August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds Before the World Ends

by Lustdante - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made with Unity + 2d Toolkit

- Side arrow keys for moving, up arrow key for jumping, and space for Pause/Unpause time.
- When you unpause time, you become vulnerable. Try not to get hit by debris. Stay away from explosion.
- You are safe to unpause time while on top of an object.
- There are two ending routes and three endings.
- When the game ends, it does not restart!
- You can skip the opening cutscenes with space.

I blindly trusted Unity to handle Linux compilation - I don't have Linux to test it. I would really appreciate if someone could verify it for me.

Thank you and Enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#4Theme4.44
#12Innovation4.23
#21Overall4.02
#51Fun3.77
#68Mood3.66
#111Humor3.34
#205Graphics3.55
#261Audio3.06

Comments

Iggy says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Nice! Good idea.

Calahagus says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:55pm

That was excellent! I loved the ending, and the mechanic build up quickly without ever being confusing.

This is a perfect example of what you can do with "10 Seconds"

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:19am

Overall awesome. I loved it!

Malor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45am

Lol) Realy cuet game, great idea, beautiful realisation.

Croze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46am

Great idea, but you should have done a little more with the 10 seconds idea, it's too linear rather than skill based, other than that I loved it!

TaleLore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47am

Pretty entertaining.

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47am

That was AWESOME! I don't think I've seen a mechanic like that before... please make this game for real?

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:50am

That was fantastic, really enjoyed it.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52am

Cool game mechanic! Nice.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53am

The timestop ability was fun to use and ramped up in difficulty quite nicely. The graphics were cute and though the music wasn't anything good it wasn't terrible either. Each room was fun to playthrough and nothing was frustrating at all.

superjoebob says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53am

This is friggin awesome

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54am

A very good idea. Nice feeling, having to stop the gravity... just like in sci-fi movies, but here we feel it.
Calibration is perfect, game is short and funny, perfect way to spend 10 minutes. Well done !!!

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54am

Cool concept, good movement and graphics too.

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55am

Great, I took the jump

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:58am

This is actually very nice. The idea is brilliant, and everything is pretty well done!

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:08am

Wow really cool. Made it to the end with 0.2 seconds left (I almost put an f at the end of 0.2 XD) and Inadvertently watched the world burn. XD

Senevri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:08am

Very nice! Definitely worth further development.

lustdante says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17am

Thank you all for playing, rating, and commenting on my game. Every single remark pumps up a huge amount of adrenaline!!

rylgh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:33am

Great job, clever idea. Really satisfying and intuitive to play.

JAH2488 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:21am

Great concept!

Andrio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:28am

This is a really good concept for 10 seconds. Clever ending. I really liked this entry :)

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:42am

This was well put together. The collision boxes were my only real complaint, it made climbing the boulder hill next to impossible. The sound was perfect for the concept and setting, but it did get repetitive. It was fun to platform on falling objects, and it was a good take on the theme that wasn't just a 10 second game. The graphics lacked cohesion, maybe it's just me but it bugs me when things are at different resolutions. The music and the action gave it a good twilight zone feel when time was paused. Very well done.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:53am

Awesome job! Very fun and unique way of tackling the 10s theme :D

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:08am

You might be the first one to actually use the concept in a perfect way!

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:24am

Good concept with a great realization. The level design was excellent for such a short period of development.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:33am

Wow, this has to be my favorite interpretation of the theme so far. Really cool concept! Would love to see you guys develop this a bit further.

Conflei says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:35am

NICE!

Lustdante says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:43am

Thank you all for commenting. I slept total 5 hours during compo, but reading these comments really help me get over this fatigue.

I had this concept weeks before the competition in order to prepare for themes like 'time' and 'end of the world'. You have no idea how loud I screamed when LD27 theme was announced.

Lustdante says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:48am

@Empyrealhell All your criticisms are valid. Collision detection is this entry's biggest weakness and most of the graphics are rushed during the last quarter of the compo. Coming up with cohesive graphics for such a large world was nearly impossible to accomplish with my skill.

I will look forward for your entry, too.

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:50am

Okay yeah I think I'm gonna go out there on a limb and say that this is my favorite LD27 game so far (and I've been playing a *bunch* of them). Genius take on the theme, nicely implemented, with a cute opening segment (even) and fun gameplay. This deserves money, man. (Not from me. :) ) Polish it up a tiny bit. Publish it. The images of burning cars in a city literally in its last 10 seconds of existence... I tell you, this is genius.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:01am

Really great stuff! On of the greatest interpretations of theme!

Symmeteer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03am

I am having so much fun. Awesome concept, great work.

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:06am

Hiya, I liked the mood and concept in this game and feel like you nailed the theme well, but I got stuck at the third level (the one with falling planks keyboards and monitors :P).
Good luck in the challenge!

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:16am

Solid concept and gameplay, good character design and animation, okay sound effects (though there definitely could have been more of them). Not in love with the backgrounds, they didn't seem to fit with the character sprite well. Desperately needed music in addition to the clock ticking sound.

Lustdante says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:51am

@Dooleus I made the world too big that it blew out of proportion when I started drawing at the last quarter of the compo. After spending a lot of time on the character design, it was nearly impossible to draw background with the same level of detail and quality in less than 8 hours. I wish I could have done better with graphics.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:05am

Awesome! Great gameplay, graphics, platformer "feel". Music was so-so. Also, the intro was awesome.

Aaants says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:32am

Noooooooo, the humanity!

Really nice idea and great execution

Metal Axe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:34am

One of my favourite uses of the theme so far! I really like this. :)

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:20am

Good idea! I didn't play it to the end though.

as3boyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:52am

This time stopping/resuming is very good. Good game.

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:53am

Great mechanics, polished gameplay, fun story. I liked it ;)

Szedouu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:13am

Love Your game. Had fun while playing it!

paraple-geek says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:35am

Really great game, had a good time playing it! good job!

donan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:09am

I would love to see this game on a phone :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:58am

Wow, this is really great! Nice job! :D

bnhw says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Nice concept that fitted the theme well.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Great execution of the concept!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Very good idea, and I really liked the execution.

ncannasse says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Excellent, perfectly fit the theme, solid level design. Had to retry two times because the timer can reach zero while you're dying.

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Very nice, great idea!

LiamJPeters says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:32pm

wow

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Nice experience. Reminded me of the old Twilight Zone tv-series. Loved the ambient track. Very solid game.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Relly nice game, i arrived on top of the volcano at 0.6 and decided to watch the world burn!

Muznak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:43pm

This was brilliant, good job.

truiton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Awesome! Easy to understand a very fun game!

Xotraz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:43pm

It's a good game, but i didnt enjoy playing.
That's why i rated 2 in fun.

The song is also really boring.

Xotraz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:45pm

A really good game.

rasmusrn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:46pm

The pause-time thing works great. Well done you!

Xotraz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:46pm

The first comment is a error.

I'm speak about the wrong game

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Cool concept. Good work!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Really nice idea!! I like the two endings

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:08pm

This mechanic was awesome. You really should consider making a full game out of this, it's very unique, and in a good way!

AdricZero says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Great execution on the idea. I like the simple music. Gives me inspiration I could do simple music like this for my next entry. I have only had sound effects in my entries.

Lustdante says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Thank you everyone for positive comments. I would definitely consider full production once I gain enough experience on game development.

@Xotraz Not being able to delete or even edit comment is indeed a big inconvenience for community oriented website like LD.

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Great game!

Lustdante says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33pm

@AdricZero Initially I put some melody but it really didn't fit with the theme of having the time stopped. I found simple chime beat good enough, but I wish I spent more time on it.

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Really amazing concept, amazing atmosphere, very nice interpretation of the theme and superb execution.

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Excellent use of the theme and very good intro.
I have some troubles with the limited jump or the collision detection.

Worth dig for more mechanics (tools, weapons, ...) and better collisions !
Excellent base, I want to see more !

Todnut says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Wow cool!

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Cool concept, great gameplay. Really good job.

What i didnt like is the inconsitency in the graphics. Either do only pixel-art or only hand-drawn, but dont mix both in varying qualities. I assume you did that because of time reasons, but it still doesnt look very pretty.

Clavus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:48pm

This was a great take on the theme. Awesome job.

cwkx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:52pm

This is the definitely the best "theme" category i've tried so far, but also beautiful visuals, good sound, and a lot of fun while it lasted *jumps in* :)

JaJ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Nice! I think the sound worked especially well.

bobylito says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:59pm

I like the idea and how it fits the theme.

necmelt2006 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:02pm

That awesome!

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Very good. Nice game Good Job

alwaysinbeta says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Excellent. Love the concept. The intro was brilliant. Great art style.

Khopa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Awesome, excellent idea !

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Genius concept man, well done!
I thoroughly enjoyed my time playing.

bombjack says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16pm

keyboard doesn't seems to word on the web version

goerp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:39pm

brilliant!

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Very innovative gameplay, loving it! :)

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:47pm

The first game I enjoyed playing (from something like 50 already rated games). Good work man!

mrcdk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Nice little game you have there! I liked it!

Blecta says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Concept is really cool ! I loved it :D

jijaweb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Best so far!!! Great idea!

Mesene says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Nailed it! I made it with 4 seconds left to see the world explode :]

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Nice game mechanic

Volute says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Very cool idea ! It perfectly respects the theme while giving a longer gameplay. Bravo :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Really nice concept and puzzles!
Yet I was unsure before LD if it's fine to use 2d Toolkit at compo or not (it's not free at all). Still unsure to be honest.

PackSciences says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Good morality

urth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Amazing! Amazing Amazing!
Loved it! I played it 4 times and got both endings.
You should really consider a full game with this concept.
Rated all 5's except for graphics and audio.

darkshadow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Excellent idea!

bisk8s says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Amazing! Best game till now!

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:30pm

the graphics are so awesome! Really enjoy it!

dudsen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Very, very cool. Love the smart Mechanics and the not-unfair design ;)

GFM says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:06pm

This is really nice! Good job. :)

Taiters says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Great game! Loved the end! This is one of the best games / ideas I've seen so far.

daOyster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Interesting use of 10 seconds and a new mechanic that is awesome!

KaaPex says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:20pm

I loved this game!

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Good idea, good implementation, love it!

Gremlin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Clever use of time.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Great concept! Love the style too.

davisan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Very nice!

Idovoodoo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:43pm

This was really cool, well done :)

Bjeaurn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Beautifully executed game, enjoyed it very much!

douglasv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Best walking animation ever!

tony.pe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:31pm

LOVE this

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Excellent humour, gorgeous artwork, cool idea. I did find myself wondering what it is that the main mechanic does exactly and struggling with the jumping/collision detection, but I suppose that's nothing that can't be fixed within a few hours if you decide to continue developing it. Good job!

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:45pm

It's a cool mechanic, and very fitting with the theme. I definitely had fun trying to navigate frozen objects and watching things fall apart!

I didn't realize the goal in the third screen, so I spent a lot of time trying to climb straight up (which was impossible) and I was close to giving up when I noticed the hallway leading forward.

I find it strange that dying resets the screen but running out of time resets the whole game. It meant that getting stuck was way more punishing than getting crushed, so I actively tried to die in many cases. I understand you don't want players resetting on a screen when they might not have enough time left. If that's so, a button to self destruct might have helped.

Lustdante says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Just woke up now to see my comment section doubled (It's Asian timezone here). Thank you all for such a wonderful reception. It's very amazing that something I've worked alone in my room during weekend could mean a lot to many people far far away from where I am. I do carefully read every single one of them and it really makes my day. Here is my resolution.

I firmly believe the game deserves post-compo edition. Take away a unique mechanic, the game is acceptable for such a hospitable community like LD but still has long way to go for the world. I can't promise anything but I will die trying to get this more polished with better visual, better music, and better collision detection. This still will be worked on alone, so it's going to be a free web game. Thank you all for great support!

Lustdante says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:59pm

@KevinZuhn I figured some people might get stuck on the third zone. I noticed at the last minute that the building has very poor visual cue after putting that rushed drawn background in. My apology for time wasted to figure that out.

The second thing you pointed out was another anomaly. I will try to resolve this on post-compo edition.

Lustdante says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:01am

@Alex Shestakov I had the same doubt weeks before considering 2dToolkit as my tool. I've managed to confirm that 'paid tools' are allowed since they are 'publicly available'.

kacperski1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:15am

Perfect game. Really loved it!

Boodog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:29am

Cool

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:42am

Excellent take on the theme, and awesome execution

Static 64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:45am

All around amazing!

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:45am

This is a great take on the theme, the controls are nice and there's a lot of potential there. The only issue I have is that there's a bit of disconnect with the art styles going on - the low fi pixel art works well, but then you have MS Paint type stuff for some elements and it takes away from the beauty of the game a little. Overall though, good job :)

BenWhi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:59am

This is one of the best I've seen so far. Great job! Great idea, it's funny, graphics look great!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:59am

Nice! I like it a lot!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:16am

Love the concept. Very difficult!

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:27am

Well the hell done! I wasn't expecting such a twist on the theme! You get 5 stars for that!

gravyhands says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:28am

Super. Double good.

Komradus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:29am

Deep.

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:46am

Great idea and great execution!

Axsynth says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:56am

This game is fantastic. I'm very impressed with the implementation of the concept within the game.

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:08am

hell of a job on this. all around impressive!

Clodial says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:11am

Woah, I love that mechanic with time-bending platforming.I also liked the difficulty of it. It wasn't too hard but it also wasn't too easy. It was just right for this length of a game.

TheCze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:11am

Excellent game

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:16am

That's an interesting take on the theme. Well done.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:19am

Nice! That is a really good useage of the theme there. You gfx style is simple but charming. The sound is really good at breaking up what otherwise would have been boring. So overall good job!

bugninja says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:29am

Wow, great idea, great all around, and there's so much happening, you must code a million lines a second.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:41am

Intro was awesome. Very creepy atmosphere too.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:01am

Really fun! Good idea and well executed. Noticed some wonky collision but it did not detract from the experience.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:08am

Nice mechanic with the time stopping. I wasn't able to finish but got to what I think was the last level (all the large gray girders falling?). I'd see about polishing this up and continuing work on it.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:30am

Pretty cool :)

-ENDESGA

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:55am

Loving the idea and the decision you have to take at the end

cschwartz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:03am

Sadly I didn't make it to the end. Really liked the mechanic, graphics and the humour.

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:24am

Now this, this is a great concept here :O
Simple, but effective!

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:49am

Very clever!

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:58am

Very nice, the gameplay mechanic was fun and interesting.

ChrisPugh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:04am

Damn. I would flesh this out with some more elaborate puzzles, but keep the core mechanics identical and release a full game. You're onto something.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:32am

Great game! Great use of the 10 second theme!

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42am

Good idea. I like graphics and audio!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:42am

Fantastic mechanic! There's this cabinet at the end of the third level or so that refuses to topple for me though. Must go try again...

Sithdown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:37am

Nice and really difficult at the end!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:42am

Overall awesome.

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Really amazing core game mechanic. Nice one.

Pixlexia says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Pretty legit. Game is solid :)

Headless Hobo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Genius idea, love the concept and it was simple and fun. The pixelart is also awesome

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Loved it! :D

stenol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Nice idea !

autlos says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Really loved the idea. This is the best game I've played so far.

It has a good plot, cute graphics and it's so **** fun.

thesunnyk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Wow great! Not only are the graphics and sound adorable, but the concept is brilliant. It keeps the game as long as you want it but uses time as a resource. Very bit.trip. There's also checkpointing, which is such a great affordance. The only downside I can point to is that a mistake in the game keeps rolling on, you can't "correct" for an error late in the game if you've "wasted" those precious seconds and something's happened on a later level which you cannot predict. Still, based on concept alone it's incredible.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:24pm

This game is fantastic! Clever and funny... Great Work! (that rock stage? brutal)

Jason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:36pm

I love your take on the 10 seconds. Very well thought out. The mechanics were also spot on, a great use of physics. The checkpoints were a nice addition too.

Zammy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:43pm

I love the idea of stopping time while everything else goes to hell! Love the theme and the mood of the game!

Fede3751 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Great idea! I loved this! :)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Nice entry! I love the concept!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Really good idea!!!

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Nice game, well matched the theme.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:47pm

What a great idea ! The game mechanic is awesome !

NachoDA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Very good idea. It fits the theme in a really atractive way. I enjoyed playing it!

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Great concept!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Enjoyable take on the theme, fun use of physics, all round pretty great.

PeaCe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Great ideas in here!

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Is rlly good. 10/10. (Except the music could exploit the time mechanic better).

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:35pm

VERY FUN REALLY FUN

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Really good idea and story, the game overall is really fun, really enjoyed this game, good job :)

elementz123 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Awesome use of theme and very good overall game, good job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:13pm

very clever use of theme I enjoyed this one!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Wow, that's really a good game, I just played it and I really enjoyed it. I love how you interpreted the 10 seconds theme!

fgielow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Nice mechanics. Well Executed.
Really like the mood in the end.

robb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:52pm

One of the best LD games I've played so far, great work. The dynamic level design based on falling debris is especially nice.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Cool entry, the final mountain area gave me lots of trouble though. Only managed to get through it by somehow accidentally glitching through a rock. I thought the gameplay was clever and well done, at least until the final area it was pretty clear how to proceed. Having to start all over for losing all time was nasty surprise.

How do you get all the endings? description says there is 3 of them. I've gotten to the ending and picked both choices.

flod says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Hey - such good theme usage! nice graphics + humor! good job!

woodecker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:40pm

In the end I tried to jump, but he stand waiting the time goes by.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Nice idea, and I like the funny ambiance.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Brilliant!

jprogman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Nice using the 4th dimension. I like how other scenes are updating as time passes. Great stuff!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:23pm

;_; so I played this twice the second time to see what happened if i saved the world. I was trolled.

excellent art and mechanic. wow that you did this yourself in 2 says without a crap theme. seriously what can you do with 10 sec

CoOz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Brilliant

Jordo76 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:44pm

This is a good idea, but it's too linear indeed.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:02am

The intro is funny! Clever entrance of the title too.

Lots of checkpoints and restarting there without any hassle: Check. I wish everybody would do it this way. When the time is up, it restarts at the beginning - that's understandable I guess, but why is time unpaused then? I'd also rather have an option to restart at the last checkpoint instead.

The characters and backgrounds look superb. His walking animation is hilarious though, I hope that was intentional :D

I really like how things happen at exact the same times, whether you are there or not. On my second playthrough, I arrived earlier and saw four more cars explode. Nice! (What's not so nice is that I was standing on one of them when it started to explode, haha.)

The gameplay is cool. I loved to walk in those frozen environments, jumping and walking an debris, promenading under falling obstacles like a silent observer not the least bit concerned by the danger this object poses normally. I don't know, it just feels strangly good.

The music fits well, as to the sound effects.

Also damn it, I wanted to start writing shorter comments to be able to rate more games, but I guess I just like this game too much.

By the way, how did you do the checkpoints? Save every position/rotation/velocity? Are those Unity physics?

Cheers mate! Good job - and congratulations on finishing your first LD entry!

PS: Some people just want to watch the world burn.

Lustdante says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:55am

Thank you all again! I am carefully reading through every single comment and every opinion, positive or negative, really helps me improve.

@TobiasW Thank you for the long comment. I love compliments but love opinions (esp. long and honest one) even more.
Yeah, it was a bit of mistake to unpause time after world resets. Also, animating with less than dozen pixels turn out to be really tricky. The car explosion was totally intended.

Here is how I did the time thingy with Unity. 10 seconds with 0.1 timestep means 100 sized array of positions and rotations. While the intro is running, I basically let each stage run the physics engine and store position, rotation, and sprite frame each 0.1 second. When the time is up, I got rid of all the rigid bodies and updated each scene based on rotation and position stored.

So yeah, 100 sized List of position and rotation (and some other information) for every single object in the game.

Lustdante says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:57am

@Jordo76 Linearity was inevitable. I had to put physics entities and see if how that makes or blocks path on certain duration.

Lustdante says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:59am

@thesunnyk I was thinking of reversing time a few seconds on each zone. I had it built but it just didn't feel right.

Lustdante says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:01am

<SPOILER ALERT>
@AdventureIslands There are two ending routes, which depend on the completion time. Each has two choices while sharing one, making it three.

Lustdante says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:03am

@TailyILoveYou I had perfect idea for dynamic music that fits with time mechanics but just didn't have enough knowledge and time to make it happen. :(

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:10am

So far this is my favorite entry! Was so much fun to play! Unfortunately, I reached the end with 0.3 seconds and pressed space without noticing, so not the end I wanted :D I'll play it again for sure. Pretty nice to see you used the same tools as me, although my game's quality is far away from yours :)

Feffers says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:12am

Great idea! Loved it.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:18am

Whoa! A great entry, with a brilliant take on the theme! I wondered how time stop could be used to that end, and I can stop thinking about that now; your game gave me the answer.

Congratulations!

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:20am

Great submission! Everything about this game was spot on.

Stryphe says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:34am

Nice game! It was enjoyable to play.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:43am

Really liked the simple mechanics and the character designs were really fun. I enjoyed playing it, good job! :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:02am

It's a fun game, i liked the mechanics and the use of the theme :)

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:36am

Just let the world burn!!!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:46am

Unique idea, and great implementation of it. I only wish there was more of it, but seriously, what can you do with 10 seconds? ;)

kbm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Very cool idea, nice execution and suprisingly long game! Good job!

REIN1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Fantastic idea~good story~I love it~

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Simply outstanding!

jglrxavpok says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:09pm

This game is sooooo cool! Great idea, nice controls. But the music is starting to be a bit creepy at some point. But still good!

Kohijin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Great idea and setting! The collisions with the stopped explosions felt a bit weird though.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:48pm

That was excellent, great graphics and really fun gameplay.

Ken Ichi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Awesome!

dlan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Really great usage of the theme, I especially liked how you control the levels platform through time. I played it on ubuntu, and it work well, I have been able to made it to the end, few graphical glitches here and there (but it could be a driver issue on my side).

lcass says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:08pm

cool

bitserum says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:19pm

This has got to be my favorite entry. Best use of theme I've seen

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Very unique mechanics here, good humor at the start, I love it.

Toshiro says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Yeah ! I love this clever mechanic. Also, you well construct your game, we learn gradually.
I also liked the pixel art avec animation ! Thanks and good work ! :D

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:55pm

"mother nature recently discovered a way to blow itself up" - I kinda don't like that sentence, nevertheless the game was super fun to play.

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:04am

Very clever and well-executed! I'm impressed.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:21am

excellent.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:55am

Could you by any chance be convinced to create a Mac OSX build? Of all the harebrained specific things, Unity Web player currently crashes on Japanese macs.

alvivar says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:00am

5/5

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:11am

Amazing job! Really.

Syawra says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:57am

Great idea, love that game mechanic and the atmosphere !

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Awesome!

panurge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Smart storytelling, excellent graphics and audio, smooth controls. Above all, an awesome premise and central mechanic. I liked this one a lot!

Lustdante says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Thank you all for commenting. LD has been such a wonderful experience so far thank to all of you!

@Crowbeak Granted.
@Lokarunith Did not mean to make it sound offensive. It was my awkward attempt for pun.
@dlan Thank you very much for confirming that it works on Ubuntu. This LD actually makes me want to start learning Linux.

Nangie says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:13pm

very nice and creative idea for this theme, good job !

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:29pm

I loved this game, it's a shame about the humanity though :P

Spotline says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Brilliant ! Congrats :D

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Very good !

sergilazaro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:12pm

The best one that I've played so far. I'm a sucker for time travel concepts, and this was just an amazing concept. Kudos, you deserve to win.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Exellent game. I just cannot find words for this

Elrobo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Was neat but got a little frustrating. I don't understand why touching the edge of the screen kills you. Would have been nice to see some graphical change on the world/character when in time stop mode. Also motion trails on the objects would have added a lot and lessened the annoyance of repeating trying to figure out where rocks are coming from.

Art was nice, reminded me of old pc platformers like cosmos/jazz jackrabbit.

Epiphane says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:18am

Fantastic game, really satisfying to play and had excellent physics. A really stellar ending, especially given the time constraint. Overall a great game!

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:02am

Nice time stopping mechanic. Really makes the player plan out when exactly when to use it. I managed to get to the end with 0.3 seconds left.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:57am

Yep, good concept.

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Respect for that brilliant mechanic - wish I had thought of it ;) - Overall implementation was pretty good as well!

OkayHughes says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Great gameplay in this one. I really enjoyed the interaction between the player and physics. Unique. I found that the fact that the player died upon merely touching the fire kind of annoying. Overall great game, though.

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Just impressive!

kristof says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:05pm

I like how you managed to have relatively slow gameplay around a theme that favors fast and stressful gameplay. The music underlines that. Cool entry!

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:37am

Enjoyed playing this. The mechanic was a bit too easy imo but still a great concept for the theme!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Amazing use of the theme! It was awesome how the things in the levels were exactly how they should have been at the given time, regardless of the time you entered them. And ofc the ending was epic xD

Codexus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Nice idea, I liked the little intro. But I couldn't figure out what to do in the 3rd screen and I got tired of restarting from the beginning.

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Pretty fun, nice take on the theme. In my game humanity perished even after I threw the device in :( I really liked the way the title came in as part of the dialogue. All in all, not really anything to complain about. Good work!

Sink says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Really good idea and hilarious dialogue! I like how the time was global so how much time you spend in a previous level affects the next. Really creative and cool game!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Yeah this is fun... love the idea to pause the game and you cannot move... nice.

cbear_wallis says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:47am

This is nothing short of brilliant!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:32am

Loved the animations. I only wish the jumping felt better, especially against the rocks in the last level.

Darkfrost says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:04am

Awesome! Really loved this one! Played it a few times to try and finish as fast as possible - Finished it with 4.2 seconds left, threw the device in, but got

(spoilers) http://i.imgur.com/OPUolDE.png

Is that really the good end? :< Kinda lame :p

Mago says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Great game. Feels very good polished and great game idea.

XaiZil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Really cool take on the theme!

Neil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Interesting idea and well executed!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Yay, I got all three endings! Superb game, you deserve all the praise, especially since it's such a joy to read through all your responses. Although your game (deservingly) has gotten a lot more praise than mine, I share that extremely positive feeling after this Ludum Dare. That tiny shot of adrenaline every time I notice a new comment :D

Let's just all agree that this community is awesome :D

BNeutral says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:40am

Great use of the theme!

Aceria says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:43am

Great concept! Did not manage to get past the rocks falling down the slope with around 4 seconds left. I died after the timer hit 0. Would have like to go back to the checkpoint instead.

Tankenstein says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Great game you have here!

iambored2006 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Awesome! Very atmospheric! Every level is like a puzzle. When I completed the game, the web player crashed or something. I couldn't quit it through escape, so I had to ctrl-alt-delete my way out of it.

Ithildin says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:05pm

One of the best implementations of the them that I've seen so far. Great idea! :D

Ithildin says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:05pm

One of the best implementations of the theme that I've seen so far. Great idea! :D

everblind says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:03am

I loved this game! congrats!

everblind says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:04am

Awesome!

blackotus says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Nice visuals and good use of the theme!

Good job!

Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Really nice game, great graphics, awesome use of theme.... really good job. I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZbxb_2pbIE

mobyvb says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 5:18pm

so fun

whiteravens says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Really great work!

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Nice entry, I really enjoyed game mechanics! :)

Sep 11, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Made it. :) Actually (Spoiler ahead) I wanted to jump, but accidentally pressed Space and watched the world burn instead... well, unfortunate, but it happens..
Very cool game, awesome concept and pretty innovative. I'm seriously impressed. :)

entrusC says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Really nice idea :)

jomomomo says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Great job!

Keith Evans says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 9:32pm

That was great!

Drabiter says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Really good use of theme.

DuFF says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Great entry!

Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Solid platformer! nice work with the dripping-sound, very atmospheric :)

Sep 17, 2013 @ 8:44am

Congratulations on the good ratings. Would have deserved even more in my opinion.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]