August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Caves of Caladria

by Joxno - 48 Hour Compo Entry

** Help rescue the Elementals in the cave that have had their Unison Stone Corrupted, therefore causing them to behave hostile and Shift into other Elementals every 10 seconds.

** Procedurally Generated Map - Regenerates each time you reach a lower level of the Cave/Dungeon
** Wall-Jumping - Just jump while being close to a wall ;)
** Shoot your way through a pretty cave

** Controls are Arrow Keys - Movement, X to Use Item, Z to Jump, C to cycle the Items. **

This has been my first LD and also first game jam, and it was amaaaazingly fun!

I hope you all enjoy what I've come up with, Cheers!

** Side-Note, maaay include many bugs, only slept 4 hours.

*** Bug Fixes
** Fixed Text on Spirit & Shadow Crystals
** Fixed Spirits Counter when dying
** Fixed Items not getting random attributes
** Fixed Items not resetting on death
** Fixed Item not removed when quantity <= 0
--
** Fixed Movement again (Forgot to remove ALL controller code, woops)
--
** Fixed Player Dying but Game not restarting
** Fixed Controls (Easy to gametest with but horrible to play with) Switched to ArrowKeys,Z,X,C
** Fixed Spike Projectile (It'd instagib you)
** Removed Controller Code (Would override Keyboard if Controller was plugged in)
** Disabled /O2 Optimization - This seems to have fixed some game crashes

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#506Audio2.63
#641Graphics2.75
#848Mood2.33
#861Humor1.72
#971Innovation2.36
#972Fun2.37
#987Overall2.57
#1157Theme1.88

Comments

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Very cool game, i mean it! for your first LD competition this is very very good! But i think you should revisit the control configuration! Kudos for you!

Clavus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Game crashes the moment I try to execute LD7Engine.exe. Windows 7 x64.

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:16pm

The game crashes on my computer, windows7 x64

Loerden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Good :)
Just some errors like accidently quit the game when holding ESC to long in the first Dialog.
You should tell everyone that they must have Microsoft XNA Framework Redistributable 4.0 installed

Kwrky says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Can't move left/right, only jump. Am I being dumb and missing something? If so sorry =/

Rialgar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Either I'm doing it wrong or the character won't move, WASD changes the direction he is looking, but nothing else. Jumping works, firing down makes him fly up, but he does not walk.

DY says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Yup, control configuration is a problem. But not bad game ;)

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Interesting game! I would have liked to have seen a different control scheme. The thing that made that seemed to annoy me the most while playing as the screen not really following the character; it would often lag behind while falling down and sometimes take a while to "find" the character at the start. I really think that, especially for a game like this, a fixed view that strictly follows the character would be a better choice. That said, I am a huge fan of randomly generated games and I know how hard they can be to make work properly; so congrats on getting such a solid foundation for that done in such a short time span!

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Game crashes the moment I try to execute LD7Engine.exe. Windows 7 x64.
Tried compatibility modes and Admin, nuttin'.

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Hey, this was my first Ludum Dare and I made a (somewhat) randomly generated game too! You should check mine out and let me know what you think. I know first hand how hard making a randomly generated game can be, so congrats on taking that challenge on for your First Ludum Dare!

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:58pm

The controls feel weird, but I like your graphics. But how did you involve the 10 seconds theme?

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Good looking game, had a good player feedback to it...but... dem controls! I am no contortionist! Not sure what it had to do with the theme though ;P

Joxno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Rialgar, Kwrky: It may have been me accidentally leaving in the controller code which overrides the keyboard >.<

gikdew, Clavus: Hmm, odd, I run Win7 x64, I'll look into it and fix the bugs and upload a version later

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:02pm

The control is really interesting -- your weapon stays fixed until you change it. I really like the game camera. I had no issues starting it up.

Joxno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Alright, I made a few bug fixes which hopefully resolves most crashes and wonky stuff.

Taiters says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Game looks really cool! But I've not been able to play it. It loads fine, but I cannot move the character. I can shoot and jump fine, just not move. I'll try again in a while encase stuff needs sorted :)
(I'm on Windows 7 x64)

kayupla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:14pm

can't move ... sorry I couldn't try it

Senevri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:17pm

keyboard doesn't actually move the character - they just change the facing, it seems.

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:18pm

I cant play it :( The movement is broken

Joxno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Gah, sorry guys, forgot to remove all controller support!
Apparently running 'Release' mode in Visual Studio isn't the same as running from .exe, Should work now!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:00am

Your pixel art is gorgeous, awesome work for 48hours! Very highly rated. :)

BubbleTea says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:23am

if you hold down shoot the amount of bullets that are spawned is a bug i think

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:26am

BubbleTea: Haha, yeah, wow, I hadn't even noticed that one, I'll leave that one in as a 'feature'

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:16am

Sweet game. I love the endless dungeons. When you fall a long distance your camera loses the player.

Sushin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:29am

The camera made me sick...

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:17am

Compliments for procedural generation! I didn't even notice it was procedurally generated at first.
The autofire doesn't happen until a second or two after I hold the fire key.. This is unnecessary in my opinion. It's usually a good idea to allow the player to feel in control.
The art style is quite good. I think it could benefit from everything being in smaller scale(like 16X16 sprites) so that the screen could fit more of the world in. That way it will be easier to navigate the huge dungeon with less confusion.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:51pm

The fact that you cant see where your falling is very un-nerving. I liked it, also is there a way to put yourself out when you catch fire?

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:02pm

lordjosephdeburg: Cheers, kinda what I was going for with the camera to make people a bit more careful when going downwards, and yes, you have to get hit by a water elemental

GNecro1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:06pm

very good game :D

Optimus6128 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Nice!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Nice start, you've got a great solid engine here, you could turn this into something really neat if you wanted to :)

olafurw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:24am

Crashes.

Joxno says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:36am

olafurw: Hmm, straight off the bat or in-game?

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:47am

I experienced a crash only one time (windows7-64). Graphic style is really good and the game is quite fun. Controls are not so precise. Anway a good game. :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:36am

congratulations on your first game -- it was a little confusing controls but overall good job

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:41am

Game is crashing for me too... can't play

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:26am

Really liked the graphics. Big kudos for your first LD! Definitely keep working on it, you've got something good going.

Jeremias says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Some things I recommend for a post-compo version:
- bigger enemy graphics; sometimes it was hard to recognize them.
- the fire attack is very extreme, burning someone to death very fast.
- change the Z button as input, as other countries have other keyboard layouts

Congratulations for your first LD game!

Purplescape says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:28am

The procedural generation is cool, good job on that! It's fun to explore even if difficult to survive for long. It looks nice too.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:31pm

This is really cool and I like where you were going with this, but the camera made it very difficult to play since there was a long delay when falling long distances. The graphics and music are very nice.

T1 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Procedural maps, platformer mechanics, firing aim, enemies, inventory system, stuff falling from the ceilings.. the amount of content and detail is really impressive considering this was your first jam. :) You must be really good at managing time!)

The game has really nice atmosphere, somehow the music and the blueish colors are very relaxing. :)

It was fun to use the gun as a jetpack by holding down the fire key, though i don't think that was intended.

I couldn't figure out what the items do though, all it says is i'm feeling a strange sensation lol.

P.S. Help, the character is on fire, what do? :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]