August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mission Improbable

by L0gicaL1nsanity - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mission Improbable! Run away from the baddies after stealing the most important data ever...or something. Watch out for those lasers!

Controls: Space to Jump
Game speeds up every 10 seconds
------------------------------------------------------------
This is my first ever game jam. Was quite fun to put together, although I only really worked on it casually throughout the weekend. If I had more time I would work on collision detection a little more, I know its a little off, but ah well!

Built using XNA/Monogame

NOTE: Linux Install does not appear to have music working. If you want the full effect, youtube "Mission Impossible Theme" and play it along with the game :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#366Fun3.15
#375Humor2.60
#451Audio2.73
#480Graphics3.00
#670Mood2.58
#758Overall2.86
#765Theme2.93
#922Innovation2.44
#1129Coolness49%

Comments

Soundboy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:18am

Cool animation on the player character!

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:28pm

I scored 90,000 exactly. Nice game! With more features and things it could be really interesting, I expect.

goodpaul6 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:11pm

It's just pure fun, If there were powerups or something it would be doubly fun, but considering the timeframe, good job!

BubbleTea says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:32am

Lol i dont know if you meant it to be like this, but due to your collision detection once you reach a certain speed you can literally hold space and never lose. I just tested it out >.> fun little game though!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:37am

@BubbleTea, yeah I wanted to implement less velocity as time got longer and the game got faster, but I never got around to it. >.<

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:27am

Couldn't get it to run the Linux version, let's see the Windows version o Wine :(.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:33am

Nice game/graphics! I love the windows in the background. Adds a lot of character.

The game starts a bit slow for my tastes, and then becomes pretty repetitive, but it was still a good job.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:23am

The chalkboard-like drawings on the background was a nice touch :]

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:03pm

375 388! Nice little runner, although as it gets faster it becomes more luck than skill because you can't see where you're going to land when you jump.

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:20pm

MISSIVE POSSIBLE

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Really love the little jumpy guy, great graphic and nice used of the theme! Great entry. I featured it in a compilation video on Ludum Dare 27 games, if you want to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y3_qdYR_Vsw

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Awesome dude! Thanks!

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Not the most complex of game ideas, but well presented - nice graphics, good atmosphere. Just one thing, though - the score gets carried over across multiple playthroughs. Is this intended?

raoz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Fun, though collision detection gets weird after a while

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:06am

I updated the score reset bug!

EmptyFlash says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:06am

Hahah, really good game. Nice and simple, both fun and hard.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Simple and fun to play. But if you touch a laser while holding down space, it seems you won't lose.

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:33pm

I could really see this get a pretty strong audience as a mobile game. Really simple gameplay, but perfect for adding a few distance objectives or whatnot and getting people addicted to playing it for hours.

antonijn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Quite a nice little game apart from the collision detection ;). Gave it one start for the audio though, it says explicitly in the compo rules that you have to make your music within the 48 hours.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Nice endless runner. The graphics felt a bit clashy, but the core mechanic to the game was simple and innovative. Nice!

Thermite says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:10am

Nice game! We also learned the hard way that increasing the speed of everything doesn't play nice with collision detection :) Good work

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:36am

Classic idea quite well executed, great for a 1st Jam. I'd like more variety or some control on the jump, as the challenge here is to guess if you have to jump 1 or 2 lasers, which isn't enough for a runner IMO :) Also, I like the graphic style.

GVmakesGames says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:55am

Good one, the implementation of the theme was original, but I didn't like it very much. But I liekd this, especially the graphics :D

BlackBulletIV says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:34am

Do I really have to install the game? Or does that installer just extract the files to a specific location?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]