August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tachyon Rupture

by Sascha - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Tachyon Experiment has ended in a catastrophe. The fabric of time ruptured, the universe will freeze in time within 10 seconds. Somewhat protected by a stasis field generator you set out to fix the rupture, and save the universe!


== Tachyon Rupture features: ==

A rogue-like, randomly generated gameplay.
Crude but lovingly crafted graphics.
No sound. (It's a temporal stasis! Why would there be sound?)



== Development notes: ==
The game was made using Flash Pro CS 5.5.
Graphics were made using PyxelEdit.

== Libraries used: ==
A small Keyboard-Control lib (Input.as) by Matthew Bush (sourceforge.net/projects/box2dflash/).
A seeded random-number generator (http://www.kirupa.com/forum/showthread.php?365564-AS3-Seeded-Pseudo-Random-Number-Generator).
The font used is Visitor (http://www.dafont.com/visitor.font)

== A final note ==
Unfortunately I will be traveling for 1 week just after the contest deadline. Unless I get the chance to get online during that time, I will only be available for answering feedback and playing and rating games after that time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#122Theme3.71
#274Innovation3.38
#626Graphics2.77
#680Mood2.57
#758Overall2.86
#820Fun2.61
#874Humor1.70
#960Audio1.32

Comments

Calahagus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:06am

I like the idea, but I can't get a key! (also the door mouseover says "Use key top open", I imagine you mean "use key to open") Or am I doing something wrong?

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36am

Solid little puzzler!

Sascha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:22am

@Calahagus The keys are randomly contained in the caches. The procedural generation should make sure that there's always a valid path through to the end, so there shouldn't be any missing keys. Oh and yeah, there's a typo in the tooltip. I have no way of fixing that till next week though :/

TobiasW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Whew - I won the game on my second attempt in the (nearly) last second of the universe!

The graphics are cool! The concept is interesting, but it seems to be a bit too dependant on luck - finding keys in the right moment. Otherwise it seemed to be wise to just ignore all chests and not waste valuable time. (What is gold used for?)

Congratulations on your first LD entry!

PS: Have a good trip!

Tifu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Nice use of theme, the level generation is a little imperfect (I won on a level with several locked doors that led absolutely nowhere), but good concept and execution.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Neat! Procedural level generation was probably overkill for this; you probably could have gotten away with just building out the level yourself. ;P

dagothig says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:38pm

This might be an issue with my laptop track pad, but the clicks were waaaay unresponsive whenever I would activate the time flow. Worked fine during stasis. This made the game pretty much unwinnable for me

Ailin says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Great concept. Sound would benefit to the game.

Sascha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:54pm

@dagothig I've experienced the same problem with the trackpad on a friend's laptop. It seemed to stem from the laptop being set up to ignore trackpad input while typing. Unfortunately with the game controls set up as they are, you'd have to disable this feature or use a mouse to play.

Diptoman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Great user of the theme! Yeah, trying to find the keys wasted a lot of precious seconds but still, the slowdowns were a nice (even though not equivalent)compensation. And god job with the level generator!

hardycore says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Good idea, would expand well.

Bug found: The controls didn't work after restarting.

KunoNoOni says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:10pm

I love the use of theme! Great job!

MuciojadPL says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Nice idea, it's a very solid game.

ShiverGaming says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:09pm

I have (several times) been trapped in the beginning section, a locked door blocking my path without any repositories that contain keys (opened them all).

Liked the game, though.

TobiasW says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Thanks for the comment on my game! And yeah, it's less about touching the light - more about NOT touching the darkness once your shield is gone. If the darkness has found a way to touch you, it doesn't matter how little it is, it'll flow inside you.

wally2069 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:44pm

The controls are rather awkward and kind of broke the flow for me

Sascha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:08pm

@DDRKirby yes, in hindsight that would have been better in every aspect. I spent I think 6 hours just on the proc gen code and ended up with something that still isn't very good or bug free. But at no point during programming could I bring myself to just throw the code away and design a fixed level :/

Sascha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:10pm

@wally2069 how exactly? Can you give any more details or hints on what bothered you?

alts says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:43am

To expand upon what wally said, I feel like the "space to pass time" is sort of unnecessary. Time is only allowed to flow in order to interact with things. I feel like it could have been streamlines by deducting only as much time as is necessary to complete an action. Perhaps you did want to explore the challenge of timing the space-click-space gesture, but I feel like it doesn't illuminate anything within the game.

Outside of that, really nice work. Far more puzzle game than roguelike. I don't think I'd ever seen "10% slower passage of time" as a bonus before.

dkilford says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Overall really good job. It took me a few attempts to understand how it works, but it's definitely a really use of the theme mixed with a roguelike formula. I think it would be really interesting to see what you can do to extend the theme given more time.

Sascha says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:56pm

@alts Yeah, it's a bit of both. The spacebar mechanic to let time flow is there to add the skill element of timing your moves to navigate the dungeon efficiently. However, what I had also planned was the addition of enemies that are able to home in on you and attack you when time flows, so that you'd have to lure them away from objects you wish to open with short flows of time. Unfortunately, I didn't have time for that, though.

KhaoTom says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Really like that time flow system.

manuq says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:20pm

I like the game mechanic. Using a trackpad feels very odd, so a mouse might be better.

anotheryeti says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:50pm

One of the better implementations of the "slowing down time" theme I've seen. Quick bug: after losing a level and it getting automatically restarted, I can't move without stepping time.

gravyhands says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:45am

Cool puzzler idea! Part reflex, part path choice, part not having keys, haha.
But really, I thought it was cool though.

radmars says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:42am

Cool idea! BTW I think the control issues people are having are due to the fact that the clicks don't register until mouse up. If it were on mouse down that would feel way better.

radmars says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:46am

Also, having space be a toggle instead of hold would fix the trackpad issue.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:05am

Nicely done ;). Gret work.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:33am

Really cool! The use of time for action is very interesting!
I kept running out of time after opening loads of boxes and traveling a few rooms. Then I realized I just need to get forward.
Great job!

Zap says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Neat idea and nice art style.
As others have said, the controls are a bit odd. Using the mouse made no sense to me as you can only interact with things the character is standing right next too - perhaps assigning this to a key could feel better.
I'm quite fond of the art style, and the concept is interesting idea and could be explored more.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 4:23pm

This is really nice. I didn't feel pressured too much by the time limit but was enough to make haste. The art really suits the style and front end/HUD fits in really well.

Very cool :D

- Zub

nicotr014 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Cool. I like the time-crunch style. Having to choose an option while depleting your time makes for some interesting choices

Tanser says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Nice game :)

GFM says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 11:42am

Nice take on the rogue-like genre. It was possible to look around and think about the next action (instead of using only what little info you know about your surroundings)!

The only problem I've found is within the stage generator. There was a locked door but, after breaking all the tachyions, no key was found.

Sep 14, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Damn that's hard! Really love the idea behind this, works really well and really puts the pressure on. Annoying when you can't find a key though!

jay griffin says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:04am

Really cool use of the theme, the whole stasis mechanic feels really fresh and works well to create tension while at the same time giving the player room to think tactically about their next move. Clever stuff! Looks great, controls take a little getting used to but don't take long to start making sense. This is a quality piece of work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]