August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Please Hold

by NoahC_ - Jam Entry

This was a game designed by Noah Crispo and programmed by Isaac Balogh for Ludum Dare 27.

In this game you play as a telephone operator who must transfer and connect all incoming calls to your grid due to the suspicion there are state enemies within your boarders attempting to spread propaganda.

All controls are used via the mouse and in game instructions detail what the player should do.

We're aware of a few bugs, but real life got the better of us. We're going to continue to work on the title after LD27 has concluded.

Regardless, please enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1773Coolness20%

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:53am

Really nice idea. I was a bit confused with the gameplay, and maybe the tutorial could be a little more user friendly? Some pictures maybe? In any case, that was refreshing.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:47am

Interesting concept though I couldn't understand if the call line I put up is accepted or not.

dom2d says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Good job!

MidCry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:12pm

nice job

FunByJohn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:44am

Didnt really see too much of the theme, but it's an interesting concept!

whiteravens says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Hi Isaac, I have tried your game.

It's a great starting point and core concept for a prototype! :)

Zammy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Hey guys - we had exactly the same idea , but we dropped it in favor of the one we released! It's nice to see someone else thought about it too, and check his vision about it! :)

jwolf says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:41am

Interesting concept, and the graphics and audio are very well done. As you mentioned, it isn't complete, and feels like it needs more for the player to do. Keep at it, though!

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Fantastic idea. Cool to see how you try to integrate world building and narrative (a Lucas Pope fan here too). The core gameplay I found a bit fiddly, but with more work this can be killer.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]