August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Use it wisely

by goodpaul6 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Really Important: PRESS ESCAPE TO RESET THE LEVEL IF YOU GET STUCK, or run out of "freezing power".
IMPORTANT: ARROWS are platforms when frozen in time.

Pre-Script: Arrow keys work as well, in the same way that w-a-d work in the game

I finished just in the nick of time. The instructions are included, and just remember, if you get stuck, use esc to reset the level. I had lots of fun with this ludum dare, and I hope you enjoy this game. It was my first ludum dare, and quite frankly the only game I have made in this timespan.

NOTE: Fire kills you, Mashers kill you, basically anything that moves kills you, except for tiles. Oh, and don't forget, Falling tiles make a fashionable staircase when frozen in time.

P.S going offscreen will kill you, unless its a pathway to the next dungeon, but you will have to figure it out. (Walkthrough coming soon) (Android version coming soon)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#82Theme3.80
#257Innovation3.40
#425Fun3.08
#449Overall3.16
#618Graphics2.78
#785Audio2.08
#808Mood2.42
#1377Coolness41%

Comments

misson20000 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:02am

Pretty good, but I think the guy jumps way too far and I couldn't get past level 2

goodpaul6 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:01am

Its a fairly hard game, but you should look at the hint carefully, arrows are platforms when frozen

raincole says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54am

Really interesting concept. Too hard for average player like me.

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Fun! I liked it. It was a difficult, as the people above me have commented.
Also, I don't know if this is a glitch, but on level 2 if you run straight into the first wall, you can get stuck.

Clurect says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:14pm

It was fun, but man the levels are hard. I might play it some more later. Good job!

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:00pm

This was one of my favourite games so far. I didn't think it was too difficult, although it definitely took some getting used to. Really liked the concept!
There are a few glitches with running into walls that then become impossible to get out of (the ones on level two and the first level with the plunger things are the ones I got stuck on), but other than that it's really well made.
Great job! :)

goodpaul6 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:13am

Thanks, It was my first time using java, just moved on from C#/Xna.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:23am

I loved this idea! One thing I would suggest is maybe messing with audio levels a bit. The arrow shots were pretty loud and the collapsing platforms scared the crap outta me lol. Really really really liked the main gameplay mechanic idea tho!

goodpaul6 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Thanks!
I think with some powerups your game could do well on mobile!

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:31am

Awesome application of the theme. Great game for 48 hours.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:38am

Cool concept and excellent take on the theme. You should polish this some more and you'll have a nice little game. Great job for 48 hours!

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:40am

Pretty cool, sometimes the puzzles were a little difficult but other than that it played well. Good job.

goodpaul6 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:41am

Thanks!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:22am

I got stuck in the wall. Unsure on level 2

I did try jumping on arrows and just fell through? Maybe I wasn't placed correclty? improve collision detection on platform? But I got stuck in wall and couldnt reset so (R key to reset, is great for little games like this)

goodpaul6 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:04am

Press Escape to reset. It was in the instuctions, I should have emphasized it.

dook says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Great idea and mechanics. The levels were great too :) The only thing was the collisions, they were a little wonky at times, getting stuck in tiles, and it was hard to see where exactly you can stand on arrows.

UnixXNova says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:07am

fun but hard to learn at first,good game

Sep 9, 2013 @ 4:59am

Wow the concept is just brilliant! Extremely innovative to use frozen objects as platforms!
As people mentioned there is some problems with wall collision on the x axis, as more than once I got stuck in the middle of the wall when I collided with it at high speeds. A simple code to set the player's x position to the edge of the tile would be able to fix this.
It would be great fun if you implement some chain reaction or trap system to make objects move remotely(make platforms above player fall, for example) which the player can then use to advance.
Great entry and awesome job!

Antidote says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:14pm

My first impressions on your game \o http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vF_I4bgLDCU

goodpaul6 says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Thanks for the first impressions! I really appreciate it. I seemed to have placed a wall in the wrong place, as the level which you got stuck on, the falling tile one, its exit was to the bottom left, not right.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:01am

Love the concept. Unfortunately it felt a bit too hard and the controls were way too floaty.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:28am

Cool idea! Pretty good job! ;-)

goodpaul6 says ...
Sep 19, 2013 @ 2:14am

@BlackBulletIV Yeah, I got that a lot, I realize I shouldn't have a friction system in a platformer where precision matters. Thanks for the feedback. Have I seen you lurking on the love2d forums before? @Pavel M. Dlouhy: Thanks! It sorta came to me when I woke up on the saturday after the theme had been announced.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]