Hume says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Funny game. I'm not really a fan of ASCII, but the game was decent.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Amusing :D

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Haha, nice, reminds me of a game i made 5 years ago, love the ASCII take on it :)

Loerden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Quite nice!

cafeine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Clever and quite funny, neat graphics and sound effects.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Forsooth, I admire dost fluentness of thine cave generatoror.

MadcoreTom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:21am

Lol, "You didn't need to write anything there"

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Cool game!

mitkus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Cool, another text-mode game! Loved the writing style, and taking turn-based roguelike to real-time stealth game is a really fresh idea.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Really clever, funny, cool game with a great little story. You def. made it work in 6 hours. I featured it in my compilation of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you want to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o8Polnsp4F8

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Of all the ascii based games where you collect defunct pieces of armor, this is the best.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:45pm

That whole game was really just so you could write a ye olde conversation about 10 seconds wasn't it?

I enjoyed all of that.

You can't get ye flask.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:32am

The graphics and audio style brings back memories! I'm so bad at this, I couldn't complete the 1st level at difficulty 5 hahaha!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:54pm

pretty cool - quite obvious what was needed to do and challenging.

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:19pm

"Yay!", the king retorteth in a wickedly manner

Sold, right there

pighead10 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:55pm

The controls were clunky and difficult to use, but otherwise it is a fun game.

Kurisu says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:29pm

The dialogue was fun and fitting and the time limit worked well with the sprawling maps and it felt fun to to just get going and hope not to die on the way. The narrow gaps were a tad difficult to navigate, but that only added to the panic.
The sounds were minimal but were enough.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:01am

Ye Olde Schoole!
Awesometh.

Tater_hater says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Love these kind of stealth games!

jprogman says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 1:46am

Feels just like an old DOS game. (If it is a DOS game, forgive me.) Only problem is the time. 10 seconds to complete the level is a little short. I have to move instantaneously to the armor without looking around for enemies.
Otherwise, nice work!

Wertle says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:18am

Nice work. One thing that tripped me up was that I had a hard time spotting my character at first - maybe some bit of feedback to draw your eye to him as soon as the level loads (a bit of flashing, a different color) would help smooth that out.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]