August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Loopy

by DaleP - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as a time traveling gentleman whose broken time traveling pocket watch uncontrollably sends him ten seconds into the past, every ten seconds. To find a hope of getting unstuck, you must cooperate with your past and future selves to overcome obstacles and figure out exactly where and when you are.

I made this in ImpactJS with help from Pixelmator, Bfxr, Audacity, and Garageband. It seems to work perfectly in Firefox, Chrom(ium), Safari, and probably others. Unfortunately, I didn't get to spend as much time on levels or later-game mechanics as I would have liked, so it's a little short.

WASD or arrow keys to move, space to jump.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#250Innovation3.41
#260Theme3.48
#282Humor2.77
#382Graphics3.19
#538Overall3.07
#677Fun2.78
#712Mood2.52
#746Audio2.19
#1337Coolness44%

Comments

Diamonde says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:41am

My clones seem to always get the better out of me.
I really like the idea and had some good laughs, even when I didn't make it too far.

Simulacrum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:27am

Very charming graphics! The character looks great. I think the clone mechanics could use some fine-tuning, but I love the idea and the mechanic is very cool.

zillix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03am

great job! it was pretty entertaining when a whole mess of me were barreling over each other to try to make it over each wall

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:08am

Interesting concept, i really like main character art and the mechanic seems work reasonably well.

HoWseR says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:56am

Get's kind of tedious after a while, but a really cool concept and pretty nice graphics

Gus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:09am

yay time-travelling! \o/
I just hoped that would be more gameplay time, but the concept it's pretty awesome, you explored the theme quite well.
First time-travel game, I play in this LD, I have a strange feeling that this is one of many.
Just quoting @Andrewves
"...I really like the main character art..."

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:28am

The foot tapping animation is a nice detail... though it sort of highlights the tedium of waiting for the time jump to trigger.

Yaru says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:23am

A great work, very fun... I LOVE time travel mechanics.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:47pm

I see you've solved the time paradox of "What happens if I interfere with my past?" with "I don't give a damn, you just push yourself away", haha :D

Interesting game! I just wish my past selves would cooperate better with me - more often than not they'd use me as stepstones instead of being stepstones themselves. The sometimes wonky physics doesn't help either - they provide for some humor though.

Short game, but while it lasts it's fun. Good job! And congratulations on finishing your first LD entry!

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Oh yeah, now that I read the other comments: I really like the character art too!

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:42pm

I really like games with this sort of mechanic. It got really confusing by the end when I had about 4 people stacked on top of one another and was barging my way past, but I quite enjoyed it all the same :)

tchem says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:33pm

all aspects are awesome,,, very interesting propose. congrats man,,,

NuSan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Cool game, i add a similar idea but yours is actualy working ^^. My clones walk over me pretty offen, its frustrating ^^. I would like a button to start a new clone, so you dont have to wait when you know you are stuck.

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:37am

Very good idea!

hissssssssss says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:57pm

This was a really neat concept! Given more time, I would have loved to see what other puzzle concepts you could have implemented (doors and switches, weight-based puzzles, etc.). It'd also be nice to be able to destroy clones, so you don't have too many running around after a while.

Sep 13, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Nice game, although a bit short! We were thinking about a similar concept. :) The tapping foot is a nice detail, but the waiting till the time was up was a bit annoying...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]