August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten second(s) hand-swords

by Gaspard_ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first LD!
I decided to do the minimum, thus you only can move(Right-Left) attack(Down) ,parry(Up) , jump(Space), and switch swords(1,2,3).
I didn't encounter main difficulties but it took me the 48 hours.I hope to do better in the next LD.(Learning to draw might be a good start...)
Edit:Added a music, made in 40 minutes, 24 minutes before deadline.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#380Audio2.85
#573Humor2.20
#612Mood2.65
#906Innovation2.47
#933Graphics2.24
#1051Fun2.20
#1106Overall2.33
#1136Theme2.08

Comments

nikkesen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Your web link doesn't appear to work.

Burhuc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Web link doesn't work for me either.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:03pm

The blue guys are super hard to kill!

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:09pm

I'll remove the Web link until it's fixed.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:39pm

It's funny... Good job! :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Too much chaos for me, i've got lost in game play.. but I liked the music ;)

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Funny :)

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:49pm

'That file was not found.' :(

Balooga03 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Nice Job, I love the Music, I didn't get further than the axe orc.
I like the overall feel of the game, some more work on art could work wonders.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:07pm

That's so slow that I absolutely can't play it (using the .jar). I'm moving at 2 pixels per seconds.

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Balooga03:I really suck at drawing, don't I?
Latcarf:That's lag,I tested it on several machines but I don't remember having such a strong lag...

cafeine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Very good graphics style!

autlos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:40pm

As you said, you need to get better at making graphics. But they are fun btw!

I liked the game, but you should try to increase it's performance.

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:07pm

One of the odd ones this.

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:11pm

this game is fun, could definitely need work the graphics and the movement/feedback system

and also awesome music!

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:08am

Can't play either, the game is way too slow with the .jar. Too bad, this looked promising :(

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:13am

Something that I can't name makes me like this.

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:08pm

I did play it, but there was no theme connection, really. Simple game, works ok, but coludn't stop it, had to terminate the process (Applet)

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Sorry, the applet is broken, but I don't know how to remove it from the site...
However the ten second theme is the swords, every ten seconds bonus=combo*20 and the swords ability usually depends on the bonus.
Also, just fixed a bug: The game won't stop at the elk's anymore.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:58pm

A little bit abstract, but i like it ;)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Nice music but a little confusing gameplay.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Doesnt work for me...

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:22am

Woah. There's an impressive amount of stuff going on in this game, especially for having been developed in 48 hours. The downside of that is that it can be a little hard to figure out what's going on at first. A tutorial level or something would be great. You do a great job of increasing the difficulty of the enemies over time though, so awesome job overall!

MadcoreTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:21am

That orc is tough

MadcoreTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:22am

That orc is tough. I liked e hand-drawn style of the characters

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Graphics is nice, music is nice. The gameplay is confusing. Lots and lots of crocodiles gathered below me and killed me pretty much instantly as soon as I landed.

Getting hit should at least grant a short immunity and the battle system could use either some improving or some better explaining.

haxpor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Music is creepy in some sense, the best and I like it :)

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:02pm

@MadcoreTom,Kragnir:I would have added Imunity if I had time...
*Spoiler*:Killing axe orc: when they parry(they jump back and parry when you parry, and sometimes when you attack..), jump above them with space and get-em in the back...or get em in the air thanks to the 2nd swords lag abillity!
Crocks Kill instantly in your back,so equipe 3rd sword wait for the ten second bonus and follow the wave killing the stunned crocos easy!
haxpor: thanks :), it was made in a rush though, I could have made it less repetitive(only 6 min of music with 3 times the same theme...).

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Interesting gameplay! And realy scared audio.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:02am

Was a bit odd, and graphics and stuff were a bit too much. Would have preferred something more definitively clear and iconic.

It was definitely interesting and unlike anything else Ive played thus far.

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:17am

The audio is cool, the game is extremely confusing GUI and gameplay-wise and the graphics need some love, but it's a cool 1st LD entry !

murilo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:03pm

I couldn't do anything. Felt like I was moving at 1 pixel per minute or something. But the jump and sword moves worked. Confusing :( The graphics were good though.

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:10pm

@murilo The first ten seconds there are no mobs...
(the backround is scrolls so it may have been the speed your percieving)

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Quite funny, cool music and sounds. Great work!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Kind of hard to figure out what's happening, since there is no scrolling background to move in relation to. So it gets confusing, but there is an impressive amount of content.

Sheep says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Really weird game. Can't make any sense of it. It has some humor, but the gameplay is not so great. Without the moving background it doesn't really look like you're moving.

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:48pm

@Sheep The backround was only made for that reason and the mood, and yeah, I didn't implement all my ideas in the gameplay :( , at the same time , some people allready say it's confusing!
Should have made a tutorial, oh well, next time...

Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Could have done with some clear instructions on what to do as well as controls, but it was fun once I started getting some combos and finding out that you have a bonus etc Not bad for a first go, at least you finished a lot of people don't get that far! :)

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Pretty cool, The game was a little bit confusing with no obvious visuals as to what to do but I generally caught on after a while. I think the sword system was interesting but I didn't quite catch on to the pros and cons of each sword. Nice job anyway though

loxo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Interesting game concept! I like the unique atmosphere. The character drawings are good enough to have fun, but I think that the arrangement of the many lines of text is a bit distracting. Good job for a first entry.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:37am

Wow.. I actually quite liked this, even though I didn't have much of an idea what I was doing most of the time.
Felt kind of like those dreams where you aren't going anywhere but things are just happening.
Also the music was very good!

DaVince says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Oh god this game is so weird and confusing. Nothing made sense! It felt so glitchy! But in the end, I noticed that yes, I am actually playing! Stuff is happening!

This is not just a game, it's an experience. Well done, dude. Just make it a little bit easier to play next time. ;)

DaVince says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Oh god this game is so weird and confusing. Nothing made sense! It felt so glitchy! But in the end, I noticed that yes, I am actually playing! Stuff is happening!

This is not just a game, it's an experience. Well done, dude. Just make it a little bit easier to play next time. ;)

I also felt you haven't incorporated the theme very well. Didn't really notice anything even though my bonus timer supposedly changed. You could have worked on that.

RawBits says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:48pm

The applet only plays sound for me and it isn't stopped after closing the page. Haven't tried the other alternatives as they aren't worked for me before anyways.

canvapps says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:03am

except for being a bit buggy, the game is fun. I think you should bring the game a step forward.
Nice job :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]