August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

THE LIBERATOR

by Waschtl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the Liberator, you liberate Americans. Your city is under attack and you have to save Americans and kill terrorists, but be fast - you only have 10 seconds.

Use your hand to throw Americans through windows to liberate them. Destroy wooden planks with your axe. Kill Terrorist with your pistol. Light dark rooms with your lamp.

Free America.

This is my first Ludum dare and I used GameMaker, so I didnt really know how my source is supposed to be included. I just added the gamemaker project. You can use the code anyway you want (though I dont really know why, Im a terrible coder). It'd be cool if you dont take the idea, but there is not much I can do against that :).

If there is a problem, you can email me (sebilein_100atweb.de)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1970Coolness0%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Very funny game, but I am not quick enough to play this well

Lo-X says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:23pm

I tried to launch it wth wine on linux but it says :
"Cabinet is not valid"
and then
"Extracting file failed. It's most likely caused by low memory (low disk space for swapping file) or corrupted Cabinet file"

Don't know what that file is, I don't know GameMaker either so, doesn't help !

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:05pm

It is quite funny, but very hard to fit these brave Americans through the windows in this short time

Waschtl says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Lo-X sorry, like I said I'm a terrible coder, so I can't really help you (never used linux):(.

Thanks for the other comments!

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:51am

Very funny and interesting game! Aside from minor bugs, everything was great; the puzzles were challenging, the sound effects added to the humor and the graphics fit nicely. Well done!

Endurion says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Haha, awesome :)

Has a few collision issues; picking up guys sometimes doesn't seem to work.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:21pm

ummmm -- ok

Mekuri says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 7:22am

I really liked the idea. It was a bit hard to pick up the Americans sometimes, maybe some collision between mouse and
American issue? I had a lot of fun playing, but eventually the game got too hard for me. I loved that you could use the numbers on the keyboards to switch tools that helped me through a few more levels.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]