August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Save The Children

by MrAwesomeHimself - 48 Hour Compo Entry

keep some orphan hungry children alive, perhaps at a refugee camp.

The aim is to remind people that in the world every 10 seconds, a child dies of poverty related causes.

Please consider donating to world food aid type charities, and modify political leanings towards political parties which favour higher international aid budgets.

Edit
Another Screenshot + source code link

Edited - finish bug - scores were potentially infinite.

Edit - scoring explanation
the scoring algorithm operates like this:
score = score+ numberOfChildrenAlive*numberOfChildrenAlive/10 rounded down every 10 seconds.


the amount of food grows every 10 seconds, but rate of growth decreases. a very unwell child has a risk of imminent death if fed a ration.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#252Mood3.17
#325Theme3.40
#492Innovation3.05
#789Graphics2.50
#937Overall2.64
#1181Fun1.63
#1528Coolness33%

Comments

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Are you kidding me? Im sorry but I didnt come to a game competition to feel sad. This is all over the media already I dont need a constant reminder that we live in an unfair world...

cafeine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:09pm

I like your entry, good graphics! IMHO it would have been interesting to have the food supply vary according to external causes (warfare, political instability, insufficient water supply, declining foreign aid), but it's difficult to model properly, especially when you have only 48 hours.

local minimum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Good serious entry and nice graphics!

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Sad. must admit it made me feel bad.
Other than that, you have built quite an atmosphere with so little elements.
Quite good for LD standards.

Delca says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Your take on the theme was rather far-fetched, but the game itself conveys its message with efficiency.
That being said, I could not figure how the score worked : I tried three or four totally different behaviour (like overfeeding one child, being as fair as I could, not giving anything, and even feeding the dead), and it seemed to have no influence at all.
At least, the graphics are disturbingly accurate. I wish I will not do any nightmares because of it this night.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:19pm

"been interesting to have the food supply vary according to external causes"

indeed, i'd thought of doing that but ran out of time.

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:21pm

this is so sad .... but u have a mood in your game and that is hard

immanuela says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Aww, this was so depressing.

But you have the right to make a game about anything you like, whether it's depressing or not! People make shooter games, families who have lost a member to gun violence complain. You cannot please everyone.

I like games like this. Could be a good puzzle game when you add other factors like cafeine said.

oajfh says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Definitely a tough 'game' to play...

koe415 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:11am

Well I've found the most depressing game I'll play today. I do like that the game manages to take a stance on a topic and stays true to a message. 'Good' art and interesting gameplay. Wish there was more to the gameplay than timing your food hand outs. Regardless, solid submission.

Valerien says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:26am

The use of the theme is very smart here, despite the limited realization.
I find strange the gameplay choice of having a very weak child die when he's being fed (and dies too if you don't feed him) though (and it is also possible to feed a dead child...).

Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:50pm

I already complained about dead kittens, and then, this... Sorry, won't play.

deathray says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:23am

You get high points for mood, but definitely low for humor. I like the art style, and the game was interesting, but a little hard to figure out. I didn't know whether i was doing well or not.

garygreen says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:26pm

I found it difficult to work out whether I was helping or not. However it was good to see someone trying to do something different in the competition, however (understandably) bleak it might have been.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]