August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Black & White & Time

by NachoDA - Jam Entry

Finally, after three days fighting really hard with Unity, Cinema 4D and the lack of sleep, we have finished our game for this Ludum Dare #27, our first one.

This is "Black and White and Time". The video game is made by Ignacio Diaz Arellano (@Nacho_DA) as designer and programmer and Samuel Navarro Vozmediano (@samer_machine) as Artist. The original idea came from Cristian (@ABKristian).

We're very proud of the final result, which includes a lot of differents animations, an improved HUD, cel-shading graphics and lot of content that we have created during the last hours.
We would have liked to include more content and pulish some issues, but there's a lot of work behind this game.

There are some sounds and tracks that we get from some open source websites. The music you can hear while you're in the pause menu was made by Peter Gresser and it's called "Skipping Through the Orchestra Pit".

//////////////////////////////////

CONTROLS (taken from game):

"You can distribute five seconds adding or substracting time to the vehicles. To do that, click on the "+" or "-" boxes on the left side of the screen and then, click on your vehicle of choice. You also can rotate with A and D keys. Press [ESC] to show Menu"

//////////////////////////////////

So we hope you enjoy our game and send us your feedback.

"May the Ludum Dare be with you..."

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#54Innovation(Jam)3.69
#90Humor(Jam)3.33
#115Theme(Jam)3.48
#168Graphics(Jam)3.72
#210Overall(Jam)3.29
#251Fun(Jam)3.02
#255Mood(Jam)3.02
#269Audio(Jam)2.90

Comments

Richard Matey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:06am

Doesn't look like your link is working. Also make sure to delete the "s" in https. Makes it load better for other viewers

Richard Matey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:10am

Hmmm started to work for me, but not sure what I can click on and where I can get rid of stuff or add.

NachoDA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:15am

Fixed! Thanks :)

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:20am

I couldn't figure out how to add time to the cars.

barcode says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:50am

The most humorous LD I've played in this round thus-far.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:10am

Hahah fun and innovative man. I keep getting taken out though X_X ahhh damn cars and that truck!

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:20am

Very Impressive, good work

atgaubatz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:23am

Great sound and music!

evilDan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47am

Holy fuck, that was cool! It looks beautiful and swiveling the cam is very satisfying. This game is awesome but it could use a bit more of an intuitive interface: It seems like you should click the car FIRST, then the -/+, and it is a bit hard to find the cars to add or subtract time to.

Excellent work for such a short time and I hope you all continue to iterate and refine this!

gene-z says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:06am

Keep the good Work and be happy

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:13am

Very cool, and often hilarious too watching cars explode randomly =P

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:00am

I must have tried 50 times or more and EVERY time the guy gets killed by that first red car - what am I missing?! I tired clicking: 'plus car' or 'car plus' or 'minus car' or 'car minus' I tried the grey car that comes from the side (as well as other random cars in the world), I tried going really fast and clicking lots of times, I tried holding the button down in case this 'charges up' the time delay, I even reloaded the game (twice) just in case there's an intermittent bug at load ... but nothing ever happened. At all. Just the same two seconds of non-game happening over and over and over :(

The graphics are really great so I have scored you highly for those but taking your audio from other web sites is against the rules (even in the Jam and even if it's open source).

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:10am

Nice idea! Love the city-scape and all the stuff that takes places. It takes a while to figure out what to do though.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:33am

Is that Phil Fish on the left?

Anyways i really liked this game, the idea is 10/10. Good destruction simulator too :D

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:51am

The camera was a pretty big problem at the end there, and made you miss a lot of the action.

Now that that sole complaint is out of the way: Great game! Terrific idea, surprisingly well executed, and always fun to mess around with procedural, complex systems. Chaos never gets old. The car crashes actually made me laugh out loud, and the... more exotic vehicles at the end were a great surprise.

The obvious thing to ask for is simply: More. More levels, more cars, (better camera). Oh, and maybe make the level reset from the last checkpoint instead of all the way back to the beginning?

Sweeterrific!

Surrealix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:52am

Please release a windows version for us poor souls who can't use the web player!

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:21am

works well, loved the simple and effective art and awesome audio work! works really well! Also think the concept was cool, well worth more dev time and physics!

Headless Hobo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Everything is pink for me :(

Jorqell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Humorous, innovative, creative take on the theme, looks good.

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:12pm

I like how it ties in with the theme.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Really liked this, but could have done with restart checkpoints and perhaps some way to see a little into the future or read people's intentions (maybe the checkpoints could have covered this!). Looks and sounds fantastic... I giggled lots playing this. =)

hoqjed says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Interesting concept. Nice job with the graphics (i see you took advantage of the toon shader!).

NachoDA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:44pm

@Richard Matey, @IHateATMFees, I think you skipped the intro. Thanks anyway!

@evilDan, very useful feedback. Thanks. We know the controls were not the better ones. We will focus on them more next time.

@Dry Tree, adding 2 or more seconds to the red car it will pass away. Substracting them it should be enought too. Also, you can add seconds to the closest car and trigger and accident. Talking about taking the audio from external sites, I haven't seen nothing against that in the jam rules and a lot of games are doing that. I asked for that the first day and the answer was positive.

@SamuelDivinium, It is! We're glad you note it!

@Typedeaf, thanks for the good words. The main problem I think was handle all the stuff in a little place as this one. Some vehicles are hardly playable and it requires a hard work with the iteration and we haven't time to do that :)

@Surrealix, we are sorry but the Windows version has some big problems :(

@Headless Hobo, I tried to find a solution but I couldn't find useful information. What's your OS? Your browser? Graphic card?

Ithildin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Brilliant entry! It has lots of detailed content and the idea is quite original (also, I found particularly amusing the fact that you could save the believer at the expense of the exploding car drivers). Congratulations! :D

PS: ...and wtf, is that Phil Fish??? ;P

NachoDA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:01pm

@Ithildin, yeah, it's Phil Fish. Thank you for your feedback! :)

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:41pm

I lived the world blew up. hell yea.

juaxix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Cool, a London car bomb blast!
Nailed ;)

Jeremias says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Very nice idea. Sometimes it's hard to anticipate what is going to happen, which is surely part of the game. But starting all over is sometimes a bit frustrating, especially if people die because of appearing vehicles. Anyway, nice visuals and music. Some more levels would be nice!

flod says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:06pm

liked the different accidents that happen!

Gremlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:06pm

It's tricky trying to anticipate what will happen next, but I guess that's the challenge. I would like to have a bit freer camera so I could get a closer look at the far edges of the map when something important is going to happen there.

nitrocrime says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Great game! Never seen anything like this be done before.

JackBid says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:08pm

I thought the concept was really interesting although it was a little unclear at the beginning. Nice Job.

Mironix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Needed some time to figure out mechanics. Enjoyed the idea and execution. Nice crash animation and final sound.

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:46am

I really liked this concept, especially the bad things that happen when you do things to save that guy. It would have been even better if you had more time to make the gameplay smoother (I can relate). I'm not sure about the music though, did you really make that soundtrack yourself?

NachoDA says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:11am

@udo, the music is not ours. It's explained in the description above: The music you can hear while you're in the pause menu was made by Peter Gresser and it's called "Skipping Through the Orchestra Pit". It's free use.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:04am

Absolutely love it! We want more!!

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:27am

Apologies, I misinterpreted the rules so I've re-scored your entry higher for audio accordingly. Also I've just found out why I couldn't get anything to happen ... you have to play the game *before* you hit "play", because after you hit "play" all gameplay opportunities stop(!?) I guess I see what you're doing there but you should probably pick better wording to make that a lot clearer! ;)

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:44am

Bonus points for Phil! The art style really shined in this title. I certainly enjoy anything having to do with destruction in a simulated enviornment. Great fun!

NachoDA says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:49pm

@Dry Tree, after you hit play all the oportunities stop until the next turn. Each one is 10 seconds long.

cafeine says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Amazing! Some small details could be improved (right-click to rotate the map, maybe offer the possibility to display the character's chosen path). I'd switch the click order around (click the car then +/-), that confused me a bit. But hell, I'm just nitpicking, this is glorious!

NachoDA says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:11pm

@cafeine, thank you for the feedback! When we decided to allow to rotate the camera, our first thought was do it with the right-click as you say. After this, we note that this don't work in the browser version. If you try it, you can see that it opens some options about the browser not related with the game, so finally we thought [A] and [D] were a better option.

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:53am

I really like this game. One of my scrapped ideas was a traffic light administration sim. I'm glad to see part of my brain in action.

thanks for the game. good work.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Confusing and chaotic, but I like it =) Gameplay is more of a watch and see in honest, but that is something that can be tweaked around to fix it. Maybe not having such a long mission, or a better understanding of what is going to happen.

NachoDA says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:48am

@Brassawiking, well, you are right in some senses. Our biggest problem was that this kind of game should be designed by iterating and, as you know, in 74h you can't do it in this way. We designed it at first glance and we refining it as much as posible.

Kharza says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:23am

Curse that truck! Fun!

fferro234 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:21pm

One of the finest games I have played yet. I loved the premise. I wish the game didn't send you back to the start if you died or you could choose which one you could go back to. Very interesting and creative game. The only 2 problems was the intro was a little long, but you had a skip button so not a big deal, and the camera kind of seemed a little obtrusive at times. There were times when I couldn't really see what I wanted to see. Besides these it was a great game. Good Job.

lesterpig says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:27am

Nice graphics ! But sounds are crazy and ... I need checkpoiiiiiiiints ! :D Good work.

ashdnazg says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:46pm

The police->ambulance->tank was quite amusing.

The background sound is slightly annoying though...

Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:08pm

so much mayhem, really unique and enjoyed this alot. Also, Fez? lol

Nezzhil says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Great idea, cool game and funny graphics, but the camera make all very hard to see.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]