August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Unexpected Security

by Spiderhund - Jam Entry

Our game is about a guy who decides to break into the biggest and most secure bank in the world. He is met with more security than he expected.

You'll have to find the money bag somewhere in the bank vault. Once you pick it up you have 10 seconds to bring it to the exit. You can pause the timer by dropping the money bag again.

The game runs in an "endless mode" where you get a new generated level everytime you beat or fail one.

There are a few things we had to scrap because of the time limit such as:
-More animations.
-Better A.I for the guards.
-More security systems.
-Sound.
-Music.


Thank you for playing our game!
Please remember to rate it and leave us some feedback :)

*NOTE*
For anyone who can't start the game make sure you've got this:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914
and this:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17851
installed to see if it resolves your issue :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#148Theme(Jam)3.42
#155Humor(Jam)2.94
#272Graphics(Jam)3.32
#349Fun(Jam)2.79
#366Innovation(Jam)2.78
#393Overall(Jam)2.89
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:55am

Cute game, nice artwork and graphics. Good job guys !

Sinuath says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:15am

Wouldn't run, 64 bit running Windows 7

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:20am

I liked the robber very much! I would like sound though, but it was fun =) keep up the good work!

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:25am

same as above.

bitserum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:09pm

I wish it was more rewarding after stealing all that money. Nice artwork! Good job.

MrRoboman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Nice work! Graphics were good. Loved the slinky Mr. Robber. Plan A, B, C... was a very nice touch! Would have loved some music and sfx of course :)

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Cute graphics. I think there are some collision problems with a few walls.
Good job.

Zerot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:17pm

If the game had music it would have been so much better. Also it would have been nice if there was an alarm and that the security guards would search more actively when the bag was picked up. The procedurally generated levels could also use some work. I had a few times where the bag was almost right in front of the entrance.

Other than that, it is a really nice simple game.

Jools64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Very neat game,
I really liked that you managed to implement randomly generated levels within the time limit. Unfortunately one of the levels generated was impossible but I played quite a few and it only happened once.

The graphics where nice, it was shame you didn't have time to add sound. I really liked your use of the theme though. Dropping and picking up the bag added a layer of strategy.

Great work!

dcolgan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Very clean graphics and good humor. You should keep polishing this game. Nicely done for a weekend!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:05am

Awesome idea, like the art and the 'plan' before to show the map.

Could use some more polish but a great game

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Nice presentation! Fun game, good idea and use of the theme. :)

hbocao says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Loved the art and humor of this entry. The idea is also interesting, too bad you didn't finished all of it :(

Katamori says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Not so good, especially for a Jam entry, but theme, humor and procedural maps save it.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Something tells me the robber didnt think this one through lol. Good game and fun concept.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]