About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 10 days, 5 hours, 55 minutes, 24 seconds
  • October Ends: in 11 days, 6 hours, 7 minutes, 24 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 46 days, 6 hours, 55 minutes, 24 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Deathwish Dan - JHollands - Jam Entry

    F3 TO SKIP FIRST LEVEL IF YOU'RE TIRED OF DYING!

    Website: jhollands.co.uk

    This is my first game and my first Ludum Dare - a lovely stressful challenge. Deathwish Dan tends to die after 10 seconds in different places unless he does things. Yeah that's about it.

    Important:
    You might lose a couple of times if you're determined to win - press F3 on the first level to skip it if you're tired of the animation at the start - didn't have time to create an alternative. Nor did I have time to add any sound at all. You'll also notice that the game clearly gets more buggy/less attractive/more crude as you get closer to the unfinished, buggy ending - my bad.

    Also it got a bit weird somewhere around the all-nighter area. I'm still not quite sure how the ending ended up that way.

    Still, I achieved my main goals and am pretty happy with some of the art assets and animations. Looking forward to playing some other people's games now!

    EDIT: Ha yeah ending is pretty screwed. Oh well it didn't make sense anyway!

    View JHollands's journal. | View all entries by JHollands

    Ratings

    Coolness70%
    #29Humor(Jam)3.86
    #47Graphics(Jam)4.29
    #104Mood(Jam)3.47
    #155Fun(Jam)3.27
    #158Overall(Jam)3.41
    #208Theme(Jam)3.30
    #246Innovation(Jam)3.07
    #492Audio(Jam)1.65

    Comments

    Blupsy says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:15am

    My computer said that the file was damaged and unreadable, might just be my machine though.

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:29am

    Oh whaaaat... the baby is flying though the air along with the lower half of my wife..
    The game had me hooked the moment he started moonwalking to the closet.

    flamecow says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:00pm

    Pretty fun game. Insanely good art style, too.

    immanuela says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:05pm

    I've been looking forward to playing your game after your blog post about it. The graphics are amazing! I love the bus scene too, very reminiscent of London! What happened to the wife? Did I cut her in half?

    Kwrky says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:10pm

    I am not really sure what is going on, but I know I enjoyed it =D

    xk says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:27pm

    Too bad its not really finished, your art is absolutely awesome! I would trade my stupid coding skills to be able to draw like that! Good job for your first game, keep it up!

    wine says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28pm

    Even in this unfinished form it's very nice work! Look forward to update

    Jimanzium says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:02pm

    Very nice looking, but it's a bit bugged at the end. Still, was awesome to play and I hope you finish it!

    Zer0Kelvin says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:55am

    Kept getting killed without knowing why? I guess I was too slow? I like the consistent graphic style :)

    JHollands says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:25pm

    @blupsy: no idea why that's happening sorry. Redownload perhaps

    @theholychicken: haha yeah the bottom of the wife thing is a bug - no idea why it exists. Thanks though!

    JHollands says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:28pm

    @immanuela: How did you know that it's London?! Glad you noticed ha. No the wife getting cut in half was a bug - your first-born was just meant to float away to space and perhaps become the fella from 2001? I don't know. Not like I'm the dev or anything :L.

    @Zer0Kelvin: Yeah I guess that I should have communicated the dying after 10 seconds thing a little better!

    About an update: not 100% it'll happen - I'll see if I can find the time!

    Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:37pm

    A-we-so-me :D This game was great, art style was a bit McPixel-ish, as was the random humour/death/actions. And that ending... Very well done, good sir!

    GreyShock says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:46pm

    Very good art and weird ending haha Nice work!

    ezolotko says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:46pm

    Great graphics

    pereubu says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:02pm

    omfg I just love this game in every aspects :
    - great pixel art
    - awesome and immersive gameplay
    - awesome animations

    love <3
    PS : the bugs I got playing it were awesomely funny too

    klianc09 says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:22pm

    I'm not sure what was going on, but I liked every second of it. (Except always having to restart from the beginning, but it wasn't that long anyways.) Too bad there was no audio.

    deepnight says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:15pm

    Really funny game :) I totally loved the moonwalk idea.

    loxo says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:46pm

    Fun to play game with great graphics. After a few deaths the game slowed down and I had to restart.

    MinionStudios says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:46pm

    Hilarious and clever. love the moonwalk

    JHollands says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:52pm

    @loxo: Wasn't aware of that issue! Thanks.

    zatyka says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:14pm

    Dude, that was awesome. Great art, and very funny. One of my favorites... I just wish it was longer.

    esayitch says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:33pm

    Very very stylish game :P

    psychomonster says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:56pm

    This is nice... Donnie Darko like beginning :D

    psychomonster says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:57pm

    This is nice... Donnie Darko like beginning, with scrubs flavor :D

    bnhw says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:18pm

    Your first game? A sterling effort, chap! Excellent job on the visuals.

    Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:27pm

    Very good art :D

    Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:26am

    Loved the art style. Very excellent.

    naufr4g0 says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:41am

    Awesome pixel-art. I love it! :)
    Really fun, too! :)

    Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:19am

    Great game, but very difficult! :)

    PeaCe says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:39am

    Nice Graphic a humorous! ;)

    rxi says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:35am

    Really nice visuals!

    Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

    It has a cat! 5 STARS GOTY

    Seriously, this is great. The first room had me in shambles, with the timing, the moonwalk, and the sudden death :D

    Amazing work!

    Almax27 says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:22pm

    Awesome game, loved the Zak McKrakken feels. Only thing that stood out for me was the font choice. It was cool graphic design studio, where the art was quirky pixelart. But that's just be being weird. :)

    \o/

    JHollands says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:45pm

    @Almax27: Totally agreed - terrible choice of typeface. It's something that I really wanted to pay attention to, but with the limited time just had to slap on there last minute.

    Brassawiking says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:39pm

    Awesome pixel art and animation! Impressive that you manage to make all that art within 48 hours.

    JHollands says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:09pm

    @Brassawiking: Thanks! Was doing the Jam though - 72 hours.

    Diogo Muller says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:54pm

    Very nice work! :) I really like this game's humor.

    blackotus says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:47pm

    The graphics and animations are great!

    I absolutely love the premise too! But I wish the game had a quick rset button, starting over and over again can get tiring.

    Nice job!

    Codexus says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:48pm

    Nice but I couldn't get passed the second screen and it takes too much time to retry. Good art though.

    JHollands says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:56am

    @blackotus & Codexus as mentioned, hit F3 to skip the first level.

    Linusson says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:27pm

    Really nice graphics. :) Unfortunately I didn't get very far so I didn't see much of it. But well done, especially the gfx. :)

    Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:48pm

    Wasn't sure where the baby went at the end but really enjoyed it. Looked great and always enjoy a Donnie Darko reference.

    Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:25am

    interesting game, I really like the pixel art style

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]