August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Second Clone

by Dream Of Sleeping - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Every ten seconds you will be cloned. That clone will live that ten seconds over and over. It will mirror your movements and shoot when you have shot. Unless you shoot him first! Shooting restarts his 10 second loop.

I recommend the google chrome browser, but it should work in all the main ones. Although the sound lags in Safari.

It's html5 so you can see the source code on the webpage,

Edit: Hello the post competition version is available to play, but obviously not to rate.

Follow me on twitter for updates. https://twitter.com/dreamofsleeping

The new version will be a lot more exciting and you can't just stand in the same spot shooting them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#166Humor3.13
#180Theme3.61
#235Innovation3.45
#246Fun3.33
#365Overall3.25
#372Audio2.86
#536Mood2.75
#603Graphics2.80

Comments

dmastergames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:11am

Really good game :) Fun and Addicting :)

chrisamaphone says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:17am

hilarious and fun :)

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:31am

What a brilliant concept for a game! :) Quite well exectuted as well. Fits the theme perfectly!

Adjotur says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33am

Enjoyed it :)

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53am

Smart idea! I like how the game has built-in disincentives for spamming the laser. I think it would also work pretty well in other arenas (e.g. a 2D platformer).
Music and sound are great too :)

jihop says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:03am

Great idea! I had hard time detecting the pattern but very fun to play!

ChronoDK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:49am

Really clever idea! Remembering your own movement pattern several clones back is so hard, but really fun game too.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:28am

Pretty cool idea. However, you can just stand still in the same spot and fire continuously to get a whole bunch of kills.

orangepascal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:42am

first thought was "boring!" but then it picked up a bit and became a fun action game :) really nice

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:44am

Thanks for the feedback everyone. Steve I know you are a right. I have a few ideas to solve that problem. But I didn't dare do it last second. At the moment the clone resets when shot. But maybe it should continue where it left off. Therefore it would shoot more, because you couldn't just stop it shooting.

Also I could have ghosts flying past as bonuses. Which would give you incentive to move to shoot them. Or I could just randomize the starting point along the x axis, although it would be less obvious you have been cloned.

Taffaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:44am

Enjoyed it. Great concept and use of the theme.

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:19am

Great fun, what a good idea!

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Sounds a lot like mine :D I like it

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Clever haha. Only managed to get 20.

nandor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Great idea, although I suck at it :))

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Funny!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Really good idea, nice job

irl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Great use of the theme. Good fun too. Only problem I can see with the gameplay is that if you time it right and stand still, it's very easy to get lots of kills with no effort. Maybe the clones should spawn at random locations and wrap around when ghosting?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:37pm

I am going to try the random locations idea, although I'm not sure it will entirely solve the issue as you could still just shoot one clone over and over without any of the others in front to eventually zap you. I have a few ideas, I think I'll be able to make it work somehow.

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Very good idea, and very well fiting with the theme! :)

I could play this all day long hahahaa.

NuSan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Good idea, putting the clone in mirror. You can try severall tactics, most of them doesnt work very long ^^

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Addictive, I want to play the other games but I keep coming back to this one!

kapoty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:59pm

hilarious and fun²

bisk8s says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:14pm

if I never shoot I never die? Ok i can live with some clones...
Anyway good concept and very good js structure too!

tinfoilboy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Nice game, liked the travel back in time to shoot your clone gameplay, the graphics are okay, sound is well done imo, theme is very implemented in the game with the clone mechanic, I enjoyed playing the game, and overall it's very good. Nice job!

tamirespp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:29pm

I didn`t like the game very much, the "where did that come from" is nice at first but annoying in very little time, the graphics are ok for the time spent but I think it`s an obvious use of the theme. Good try though.

MrBlade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Nice job! I love the sounds. Keep it up!

Sloth Jesus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:17pm

This is a really neat game, and I don't think I have played anything like it. The art could use work, but I am sure that is simply because it is a 48 hour game.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Cool! It could make me playing for a time :-)

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Cool game!

michail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Funny game. The best strategy is to produce lots of clones in the beginning and then start to kill them slowly - it pretty much solves everything :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:46pm

@michail sshhh don't tell people that. haha I've been racking my brains all day trying to think of a way to make the game work so you can't make it easy on yourself.

People need to start posting their scores. Funnily enough my best score (although I can't remember what it was) was when I was running around all over the place shooting like crazy.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Cool :D My highest score was 31. Cool Idea. Saved the link to favs ^^

goyal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:33pm

managed to get 22.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:37am

I like the game, and really enjoyed the little guys voice, it was funny. Nice use of the theme! I included this game in my video compilation of LD27 games :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rhxp6zWGaGM

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:50am

Jupiter_Hadley thanks for inluding my game in your video!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Challenging but fun. Good job :0)

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:30am

What a strange thing to think about... killing your own clones.

Tifu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Hee, pretty easy to exploit :P
I got 32 kills on a not-cheating run :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:12pm

@Tifu It won't be on the next version!

zatyka says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:14am

Really cool idea, with a lot of subtitle strategy involved.. It could definitely be polished up, but this definitely has potential.

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:32am

Simple but very good game!
Congrats

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Very good concept :) Lagged a bit for me if a lot of lasers were being fired at once.

proc says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Fun concept but I can see it being hard to balance. I like the little guy's graphic :)

Starspell says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

An interesting take on the theme. I liked the little worms-like voices in the audio. Pretty nice idea ^^.

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:45am

Cool idea.

tigerj says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:59pm

this was really fun and had excellent skill challenges.

I like the voices too.

Nice work and glad to see more html5/browser games in the LD

dekart says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Nice game, I like the idea and the art

bitowl says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 1:42pm

this concept is AWESOME!
Best score I could get was 10, as my past beings are tooo good in this game :P

motty says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 12:58am

Cute. Fun. Nice one. Enjoyed it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]